We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in Chongqing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.587 Nanping East Road, Nan'an District, Chongqing 400066, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 1,798 Hotels in Chongqing
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in Chongqing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent the last night of our trip in Sichuan at the Crowne Plaza Riverside hotel in Chongqing, which is not located right in the city center but near the South bank of the Yangtzi River. This is -- quite exceptionally for this part of China -- a low rise construction (only 8 floors) in a relatively quiet area. There are a few downsides: the image on the website is rather misleading, because it suggests that the hotel is surrounded by pools and rolling green hills, while actually the pools are not part of the hotel and the green hills are further away; and, contrary to the Sheraton, it has no real riverside location. But our room at one of the Executive floors was brilliant, with all usual amenities and much more -- even gas masks for two (maybe useful in this Chinese Smog City?)
There are far more spectacular hotel lobbies to be found elsewhere, but we liked the atrium with freely flying birds. There are more elaborate buffet breakfasts and dinners to be had elsewhere, but overall we couldn't fault theirs. And what puts this place really apart is the warm sense of hospitality which we enjoyed throughout: almost everybody speaks reasonably good English and seems always ready and available to help you -- especially Lee Li at the reception desk. An easy stroll down to the riverside reveals nice panoramic views; and a short ride by bus or taxi brings you to the city center, first through a lively commercial area;h and then crossing the Yangtzi River over one of the many bridges, which offer lovely sights especially after sunset.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This property is brand new, and the location is one that I really enjoy. It's located south of the main city centre, and is really close to Nanbin Road, where all the best Sichuan restaurants in China are. This location also allows for some spectacular views from the riverfront, although you can see nothing from the hotel itself. It's built into the hillside, so most of the views are poor.

The rooms itself are a bit on the small side, but are nice and new. The bathrooms are similarly appointed, and feature a Japanese-style toilet! My only complaint here is that they are using the AWFUL Holiday Inn amenities instead of the much better Crowne Plaza ones. I hope that they can eventually get those stocked in the bathrooms because the HI products are really cheap and ruin your hair. The rooms are styled in a semi-oriental style, with a lot of wood everywhere, including the floors. I like this, because the carpets are always dirty in China.

The facilities in the hotel are a bit on the weaker side, with no pool and a tiny gym. The hotspring is nice, but be careful. My wife and her mother got some kind of bacterial infection in a certain feminine area from the spring. I didn't have any problems though.

I definitely like this location, and it's easy to get to the centre if you need to. Make sure to have the hotel call a taxi because it's tough to get them in CQ.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great room, good service, warm spring in the back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Hotel is advertized as 5-star. In many respects, it is. But I would only rate it 4 1/3 stars or so. In all promotions, the hotel is shown with a pool. It turns out that the pool is part of a spa and hot springs that does not belong to the hotel, and you cannot swim there as a hotel guest. Chongqing (with Wuhan and Nanjing) is one of the "three furnaces of China" so I was really looking forward to relaxing in the pool after a hot day of work. No such luck! Also, the breakfast was more 4-star than 5-star. The food selection was pretty limited, and service was terrible. I had to chase down a waiter to order coffee with breakfast, and another one down to get a refill. This was my 13th trip to China, and I've stayed at some incredible 5-star hotels. This wasn't one. Finally, before you book this hotel, make sure what part of Chongqing you want to be in. This hotel is across the river from the main downtown part of Chongqing. It was where I wanted to be, but it may not be where you want to be.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The city itself is not worth visiting: large, dusty, dirty, but the stay at that hotel gives you positive emotions. Polite and helpful staff, able to speak English, spacious rooms. I do recommend to try thei spa centre located on the 1 floor. In a walking distance there is a lot of other splendid hotels, and embankment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Very good interior design. The room was spacious. The room had
everything what we needed. Room cleaning was two times a day. View
from the window was on the golden towers of the Sheraton hotel and hot
springs. Staff very polite and helpful. I recommend to visit the hot
springs (spa!), which are located in the same building as the hotel. We
received lots of positive emotions from this hotel. With pleasure will
stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
714 reviews 714 reviews
234 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I wonder why this hotel is so lowly ranked. It's a 5 star international chain with overall decent service. Check in was alright, and the club floor room was rather large. Just some percularities - the tap water smells and tastes like industrial glue for the 1st 5 seconds. let the water run for a while first before you brush. The shower pressure is less than ideal. And housekeeping took my shirt without me filling in the laundry form.

The more positive aspects were that they managed to return my shirt after I called, and the fruit platter was a nice touch.

The room service breakfast and lunch buffet were slightly above average. It certainly beats most of the local china hotels, but may pale to the truly 5 stars of the world

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside

Address: No.587 Nanping East Road, Nan'an District, Chongqing 400066, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,798 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.