We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff, large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 1,769 hotels in Chongqing
Beijing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff, large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks while on a business trip in Chongqing. My husband and 2-year old son joined me for part of my stay. It's not really a 5-star hotel (as advertised) and it misses some details, but it makes up for this with large rooms, helpful staff and a great location.

Pros:
- I stayed on the 11th floor in a one bedroom suite. Although my room was slightly outdated, it was very large and quite comfortable. I really liked the kitchenette and large walk in closet.
- When I first arrived there were free chocolates and fruit in my room. Additional fruit was added during my second week.
- I had free Internet in my room. It was a bit slow, but more than passable for China (I was able to Skype etc.)
- I found the staff very nice and helpful.
- The location is great, right near Jiefangbei, a short walk to the subway, an Ole grocery store and a lot of restaurants.
- My room was on an inner courtyard and generally pretty quiet.
- There's a reasonable swimming pool and gym.
- The buffet breakfast had a good selection (Western and Chinese options) and the food was generally good (but not great). They have high chairs available.

Cons:
- The bed was a bit hard.
- The swimming pool is a strange shape and it is difficult to swim laps if there is more than one person in the pool. The hot tub in the changing room was generally not hot.
- One weekend afternoon there was a wedding in the courtyard on the 10th floor. It was extremely loud. This was annoying but not a huge problem for me, as it was in the afternoon.
- The dishes in the kitchenette while plentiful, were slightly dirty and a little disorganized and hard to access (all piled into one cupboard). Also no dish soap or dish cloth was available in the room.
- No cribs are available that are appropriate for 2-year old children (I believe they have cribs available for smaller children.)
- No conditioner was available in the shower.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, particularly if you can get a good rate. The one bedroom suites are pretty large and comfortable and the kitchenette makes them convenient for a longer stay or with a family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    166
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
14
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I founfd the hotel most disappointing on all deparments.
The reception staff were poorly trained and appeared uninterested.
The Restaurants were very poor and none to clean!!
The toilet next to the restaurant was very dirty, smelled terrible and was unusable!!!
I had to use the toilet in my suite!!!

The hotel tried to make me pay for the Internet, although this was advertised as being included in the tarrif.
Thje whole complex is very dated and needs a massive renovation to bring it up to the 5 star level it advertises.
Never again.
George Grace.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. try the Hilton hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For a five star hotel this has alot lacking. Service was just OK although I must mention Freda in the business centre who helped me a great deal. Mind you I was paying 30 yuan for half hour access to internet, which I had been offered free in other hotels. Also had to pay for a local call when using my Charge back card another thing I have been given free in other 5 star hotels. This place was chosen because we were going on a Yangste cruise and was only an overnighter but I think with hindsight we could have found better value somewhere else, as apart from the lobby the place is looking a little tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went on a family trip, on our way back from Yangtze cruise, stopped over at Chongqing for an overnight stay. I booked this hotel, as this was location almost at the center of the city, with walkable distance to all malls - closest to the pedestrian street. Not so expensive rooms but the rooms are quite big than I thought. I booked a standard twin-bed room - both the beds comfortably can accommodate two kids or an adult and a kid.. rooms come with good internet connectivity with other default standard facilities like TV, coffee machine, fridge and others.. Found out a unique policy they had.. we found the A/C wasn't working.. only fan-like air was coming out of the vent.. we called up the room service and was politely told that the local government prohibits use of A/C if the outside temperature is less than 25'c. Great concept.. we slept that night having the windows open.
Great service and the lobby was quite big and very good looking. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Generally the hotel was fine. The room 2912 was a bit aged. The carpet has stains and the furniture was alos not the best one anymore. Only 2 English movie channels. No wifi internet available which is a deficit for business travellers but fine for a one-night-stay of leisure travellers. The big disappointment was the pool and spa area. The staff was unmotivated and not good in English. The cleanliness of the steam sauna and hot plunge pool was - to be honest - critical! This outlet seemed not to be used too much so this is taken a bit on the light shoulder. The rest was fine.

Room Tip: Take a room on the highr floors. It is more quiet. Maybe upgrade to Executive Floor for additional b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The lobby is the best feature of this hotel. The rooms are old style and in desperate need of a total refurbishment. The bathroom is also old style with the shower over the bath. The air conditioning didn't work. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel is situated in the central business and shopping district which is at least something good about the hotel. There must be better hotels than this one in Chongqing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Jiefangbei pedestrian shopping area, in the center of Chongqing. Many shopping malls and a food street are just outside the door. The hotel is also directly connected to Metropolitan Plaza shopping mall, with direct access from the lobby. Unfortunately, the location is the best part of the hotel.
The hotel is desperately in need of a renovation. The lobby (though large and grand) looks a bit dated. The hallways and guest rooms are even worse. The staff were very friendly and there were many nice touches (iron and ironing board in the rooms, welcome drink given at the front desk, refreshing/cooling plum drink left in the room each day, very nice cushy slippers), these things didn’t make up for the dated décor and furnishings. Also, the air-conditioning did not work well at all, throughout the stay. The room never felt cool enough, even at the coldest setting. Chongqing is notoriously hot and humid and poor air-conditioning is really unacceptable.
There was also promlems with the internet in the room (not free), which was painfully slow for the entire stay.
The hotel was also not a very good value and I felt that I was really paying the high price, for location alone. There are several other hotels in the area that offer a much better value.
I would love to try this hotel again, when and if they undergo a renovation and provide more modern rooms and amenities.
I would only recommend the hotel if location, location, location is your only concern.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Address: Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#63 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Haiyi Chongqing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.