We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and decent Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirch Masala Indian Cuisine

Mirch Masala Indian Cuisine
6th Floor, Silk Market, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-85636304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,321 of 9,466 Restaurants in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 30 Reviews
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Description: Mirch Masala is The only indian restaurants in beijing with flavours of every corner of India.It is a stylish restaurant located on Ritan Highlife,North Gate of Ritan Park ,Chaoyang District. The Indian dishes are made using free-range Halal meat .It provides some of the finest cuisine from this region in Beijing.Mirch Masala bears the name of most basic ingredient of subcontinent cuisine. Most cuisine can not do without subtle flavoring of these highly charging spicesMirch Masala is now one of the selective favorites of Tandoori and Curry lovers.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and decent Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

As someone who suffers from a number of food intolerances, it was a relief to find a restaurant where English is spoken perfectly and the menu is very flexible. I had the palak paneer and enjoyed the Indian food as something a bit different from all the other food in China. For dessert, the kaser kulfi is a great choice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chinese'd Indian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Honestly, I'm used to curries in the UK and elsewhere in Europe. We selected this restaurant due to the 8 reviews on file. It's a mega pain to find down, though you do walk through nice old side streets, the "real"Beijing. Use the GPS on your phone if you can.

We had :-
Onion Bhaji - mediocre, tasteless
Samosa's - OK, poor pastry
Mint sauce - where's the mint ?
Poppadoms - roasted, horrid, ask for fried
Nan - plain and buttered OK.
Vegetable curry - cheese in it, tastes sweet, super yuk though Chinese friends liked it.
Chicken Tikka Masala - OK, just
Rojan Josh - sorry, but this is supposed to be reddish in color, ours was sick yellow and tasted not that good
Chicken Tandooori - the best dish.

Overall, not worth the hassle of getting there. We noticed another curry house on the way there, can't recall the name, but on the main road away from town.

Sorry to be critical, but not that great. Also freezing cold.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We went here on holiday's based on a localchinese friends recommendation. The indian staff were very friendly on arrival and seeemed genuinely interested in our day and entered into comfortable and natural small talk with us.

We did not book in advance, however were lucky to be seated in their garden on a table overlooking the Beijing courtyard. The staff were attentive and friendly during the experience.Starters and curries were ordered that met the expectations based on the recommendations.
This place is cheap as a "Indian Fast food",but the standard is much higher and it still represents great value for money. Our bill came to approximitely 235 yuan for 3 adults to have a starter, main and drink. It is tasty and represents great value for money.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“JUST THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We visited this last night for the first time. The Indian guy on the phone was very helpful in guiding us to it. When we arrived there was about 15 other Indians in there eating. Impressive for any night, never mind a Wednesday. Decided to get some specials,which I was missing in china trip(like chicken curry with bone) and it was served quickly, on a huge (colourful) plate. It was very fresh taste as home. Service was excellent, with staff managing to check on us regularly and top up our water before it went down. We were using a chinese website discount voucher that my chinese friend booked from and got special 10% discount. Dinner for six, wine for one and a side portion between us cost 310 yuan. Great value!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Who knew India was so close?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Came here with colleagues, after a friend's recommendation. The staff are lovely, very attentive and all truly indian. The restaurant courtyard gives it a very personal feel. Atmosphere is relaxed, food is 100% authentic. Their menu is pretty inclusive of everyone's liking, and the staff go out of their way to make sure that there's enough spice for those who like it hot, zero spice for the curry amateurs and no milk products for the lactose intolerant. They also serve an indian beer which is pretty good. I recommend the chicken in mango curry and the lamb in spinach. The side dishes were also finger-licking good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirch Masala Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Mirch Masala Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirch Masala Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.