We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the JW marriott beijing on the 23-24th.jan 2011. It's truly a fabulous hotel, beautiful, elegant and very comfortable.
Staff very courteous, amenities very good.
One word of caution though: if you are an asian travelling, do request for a room with good view at a higher floor...or they will give you a room that's facing the back/ indusrial area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    251
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
73
43
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

On a recent trip to Beijing China, I stayed at the JW Marriott Beijing and put a video together of the room. So if you’d like to *see* what the hotel and room look like, check it out here: http://yelloww.net/blog/2010/12/jw-beijing/

Or if you are more of a "words" person -- then read on for a summary.

The JW Marriott Beijing is located just a 3 minute walk from the DaWang Lu station on the Beijing Subway Red Line or Line 1. From there, it’s about a 10 minute ride to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. The hotel itself is built next door to the Ritz Carlton hotel, and also adjacent to China Central Mall, and ShinKong Place.

The JW Marriott Beijing is a relatively new hotel, built in 2007. It’s a 5-star hotel, and it’s definitely one of the best Marriotts that I have stayed in.

We reserved the “VIP Limousine” transportation from the airport to the hotel. The cost is 600 CNY, and is well worth it. An airport greeter met us at the jetway from the plane, holding a sign with my name on it. He then walked us through security, and baggage claim. We then proceeded to a “special” transportation lobby, that is stocked with black Audi sedans. We hopped in an Audi, and the first 5 minutes of the drive was on a nice, wide, uncrowded freeway. But oh how that so quickly turned in to the typical Beijing traffic snarl of standstill traffic. Luckily our driver decided to drive on the freeway shoulder, and got us to the hotel in about 30 minutes. I’d highly recommend reserving this method of transport to the hotel, as Beijing taxi’s really leave quite a bit to be desired. Many Beijing taxi’s don’t even have working seat-belts, and trust me, you’ll want them!

Upon arrival at the hotel, our luggage was taken by a bellhop, and we were directed to the check-in counter. Being that this is China, not only did they request our passports, but they also scanned them in to the computer. After one of the most inefficient check-in processes of any Marriott I’ve stayed in, we were on our way to our room on the executive level, floor 20.

The room itself was very nicely appointed with traditional JW Marriott bedding. It was clean, modern, and quite spacious. Being the executive floor, there were 2 complimentary bottles of water, and 2 apples on the coffee table. Our room was a double room, it had two beds, two leather chairs, a coffee table, a desk, a flat panel television, and not one, but two closets. The room also has a mini-bar/small refrigerator and a tea making set in the cabinet under the television. Ice is available upon request from the housekeeping staff.

A very nice touch was that the room included power outlets and voltages for almost every plug imaginable. Next to the desk was a console on the wall that had sockets for 110, 220, US, European, etc.

The curtains in the room are really cool. They open from a push button console near the nightstand. One button open and closes the main black-out curtain, and another button open/closes the sheer curtain.

The bathroom was quite large, and had a seperate bathtub and shower. The shower had dual showerheads, a regular one, and a top-down rain head. There was also a television in the bathroom, viewable from the bathtub.

Our room was very quiet — I didn’t hear a single thing from outside of our room. Very peaceful, just the way I like it.

The concierge lounge is open from 6am – midnight, 7 days a week. Breakfast, dinner, and desert are served every day of the week. The food spread at the lounge is quite impressive, but Platinum members can also have breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant downstairs which is even more impressive. Definitely the best Marriott breakfast that I’ve had. It rivals a Las Vegas hotel buffet.

The Marriott shares a Spa and Fitness Center with the Ritz Carlton. While I didn’t go in to the Spa, it looked pretty nice from the outside.

I highly recommend staying at the JW Marriott Beijing if your travels take you to Beijing in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed 7 nights at this fabulous JW Marriott...best we've ever stayed by far...The staffs are very friendly and attentive. We stayed on the 30th floor...the room was clean with comfy King size bed w/ goose down beddings. The bedside table featured a CD/DVD Bose alarm/clock radio and a box of electrical switches to operate the draperies, light switches, and "do not disturbed/ready for service" signs. The desk area was spacious with local and international plugs for any laptops. The marble bathroom was spacious with tub and shower separated from each other. The bathroom also featured additional flat screen TV.

The Executive lounge provides comfortable area to relax and/or do your business affairs with free wireless connectivity. The breakfast plus morning, afternoon, and evening snacks were excellent. During early evenings, The Exec Lounge serves delicious hor d’oeuvers. A wide variety of non-alcoholic beverages, coffee, teas throughout the day are served...also beers and wines at nighttime. On the other hand, if your room includes breakfast at the Asia Bistro; it's best to go there instead of having it at the Executive Lounge. The Bistro offers the best breakfast with abundant choices of specialty cuisines (Chinese, Indian, Korean, American, European, etc), fresh fruits, cheeses, freshly baked goods, etc. Services at both Executive Lounge and Asian Bistro were excellent!

The fitness, pool, sauna and spa facilities are wonderful and relaxing! Sauna and spa are located in each of the men and ladies' area. The staffs are also very helpful there to provide towels, etc.

High-end shopping malls are very short walk from the hotel. The subway station is approximately 3-minute walk and a one-way ticket costs 30 US cents, no matter where you go. Example: we took a ride to the Summer Palace that took 45 minutes for a unbeatable price of 30 cents. Taxis are easily accessible right outside the hotel and inexpensive, but at times, we wished we had taken the subway instead because traffic can be horrible, especially during rush hours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My family and I stayed here for Thanksgiving week. The hotel is very nice, very clean and classy. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom with a tub and great shower. The breakfast buffet is incredible, with everything you could want. Across the street is a huge mall with a ton of restaurants and other stores. Subway is a short walk and takes you to many of the sites for cheap money.
Service was outstanding, everyone helped us find what we needed and helped us get where we wanted. I also recommend the Executive lounge option, it gives you access to the breakfast buffet plus the lounge with food and drinks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This hotel was gorgeous. The room was beautiful, and the service was friendly. Comfortable beds, big bathroom with a tub and shower, nice mini-bar. The only thing I didn't care for was that we wanted to go to a certain acrobatic show. We inquired at the concierge desk, but were told that the Marriott suggested a different show. We were persuaded to try that show, at the Beijing Worker Club. The show was terrible. Shabby venue, dirty costumes, poor talent. It was a waste of $40 each!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Have stayed Many times. Facilities all top notch. Health club, pool, restaurants, rooms but what sets this hotel apart from all others, anywhere are the people. From General Manager who walks around and visible to great leadership team down to all staff this shows how leadership can create quality even in this tough market

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

A good 5 star Western-standard business hotel located in Eastern Beijing. Facilities, staff, service, food all excellent. Trip was connected with a corporate event hosted at the hotel, which was supremely well organised. All together, I have come away with a very high opinion of this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Address: No.83 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Business Hotel in Beijing
#21 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#369 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Beijing
Beijing Jw Marriott
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.