We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand tour of China (3rd Leg)...short stay in Hilton.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chongqing

Save Saved
You added Hilton Chongqing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Chongqing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.139 Zhongshan Third Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 1,770 hotels in Chongqing
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grand tour of China (3rd Leg)...short stay in Hilton.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed one night in Hilton, and it is really not long enough to evaluate. We were a family of six four adults and two children. We had spent some great times in Shanghi and on a Yangtse Cruise and then to Chongqing where we visited Dazu Stone Cave, amazing. Peoples Great Hall, impressive,Jiefangbei Walking Street,( expensive shops ,fantastic Ball Gowns, but cameras and electronic goods dearer than home). Our rooms were nice, but not as nice as our hotel in Shanghi and the same could be said for the breakfast. I think this is more of a business persons hotel, but to be fair we spent such little time in the hotel it is hard to judge. We ate "Chongqing Hot Pot" in a restaurant whos name I have forgotten!!! A tasteful experience not to be missed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I have passed on your comments regarding to the rooms and restaurant to the departments involved. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

JEAN-PHILIPPE JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    431
    98
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
30
32
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is not exactly right in the middle of downtown but its location is very convenient to many populate sites. Make a left out of the hotel, it is 3 minutes walking distance away from subway line 1 & 3. Then you can easily get to almost everywhere.

It is also just 10 minutes walking to airport shuttle final designation. Airport shuttle costs 15 yuan while subway line 3 to airport cost only 6 yuan. However, subway stops at 10 PM. Shuttle accommodates the last flight no matter how late.

This Hilton has top facilities, as good as any other good Hilton. We liked almost everything. But its breakfast is its weakness. We went there for breakfast at 9 AM. Many tables by window are empty but piled with dirty plates and glasses. Looked messy and not available to new guests. Also its cooks disappeared from Chinese food section. A waiter was so nice and he ended up preparing food for us. Cook was nowhere to be found.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to have nice veiw of downdown and skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Chongqing!

I noticed we have not entirely met your expectations, in particular with the breakfast service. I sincerely apologize and will personally talk to related department and have them focusing on the service standards improvement in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Chongqing. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Chongqing and remain your hospitality choice in Chongqing.

Kind Regards

JEAN-PHILIPPE JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

A very good experience overall! Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Good breakfast buffet in Cafe Two. Friendly staff with good english skills.

Location is maybe the only small problem. Short walk from the metro (exit number 1), but to get to the center of the town you need to take metro line number 1 for maybe 5 minutes. There is also a direct metro line number 3 to the airport but it's very slow and stops every two minutes. And it can get very crowded on peak times. But that is not something to blame the hotel for :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Chongqing!
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Chongqing.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Chongqing and remain your hospitality choice in Chongqing.

Kind Regards

JEAN-PHILIPPE JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is a clean hotel with helpful front desk and quick check-in. Still, the personnel's English in not enough - I had issued with internet and finding a certain store nearby, so they need to time to understand what you say first. The room is not the most spacious but a nice one, with a big window and overall very clean. The hotel location is an issue - it is not very far from center, but it has only one small shop nearby to buy water or else. Other shops in proximity are all sports' goods shops. Facilities - I didn't try their breakfast, but the lobby and restaurants stay visually empty almost all of the time, the Long Bar was closed off during all of my stay; the so-called shopping arcade is not worth going to. Funnies - 1) later in the evenings you sometimes come across chinese "nieces" leaving someone's rooms and looking for more business; 2) There is a huge construction site right near the hotel, I could hear it all the time with closed windows at a higher floor. Overall, I think that management has to do something - the hotel didn't seem very much alive compared to other local great hotel names. It is very good for a business stay, though, but I wouldn't come with a family for a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very helpful front desk with quick check in and check out. Quiet, clean, well appointed room but not as spacious as other similar hotels I have stayed at in China. Executive lounge breakfast was a cut above and the Cafe@2 restaurant had a very large buffet selection for lunch with good food & service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you have a positive visit to this hotel and found the service, rooms, food, facilities 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. Regarding to your breakfast experience, i already passed this comments to related department for their attention and action.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards

JEAN-PHILIPPE JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel on our way from Shangri-La back to Europe. The reception hall is very big and check-in was quick and speedy. Our room on the 15th floor was very clean and comfortable. We were able to have a swim before going to bed. The pool is not huge but the size is decent if there aren't too many swimmers using it. Breakfast was very good. There was a very large choice of food to suit people of various nationalities (although the clientele is mainly Chinese speaking). The hotel is more than 10 years old and there are more luxurious establishments in Chongqing. The hotel lacks a bit of character but otherwise we had nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, it is best to ask for a non-smoking to avoid any surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Chongqing.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location, near the subway station with line 1 and monorail line 3 (direct to the airport and Chongqing railway station).

Friendly staff at check-in. Rooms at the higher levels do not suffer from street noice and give a magnificent view of the city, especially by night.

The breakfast at the executive lounge was complete, with pancakes, eggs, cheese, variety of bread, and good coffee !

A large assortment of snacks and drinks (self-service) at the executive lounge at evening, and friendly staff.

Not the newest rooms, but well maintained, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Proposed reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the staff and our facilities make the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Chongqing very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe JACOPIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chongqing

Address: No.139 Zhongshan Third Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#9 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#38 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Chongqing 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chongqing Hotel Chongqing
Hilton International Chongqing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chongqing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.