We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ci Qi Kou (Porcelain Village)

Ci Qi Kou (Porcelain Village)
14 km W of Chongqing, Chongqing 400030, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 384 things to do in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Long way to go there (take taxi) and really not much to see. There are of cource nice old houses and small streets. Full of tourists everyway most of them from Asia. Anyway, it is good place for shopping and if you like to have a cup of tea during your shopping you will find many nice tea houses around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    238
    99
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Interesting, but somewhat dirty!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As the place is lined with many street food vendors, it could get quite dirty. Eat the food at your own risk! Interesting place with many historical buildings and souvenirs shops.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's China but still so different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The first 5 minutes after entering you still feel like WOW but after keeping on walking, the stalls are the same, the crowd gets thicker and you feel like you've seen it. We started by turning right at the T-crossing. That road led towards the river. We turned another left just before the road ended in the river and came to a more silent street. Walking along it until there were no more shops, we passed by supercosy cafes and bars and felt like we were walking some narrow streets in Paris. In the beginning of this street was a temple up a lot of stairs. The entrance fee was 5 yuen to the temple but we didnt go up. We then walked back towards the beginning and bought some souvenirs on the way including the Jianzi kick shuttlecock toy. Paid 10 yuen for 2. We walked towards the other direction and the road led up several stairs. There sat grannies selling lollipops on demand and a guy in a stall making artsy figures out of cotton candy. I think the name is a bit misleading. May it be an ancient town, the anciency has been hidden behind all the stalls and the only thing you feel is ancient, are some walls and roofs. It was well worth a visit though and even though we visitied in the middle of the week, mid day it was CROWDY. The taxi from our hotel Hilton Chongqing to the site, was a bit under 30 yuen and max. 30 min.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super cosy old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

this street gives you one of the first impressions that you have landed in China. Due to its rapid growth the country is quite westernised with its high rise buildings and amazing roads. The people dont speak english, but they try to help you as much as possible. Great food everywhere, I had the freshest made noodles in my whole life.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a great place for snacks and people watching. I could have spent all day here. Walk down to the riverbed to see the kids games and have a beer by the river.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ci Qi Kou (Porcelain Village) also viewed

Chongqing, Chongqing Region
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Ci Qi Kou (Porcelain Village)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ci Qi Kou (Porcelain Village), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.