We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and large room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China   |  
Ranked #21 of 1,798 Hotels in Chongqing
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice location and large room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went on a family trip, on our way back from Yangtze cruise, stopped over at Chongqing for an overnight stay. I booked this hotel, as this was location almost at the center of the city, with walkable distance to all malls - closest to the pedestrian street. Not so expensive rooms but the rooms are quite big than I thought. I booked a standard twin-bed room - both the beds comfortably can accommodate two kids or an adult and a kid.. rooms come with good internet connectivity with other default standard facilities like TV, coffee machine, fridge and others.. Found out a unique policy they had.. we found the A/C wasn't working.. only fan-like air was coming out of the vent.. we called up the room service and was politely told that the local government prohibits use of A/C if the outside temperature is less than 25'c. Great concept.. we slept that night having the windows open.
Great service and the lobby was quite big and very good looking. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    167
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
14
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Generally the hotel was fine. The room 2912 was a bit aged. The carpet has stains and the furniture was alos not the best one anymore. Only 2 English movie channels. No wifi internet available which is a deficit for business travellers but fine for a one-night-stay of leisure travellers. The big disappointment was the pool and spa area. The staff was unmotivated and not good in English. The cleanliness of the steam sauna and hot plunge pool was - to be honest - critical! This outlet seemed not to be used too much so this is taken a bit on the light shoulder. The rest was fine.

Room Tip: Take a room on the highr floors. It is more quiet. Maybe upgrade to Executive Floor for additional b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The lobby is the best feature of this hotel. The rooms are old style and in desperate need of a total refurbishment. The bathroom is also old style with the shower over the bath. The air conditioning didn't work. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel is situated in the central business and shopping district which is at least something good about the hotel. There must be better hotels than this one in Chongqing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Jiefangbei pedestrian shopping area, in the center of Chongqing. Many shopping malls and a food street are just outside the door. The hotel is also directly connected to Metropolitan Plaza shopping mall, with direct access from the lobby. Unfortunately, the location is the best part of the hotel.
The hotel is desperately in need of a renovation. The lobby (though large and grand) looks a bit dated. The hallways and guest rooms are even worse. The staff were very friendly and there were many nice touches (iron and ironing board in the rooms, welcome drink given at the front desk, refreshing/cooling plum drink left in the room each day, very nice cushy slippers), these things didn’t make up for the dated décor and furnishings. Also, the air-conditioning did not work well at all, throughout the stay. The room never felt cool enough, even at the coldest setting. Chongqing is notoriously hot and humid and poor air-conditioning is really unacceptable.
There was also promlems with the internet in the room (not free), which was painfully slow for the entire stay.
The hotel was also not a very good value and I felt that I was really paying the high price, for location alone. There are several other hotels in the area that offer a much better value.
I would love to try this hotel again, when and if they undergo a renovation and provide more modern rooms and amenities.
I would only recommend the hotel if location, location, location is your only concern.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The room is clean, fairly large, the bed is big and comfortable, the breakfast buffet has both local and international choice, and my stay there was alright.

But this is no way a five star hotel. First of all, this hotel is quite old. The room design and layout and furniture and facilities inside the room is only up to the standard of a three star hotel. Secondly, the Internet connection is very slow. And on top of that, I could not access to pages with server located outside of China, which is crazy, and extremely inconvenient. Imagine on a business trip you cannot check your mailbox, search on google, or even log on Skype! Absolutely absurd.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The first thing that struck me about Harbour Plaza Hotel was its great location in the central business district of Jiefangbei of ChongQing.Just a stone's throw away was a foodstreet that had all the local delicacies of the region with hawkers selling their wares right into the night.On the left of the hotel were streets of shops that apparently catered more for the local Chinese market ( looking at the prices quoted for goods)and if one wanted something more upmarket, one would turn to the right of the hotel and one would find a large crowded pedestrian mall filled with branded designer goods and mid-market goods.The hotel itself was also connected to an upmarket shopping mall so it would have been easy to just pop in next door for a meal or to window shop or ice -skate( yes, there's a decent sized ice-skating rink in the mall).( I personally wouldn't shop here as prices were quite exorbitant)

The facade and the reception lobby of the hotel met my expectation of a 5 star hotel.The rooms were also clean and the staff were always polite and helpful. There were a few nice touches which struck me and which were not typically found in other similarly accredited hotels: -
(1) In the evening, housekeeping would drop by a canister of a local herbal tea brew in the room, with a card explaining the healthy benefits of the drink- I was grateful as I was experiencing a rather bad cough and the drink did help to soothe my sore throat.

(2) A card on the pillow gave a summary of the different types of pillows available for selection to get a better night's sleep eg for those with muscles aches and to ease tension, they recommended a natural buckwheat pillow and for those who needed to relax and desire a calming effect, the chrysanthemum pillow was recommended.

Breakfast was a buffet affair,with a selection of Chinese, Western and even Japanese cuisine and which was more than sufficient for a hearty breakfast or brunch(if one preferred as the restaurant only closed for breakfast at 10.30am).However, i was quite dismayed to find that the ceiling of the restaurant was quite shabby with wiring and pipes all being exposed above us. That sort-of marred my impression of the hotel.I had a legitimate expectation that a 5 star hotel would take pride in its appearances whether it is on the facade and exterior of the building or within the confines of its walls.

In the evening, I took some time to visit the indoor pool on the 6th floor and found it a very pleasant 26 degrees celsius. There is also a roof garden on the 10th floor where you could have a good view of the pretty city night lights around the vicinity of the hotel.

The room , although clean , was rather standard for a 5 star hotel- beds were comfortable; decor nothing exceptional; TV channels were plentiful with satellite and local channels; bathroom amenities were sufficient and pretty standard.One thing bothered me was that the airconditioner did not seem to work and even though I was there in September, the weather was still rather warm so I would have liked to be able to retire into a cool room after a day's walk outside. Alas , it was not to be. When I dialed housekeeping to inform them that I thought the air-conditioner had broken down, they politely told me that there was nothing wrong with the airconditioner and that the hotel had switched their main unit to fan mode; there would be no cool airconditioning during this season ie autumn.I then asked if I could open the windows to allow fresh air and some breeze in as they were locked with screws and they sent a maintenance personnel promptly to see to it done.

I would have liked that the hotel would have given the choice to the guest to either use the airconditioner or switch the unit to fan mode and I would have expected that from a 5 star hotel.

The room here was booked via an agent and i was told that a night here inclusive of breakfast was RMB500 which I felt was quite reasonable for a 5 star hotel.

Generally, I would recommend this hotel to others mainly because of its great location and the few simple gestures of the tea and the pillows which one does not normally find even in other 5 star establishments. But I guess, I would probably like to stay only if the weather is cool or if they do allow one to have some sort of airconditioning in the room.

Room Tip: Try to choose a corner room where it is more spacious. I was at room 1919 whereas a friend was at 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family of five stayed here in adjoining rooms in early August 2011. We found the hotel staff helpful both on arrival and during our stay. The location of the hotel, in a pedestrian shopping area and connected to an upscale mall is fantastic. Being so close to shopping is wonderful when one has a few minutes and a few kuai to spare.
Two things were not so great: the morning buffet was sort or standard buffet stuff - okay, but not great by any stretch of the imagination. We all hoped to use the spa for massage services, but tried unsuccessfully several times. The spa staff didn't speak English and it seemed like one had to book well in advance for services, something we're not used to when we visit China where great massage and spa can be found easily in big cities.
A lovely touch is the teabottle of herbal infusion that arrives each night in the room with a little card explaining how it helps. Charming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Address: Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#55 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Haiyi Chongqing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.