We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chongqing Greenforest Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chongqing Greenforest Hostel to your Saves list
Chongqing Greenforest Hostel
4F Yuya Building, No.7 Zhongxing Road, Jiaochangkou, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 415 Chongqing B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Initially tricky to find (its opposite the metro exit, up the steep slope, then turn right and its at the end, past the restaurant), this hostel feels more off the beaten path then it really is.

Inside, its a decent hostel, usual facilities and nice clean rooms. Staff super friendly and helpful and very chilled atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

1) Not so good -
a) Although the hostel is directly opposite a metro station, pedestrian crossings are just for decoration so cross with the locals, keeping them between you and oncoming traffic.
b) The hostel is up several flights of stairs (although most guests will probably be half my age or less). Maybe there should be bang-bang boys on standby?
c) Coffee and cheesecake at the Traveller cafe is about the same price as at Starbucks - Say no more...
d) hot water was available most of the time - but not all
2) Oh so good -
a) The staff (who organised my 2-week holiday during my first evening)
b) Good location - opposite a metro stop, close to 18 ladders, close to the CBD...
c) The staff (who were so friendly and helpful)
d) Relaxed environment
e) The staff (who were polite and good to chat with)
f) Comfortable rooms
g) Did I mention the staff?...
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The location is convenient to walk around the city. Reception is good , they can speak English that
it's useful for me. I had only big problem because i booked triple room but they were misunderstand. It did not matter, there handled for me. The room was good but tiny. You can buy one day trip from there. Nice hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Inviting and a great place to meet people with whom you can enjoy a drink, a movie, a game of pool or a chat. The pastry case is chock full of the most wonderful things in the adjacent cafe, so stay a while and enjoy the sweet break from the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have been hostelling for more than two decades, and it is gems like the Greenforest which keep me coming back to hostels (although I find having my own room is sometimes preferable to the dorm experience). Yes, this hostel looks like nothing from the outside (it is in a fairly shabby looking residential tower) and yes, there are four flights of stairs to climb. Once inside, however, the place is a revelation - cool music on the stereo, an inviting communal space with warm polished wood and tiled floor. The staff is just fabulous, helpful, lovely to deal with and charming. There's a useful cafe (I never ate, but had a few coffees) and bar where the beer is actually chilled. I spent three evenings here, and there was nice relaxed vibe.

I took a double room, which was plainly furnished but had a small flatscreen TV, table and a hugely comfortable bed - it was so hard to get out to catch my train this morning.

There is one downside, and that is that the hostel faces a reasonably busy street - I shut the window and never had a problem, but if traffic noise is a concern, avoid the rooms at the front (#1 - 8). Across that road, by the way, there is a metro line and a shopping mall - behind that you have the whole Jiefangbei Pedestrian Street, if that's your bag.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 8. face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The overall experience was fine, BUT the wifi is Terrible - never worked very well. The shower put water all over the bathroom floor, the noise all night from outside was super loud and the road outside the hostel was very dangerous and busy without anywhere to cross. Also the cafe the which has an extensive menu was only serving 3 dishes out of the 60+ and there was no drier to use for the laundry.

Nice sized room and great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose this hostel as I had a very good experience in the greenforest hostel in Guilin. I was not disappointed. Great people, great place to be at! Also they offer some tours and the food you can get at this place is also awesome.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongqing Greenforest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongqing Greenforest Hostel

Address: 4F Yuya Building, No.7 Zhongxing Road, Jiaochangkou, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chongqing Greenforest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongqing Greenforest Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.