We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not perfect western-style hotel in Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1A Datun Road, Bei Shatan, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Olympic Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #623 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Pearland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice, but not perfect western-style hotel in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was in this hotel for over a week as my lodging for a scientific meeting. It is in close proximity to all of the olympic tourist sites, and is very convenient for most of the prime academic institutions in Beijing. It is not central which may be a disadvantage going to the Forbidden City, but if you are going anywhere outside downtown, the peripheral location makes travel much easier. Nearest subway is a 15 minute walk, but they are in the middle of building a new line which will be almost outside the hotel (someday). Overall my stay was pleasant, and my complaints fairly minor.

Pros:
* The largest bed I have EVER seen (and pretty comfortable). Much like two queen sized pushed side to side. * Decent if inconsistent free wired internet.
* Clean, and very nice western-style bathroom, with excellent shower
* Breakfast buffet was massive, could have doubled as a lunch buffet. Food was quite varied and reasonable.
* note: if you didn't bring and need an umbrella, you can get a very nice loaner for a 100Y refundable deposit.

Cons:
* Carpet in the room looked like it had never ever been cleaned (everything else was very clean)
* Room safe, but not bolted down.
* Beijing, tap water not safe (even says so in the hotel book). They give you two tiny little bottles of free drinking water. You can call for more, but a pain, as you will definitely need it.
* TV (if you like to watch chinese tv) was a 25" tube TV that had seen better days.

Room Tip: You will probably get a smoking room unless you explicitly demand a non-smoking one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    66
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
6
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a conducted tour of Beijing, so we had no choice. Looking at the reviews we were apprehensive but overall it was a good experience.
The hotel is near the Olympic Park, therefore the location may not suit many as it is far from the CBD. The hotel is 4*s officially but I would say 3.5*s. Staff are very friendly and would like to help but speak very little English which is a major drawback.
Rooms. Our room was facing inwards i.e facing the wall of another room, so there was no view, but the advantage was that there was no street noise. Room was clean except for the very dirty carpeted floor (do they vaccuum it at all?). Thankfully, bedroom slippers are provided. Otherwise, the rooms are cleaned very well daily. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Exactly two sachets of coffee, 2 sachets each of of black and green tea bags and two sachets of creamer (and a few sachets of sugar) provided daily. One has to therefore choose how to use the creamer. I tried ringing housekeeping to ask for more creamer and couldnot make them understand what I wanted. They put me through to Reception; same problem. However, I was succesful once but the next time I was told they had no more creamer, so I gave up after that. We had asked for a non-smoking room but the smell of smoke was always present, although not overpowering. Two (small) bottles of water (250mls each?) were provided daily. Airconditioning was fine (We stayed in July)
Breakfast was ok and plentiful but mainly chinese fare. Restaurant was crowded but we always found a table and enough food.
I used the gym once; it is adequate.
There is a small supermarket (Wu) about 200meters to the right which is very useful though labelling is mainly if not entirely in Chinese. I bought what I thought was a carton of milk which turned out to be yoghurt. I am told UHT milk is found on the shelves.
Free internet connection availablein the room and Wi Fi in the lobby; much appreciated

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

For a professional reason I resided in this hotel for a week.
The reception is nice and the room is very clean (except some old marks), quiet and spacious.
The breakfast is very good.
If you have to stay around the Olympic area, this is the right place to go. If it's for visiting Bejing, maybe this place is to fare from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are very nice, the restaurants quite good,, and the whole property is immaculate. But the level of service is not nearly what one would expect from a western hotel, which this purports to be. Most of the staff I encountered spoke little to no English, and most were unable or unwilling to take the initiative to provide good customer service. Case in point: I had to change rooms because I needed to move from the room I had reserved before the convention to one in the group reserved by the convention. I offered to pay the difference in cost to stay in the same room. No. Not allowed. I had to check out at noon, leave my things with the bell desk, and check back in at 2. Only after much intervention by a Mandarin speaker did they let me change rooms at 11 AM. Still a big inconvenience. Second point: air conditioning shuts off at 9 or 10 at night and your 12th floor room in the Beijing summer becomes a sauna. Third point: website says rooms will have microwaves. Hotel forbids them. You try to explain this to a person who does not speak English and thinks you're asking for a kitchen oven in the room. Fourth point: international calls cannot be made from the room without the front desk notifying "housekeeping." Of course it takes 3 different people from the front desk before you find someone who knows enough English to understand the request.

On the plus side, the rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable. The restaurants are quite good and the prices reasonable. The place is extremely clean and on a street full of restaurants, with a big supermarket less than 500m away. While it is far from both the airport and the city centre, there is a bus stop just 2 minutes from the front door, and taxis everywhere. A large bank sits opposite the hotel.

If you walk, leave the hotel and go to the right. To the left are some shady areas it's best to avoid at night.

I rated the pool and spa as poor simply because there are none.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice but be ready for hot nights with no air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A good clean hotel at a good location (close to the Olympic district of Beijing).
Pro's:
Neat rooms,
Good bathroom (i had one with shower only, but of good quality)
Good cleaning,
Kind people,
Payable prices.
Big choices at breakfast (although very few continental staff).

Con's:
A number of rooms are noisy due to the big crossing where the hotel is built
There are rooms where the window opens to another wall only 1.5 m far...
No English speaker at the business centre (but the assistant manager of the hotel immediately helped)
A bit messy services (my laundry was not taken from the room)
Do not count on any food if you miss the breakfast (but the assistant manager brought some bread from the kitchen).

Room Tip: The higher you are the less noise reaches you. Ask for room which faces to the East (maybe the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had booked a room without windows including breakfast. The room was large and the bed was acceptable. Both room and bathroom were clean enough. The fitness center was okay, but there were no English instructions and no exercise bikes. The breakfast is non recommendable, the tables were dirty, there was used tableware all over the place and not enough food. Both checking and checkout were quickly and the personal were friendly and helpful. It's about 15 min. walk to the Olympic park and the subway line 8 and it's straight down Dantun Road. The hotel is between 3 and 4th ring road and if you want to go to San Li Tun, Zoo market or Wangfujing it takes about 45 minutes by subway and even longer if you decide to take a taxi. The prices was fair but only because the room was without windows.

Room Tip: If you want at cheap room and only need at bed for sleeping then order a room without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The lobby, which is newly renovated, is clean...but it is window dressing. The rooms, even on non-smoking floors, are filled with cigarette smoke. The room smelled mildewy. The shower was mildewy, and the overall conditions were unacceptably clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing

Address: No.1A Datun Road, Bei Shatan, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #623 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western OL Stadium Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.