We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to hang around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tree

The Tree
43 Sanlitun Beijie (100m west of Sanlitun North Bar street, behind Poachers Inn), Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-64151954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 8,806 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Description: Over 40 Belgian Beers, inc De Koninck, Leffe on draught as well as mixers and top shelf Whisky. Famous for the open plan wood fired Pizza oven. This is actually the second incarnation of The Tree, the original Hidden Tree was established in 1996, before being levelled with Beijing's redevelopment.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good selection of Belgium beers and good pizza. A cozy place to spend a weekday evening. One of my favorite bar in Beijing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    57
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good pizza! Excellent selection of beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place is quite difficult to find, as it's in a rather shabby back alley to the west of Sanlitun Street.
They've got about 10 outside tables and plenty of space inside. The interior needs a bit of refurbishing, I think, as it appeared worn and dirty.
They served excellent pizza and had a great selection of beers available.
The service was lightning fast

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally, real pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

after traveling for so long, I needed to get some pizza. I went with a bunch of other travelers in the hostel I stay at and they suggested this pizza house, it's packed of westerners in the middle of Beijing (you don't see any Chinese!) and the pizza do remind me of home. great place, will go back again next time I visit Beijing

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wide choice of belgian beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The selection of belgian beers is quite impressive, altough only a few are offered on tap.

Had a pizza, it was good but nothing special.

Nice atmosphere inside the bar, although smoking indoors is a bit annoying not being used to it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, super chill place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Difficult to find but this only added to how cool this place was. Pass the police station, the 3 cats in the dimly lit alley and there it is. Walk up the stairs and arrive at this large clean awesome place. I'm from New York and I enjoyed this pizza. I had to ask the waitress the name of the song that was playing because it was so cool. Would definitely come back as it was one of the many highlights of my trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tree also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to The Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.