We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District | Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Titusville, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great stay, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this property for almost 2 weeks at the beginning of September, I was in Beijing on business.
The room was wonderful - large and well-appointed, with lots of thoughtful touches. The desk area is spacious and has all the power outlets and plugs you could look for. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't watch much TV, but the selection of international/English channels was certainly sufficient. The bathroom was great; it has both a tub and a shower. The shower is spacious and and doesn't leak (one of my pet peeves - great looking showers without doors that flood the bathroom). The toiletries are nice, and the hotel provides shower gel, which I prefer over soap.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. I ended up needing a late-evening doctor's appointment for a really bad toothache, and the concierge made sure to send me to a clinic that was open at that time of night and had English-speaking staff.
The hotel location is very convenient, just a short walk from offices, a food court, a subway station and some excellent (and very high-end) shopping malls.
There were really just a couple of downsides to the stay:
- internet was slow and unreliable, both in my room and in the rooms of my colleagues, and we were all staying on different floors,
- while we got a good room rate through our partner company, everything else at the hotel was incredibly expensive; I couldn't even bring myself to order room service - over $30 for pasta with tomato sauce? The breakfast buffet, while very extensive, is $40.
- while I understand that housekeeping want to do a good job (and their attention to detail was phenomenal), I don't need to be called twice to confirm if I have the do-not-disturb light on, and I find turndown service quite intrusive (as well as unnecessary, I can draw my own curtains, thank you very much!)
Useful tip from someone who took a week to figure this out: if you want to turn out the lights below the bathroom vanity, the light switch is actually next to the bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    264
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
59
76
44
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

my husband and I spent 3 nights at this property in August of 2013 at the start of our vacation in Asia. We used Marriott free night certificates for this stay, and are gold elite so had access to the lounge floor and free wifi. The location of the hotel is great, very near to a subway stop and the highway. We were placed on a high floor with a very nice view of the (thankfully) clear Beijing skies. Our room was very clean, as were the hallways and common areas. The bathroom was very large with a great tub/shower (separate), and there was a good amount of english channels on the TV.

Of all the properties we stayed at on this trip (mainly Marriott, Starwood & Hilton), the breakfast here in the club level was the best, and the staff were very friendly/eager to assist. As we used certificates and didn't pay for this stay, we have no complaints and felt very comfortable here. The check-in/out process was also pretty quick and painless. Should we visit Beijing again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Conveniently located close to the metro station. It is a nicely maintained hotel but expensive. I stayed as it was conveniently located to the local office.The breakfast is varied and it is good for a hotel of this quality. The buffet dinner was ok but could be better, we went close to the closing , an hour before, at the end of the day, the cut fruits were not looking so appealing as in the breakfast. Rooms are spacious and well cleaned/ maintained also.Bed is comfortable. Has extra cables to connect the pc into the tv, if desired. It is located in a high end vicinity with many brand shops and a department store.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had recently traveled to Beijing on business and had been put up in JW Marriott, Beijing. From the onset, it was a great experience. The check in was smooth and quick. The room was in excellent condition. The location of the hotel is also really good as it sits in the CBD area of Beijing. I stayed there for 14 days, and never had any problems.
Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is great and is well placed. Service good quality. Room reasonable but anything else particularly food really expensive. Service in club rooms can be poor and ignorant. Breakfast seems a little limited really. I would stay again but be aware of extras. Get the hotel name in chinese as taxis will not know it otherwise

Room Tip: Go club if you can its worth the extra by the time you factor food and drinks costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and 9 year old daughter stayed here in August and found the hotel was very convenient for our needs. We ate breakfast and dinner at the executive lounge and only had to manage lunch on our own. It was a nice selection of Asian and Western food that both the adults and the 9 year old could find something pleasing. They also had fresh baked cookies to takeout! This worked out well for a busy sightseeing day. The pool was very nice. The hotel is across from high-end mall and a subway station. There were two Starbucks within walking distance, but the espresso machine in the executive lounge worked fine. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: The extra we paid for the executive lounge was worth the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel for around 3 weeks. Everything was excellent about this hotel except it's location. The location is good but a little far from the city centre. The hotel is adjacent to the best mall in Beijing though.
The view from the room was good, though mostly tall buildings. The night view was great.
The room was awesome. It had sufficient electrical points at convenient places. The TV was big. Bed was extremely comfortable. There was a glass partition between the room and the bathroom which looked nice. WIFI speed was excellent most of the time.
The room was serviced well leaving no point of complaint. The staff was always smiling and greeting with pleasure.
The swimming pool was good but was too shallow. It was a good experience to sit on the heated chairs next to the swimming pool. The clubhouse staff was courteous.
The restaurant had the largest buffet spread in I have ever seen in any restaurant ever. Since I am vegan, I could not taste most of the items. However, I was not disappointed because I could get enough varieties to eat. Again, the restaurant staff was always smiling and responsive.
The dinner could be better since there were only 2 vegetarian items in the dinner menu.
The staff at the taxi stop were also helpful in hiring a taxi and guiding the taxi drivers about the destination in Chinese.
Overall, I had a very good experience staying in this hotel

Room Tip: Prefer to stay on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District | Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Business Hotel in Beijing
#22 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Family Hotel in Beijing
#359 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wether visiting China for business or leisure, guests will find the most luxurious accommodations at the JW Marriott Hotel Beijing. Located in the central business district, the 5-star hotel in Beijing is part of the China Central Palace, an awe-inspiring complex featuring offices, shopping and residential towers. At this spectacular hotel, enjoy first-class services, spacious accommodations and incredible amenities. 588 rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42'' flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Three exquisite restaurants and two lounges are perfect for dining and catching up with family and colleagues. After a busy day relax in the indoor swimming pool and steam room, pamper yourself at Spa and visit 24-hour gym for an invigorating workout. When planning a conference or social event, guests couldn't choose a finer hotel. The JW Marriott hotel Beijing features 1,800 square meters meeting space; professional event planning and catering service will ensure every event successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Beijing
Beijing Jw Marriott
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.