We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to show its wear, terrible check in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.83 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Deal
Ranked #25 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Starting to show its wear, terrible check in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Bland non descript five star business hotel in China. Wear is starting to show. HORRENDOUS check in where I had to wait for almost half an hour - which is really unacceptable for a business hotel. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet spread is HUGE - biggest I've seen in China (but also super crowded and there some pushing and shoving from other guests). Decent overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    240
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
69
41
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

No complaints here at all. Good service, great breakfast, great staff. The only problem I found was it proximity to a coal fired plant. But there is not really anywhere in Beijing you can go without being close to one it seems. The photo I have was taking on an extremely smoggy day and everyday was not this bad at all. Also the subway station is very close and the best option to take to the Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel lived up to the standard you expect from a JW Marriott, in fact in some instances went above and beyond. I am lucky enough to be an Executive Club member and loved how they had little take-away items and containers at breakfast in the Executive Lounge - great for people on the go. It was also great how they gave you the choice of eating in the Executive Lounge or in the main restaurant at no cost.

The main restaurant had everything you could possibly want for breakfast - multiple food stations for different nationalities. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere too.

The reception staff were very friendly and one lady in particular was very helpful giving me tips on how and where to catch the subway, where the best shopping was, etc. (Sorry I forget her name, maybe Diana?!)

The rooms were of the usual standard, very comfortable and had all the amenities I would expect and want.

Over the road is the China Plaza which has some nice shops but even better, has a food court and lots of restaurants in the lower level. There is also a foot and leg massage spa which was fabulous after a long day walking the Great Wall.

The nearest subway station is only 5 minutes walk and takes you directly to the Forbidden City.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'll start with why I chose this hotel. I was deciding which hotel to use for this trip when I wondered - what happened to those Marriott points I earned many years ago? To my very pleasant surprise, all 140,000 points were still there! (kudos to Marriott for a 'no expiry' policy) Marriott was 20,000 points night, vs 30,000 for the Ritz (and 35,000 for Marriott Singapore, which is a nice but v old hotel), which seemed like excellent value.

I arrived at the hotel at 9am, via the red eye from Singapore. Another very pleasant surprise - they gave me a room right away! I was half expecting having to tour the Forbidden City for 5 hours till 2pm and could now look forward to having an extra hour or two of sleep (4 hours is about as much sleep as you can get on that 6 hour flight).

The room is comfortably sized and relatively new (the Marriott is 5 years old, vs the two other hotels I've used in the past - Grand Hyatt and China World - both are much older). The beds are very comfortable and the rain shower pressure is excellent (the two most important things for me). There were a good number of power sockets, although the one next to the bed (a great idea) didn't work with a standard international plug and the wireless internet (free for Marriott members) was erratic.

Service was excellent. I used the concierge for a dinner booking, which was very good and had room service once, which arrived in a timely fashion and was delicious. Rooms were cleaned well and housekeeping was very thoughtful (charging cables were tidied with rubber bands, clothes folded and placed intuitively). One thing I really liked were the apples that were replaced daily - they were sweet and fresh and a nice complement to the heavy chinese food.

I really liked the safe as well. Most hotel safes are small boxes which open by the side and with not-always the easiest instructions. This one opened upwards, v easy to operate and was big enough to fit a notebook and ipad (not that it was necessary to lock those up).

One other 'must' for me is a good, functional gym. The Marriot gym is large, with an indoor swimming pool. Small gripes here would be the treadmill (touch screen not responsive) and the car entry system with no receptionist (if you forget your card key when you leave the gym, you can't get back in to retrieve it, neither can you activate the lift to get back to your room). On the other hand, this system allows 24 hour entry, a useful option for those with jet lag.

An improvement I would suggest that would make this hotel perfect, would be to change the toiletries. For a room with such wonderful hardware, the toiletries are a letdown - significantly worse than the competition.

Location-wise, it is in the eastern part of Chao Yang, not quite as well located as the Grand Hyatt or the St Regis. It takes close to half an hour by cab to Tiananmen square although my preference would be the 6 stop train ride. However, there is the excellent Shin Kong plaza right next door with great shopping and a huge array of food choices (also where the train station is located).

Overall, one of the best experiences I've ever had in any 5 star hotel globally and a hotel I would be coming back to often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent stay in Oct 2012. Very pleased with the comfort and the size of the bed. I was very touched the next day seeing a glass next to the bed as I left a half emptied bottle of water there in the morning. A pair of slipper was put near the door too. The housekeeper is obviously very observant and caring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

So got to be pretty decent. Really like the well appointed rooms, and they have a very nice Club Lounge with decent good breakfast and decent dinner on the 20th Floor (I think). Freeflow of alcohol till 8pm. The other reviews would have tell you why most things are good. So while I like the hotel, the restaurants are what you should probably give a miss. CRU steakhouse, Loong Bar.....not worth the visit, unless you cannot find food after 9.30pm.

There are some nice restaurants at the back of the hotel like South Beauty which you will find much better food.

Though JWM co-locate with Ritz Carlton, JWM is a much newer and pleasant hotel. So forget about Ritz when you are there.

If you need a suite type, Sandalwood Marriott about 10 mins away is a wonderfully appointed hotel, and for very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose near 20th floor if you have Club access. Lift does not get you to Club floor unless you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in November, and was pleased with the comfort and size of the room. Twin beds were each 4 feet wide, and each had 4 pillows and a bolster. Marble bathroom was a delight, with good supply of towels and toiletries. Shower with rain overhead was also enjoyable. LCD TV in front of the bathtub was a nice touch as you could watch TV whilst having a soak, or when using the bathroom. Loved the motorized blinds and curtains in the bathroom and room itself.

Breakfast buffet was plentifully adequate. I particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed juices made to order and smoothies.

Service was fantastic. Requests for towels and bottled water were attended to immediately. Concierge was very helpful with suggestions and directions.

Loved the fact that the hotel was smoke-free. Only downside was that the windows were not soundproofed. I haven very acute hearing and had to sleep on the bed furthest away from the window as a result.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Beijing
Beijing Jw Marriott
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott
Address: No.83 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Family Hotel in Beijing
#375 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.