We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, especially with MR Platinum benefits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District | Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #42 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, especially with MR Platinum benefits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a newly minted Marriott Rewards Platinum, I was looking forward to my stay at this hotel. I had hoped for a suite upgrade for my 6 night stay but settled for an Executive Lounge room on the 22nd floor. Even so, a great room since I'm just travelling solo.

The workout facilities here are great. The only downside is that the TV only includes Chinese language programs, apparently due to some government regulations around TV in public areas. The pool looked nice, but a bit small. Haven't tried the loungers in there yet but may next time.

The location is good. Easy to get to anywhere I want to go. The Concierge was also very helpful in advising on how best to reach certain locations and in suggesting private tours for my visit to the Great Wall. I ended up going with an associates recommendation for a driver to the Great Wall for a 1/2 day, but did appreciate the concierge trying.

The Executive Lounge here is very nice. As opposed to light appetizers at other places, you could easily have a full meal at the lounge in the evening. For breakfast, I'd recommend the main restaurant over the lounge as there are more options and 'live cooking stations' for your choices.

Great service, though, and an excellent hotel at which to stay. Glad I'll be back in a couple months...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I always have high expectations of the JW Marriott product. This location meets and exceeds expectation.
What I liked:
** located near a mall where there was shopping and food court. The food court - you could buy a "meal ticket" and eat at any of the available restaurants in the food court.
** great spa massage
** as an Elite member, we have access to concierge food...but they made the morning Asian breakfast buffet available to us - we could eat at the buffet rather than at the concierge lounge.
** BEST service: the ATM in the hotel failed to dispense our YUAN/RMB. Hotel staff did not hesitate to volunteer to contact the bank for us to remediate the problem. When we returned from our "tour" at the end of the day - the issue was resolved!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beijing JW marriott is exactly as you would expect for a JW. I wouldn't go as far as previous reviewers who rave about it but it is a very comfortable hotel. We stayed on the executive floor and the room was large and very comfortable. The bathrooms were modern, very clean and large. The concierge were very helpful offering helpful advice. We wanted to go for a foot rub and rather than pushing the hotel spa (which we have founds lots of these hotels do) they offered us a local cheap option and even arranged for twos therapists from the local spa to come to our room and do an hour long in room foot rub. It only cost about £10. Another touch which was great was that the executive lounge offer takeaway containers which was brilliant for our Great Wall day trip as we could take some food with us.
All together a very good hotel and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymcchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Bland non descript five star business hotel in China. Wear is starting to show. HORRENDOUS check in where I had to wait for almost half an hour - which is really unacceptable for a business hotel. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet spread is HUGE - biggest I've seen in China (but also super crowded and there some pushing and shoving from other guests). Decent overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

No complaints here at all. Good service, great breakfast, great staff. The only problem I found was it proximity to a coal fired plant. But there is not really anywhere in Beijing you can go without being close to one it seems. The photo I have was taking on an extremely smoggy day and everyday was not this bad at all. Also the subway station is very close and the best option to take to the Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLJ_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel lived up to the standard you expect from a JW Marriott, in fact in some instances went above and beyond. I am lucky enough to be an Executive Club member and loved how they had little take-away items and containers at breakfast in the Executive Lounge - great for people on the go. It was also great how they gave you the choice of eating in the Executive Lounge or in the main restaurant at no cost.

The main restaurant had everything you could possibly want for breakfast - multiple food stations for different nationalities. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere too.

The reception staff were very friendly and one lady in particular was very helpful giving me tips on how and where to catch the subway, where the best shopping was, etc. (Sorry I forget her name, maybe Diana?!)

The rooms were of the usual standard, very comfortable and had all the amenities I would expect and want.

Over the road is the China Plaza which has some nice shops but even better, has a food court and lots of restaurants in the lower level. There is also a foot and leg massage spa which was fabulous after a long day walking the Great Wall.

The nearest subway station is only 5 minutes walk and takes you directly to the Forbidden City.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjp131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'll start with why I chose this hotel. I was deciding which hotel to use for this trip when I wondered - what happened to those Marriott points I earned many years ago? To my very pleasant surprise, all 140,000 points were still there! (kudos to Marriott for a 'no expiry' policy) Marriott was 20,000 points night, vs 30,000 for the Ritz (and 35,000 for Marriott Singapore, which is a nice but v old hotel), which seemed like excellent value.

I arrived at the hotel at 9am, via the red eye from Singapore. Another very pleasant surprise - they gave me a room right away! I was half expecting having to tour the Forbidden City for 5 hours till 2pm and could now look forward to having an extra hour or two of sleep (4 hours is about as much sleep as you can get on that 6 hour flight).

The room is comfortably sized and relatively new (the Marriott is 5 years old, vs the two other hotels I've used in the past - Grand Hyatt and China World - both are much older). The beds are very comfortable and the rain shower pressure is excellent (the two most important things for me). There were a good number of power sockets, although the one next to the bed (a great idea) didn't work with a standard international plug and the wireless internet (free for Marriott members) was erratic.

Service was excellent. I used the concierge for a dinner booking, which was very good and had room service once, which arrived in a timely fashion and was delicious. Rooms were cleaned well and housekeeping was very thoughtful (charging cables were tidied with rubber bands, clothes folded and placed intuitively). One thing I really liked were the apples that were replaced daily - they were sweet and fresh and a nice complement to the heavy chinese food.

I really liked the safe as well. Most hotel safes are small boxes which open by the side and with not-always the easiest instructions. This one opened upwards, v easy to operate and was big enough to fit a notebook and ipad (not that it was necessary to lock those up).

One other 'must' for me is a good, functional gym. The Marriot gym is large, with an indoor swimming pool. Small gripes here would be the treadmill (touch screen not responsive) and the car entry system with no receptionist (if you forget your card key when you leave the gym, you can't get back in to retrieve it, neither can you activate the lift to get back to your room). On the other hand, this system allows 24 hour entry, a useful option for those with jet lag.

An improvement I would suggest that would make this hotel perfect, would be to change the toiletries. For a room with such wonderful hardware, the toiletries are a letdown - significantly worse than the competition.

Location-wise, it is in the eastern part of Chao Yang, not quite as well located as the Grand Hyatt or the St Regis. It takes close to half an hour by cab to Tiananmen square although my preference would be the 6 stop train ride. However, there is the excellent Shin Kong plaza right next door with great shopping and a huge array of food choices (also where the train station is located).

Overall, one of the best experiences I've ever had in any 5 star hotel globally and a hotel I would be coming back to often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eskicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing
#8 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District | Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#23 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#36 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#49 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#243 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wether visiting China for business or leisure, guests will find the most luxurious accommodations at the JW Marriott Hotel Beijing. Located in the central business district, the 5-star hotel in Beijing is part of the China Central Palace, an awe-inspiring complex featuring offices, shopping and residential towers. At this spectacular hotel, enjoy first-class services, spacious accommodations and incredible amenities. 588 rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42'' flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Three exquisite restaurants and two lounges are perfect for dining and catching up with family and colleagues. After a busy day relax in the indoor swimming pool and steam room, pamper yourself at Spa and visit 24-hour gym for an invigorating workout. When planning a conference or social event, guests couldn't choose a finer hotel. The JW Marriott hotel Beijing features 1,800 square meters meeting space; professional event planning and catering service will ensure every event successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Beijing
Beijing Jw Marriott
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing