We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirit of China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spirit of China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely boutique hotel that gives you a feel of China. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is excellent as well as the dinner restaurant in the Happy Bar. Staff is very helpful and made me feel like family. Their English is excellent too. Location in a hutong is perfect for anyone wanting to see China. I am looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    291
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
257
436
177
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a magnificent stay, one I hope to replicate in the future.

The decor, ambience, and value were tremendous here but the true highlight was the service we received. Shelley, Vivian, and the rest were so very wonderful and helpful that it touched us. Whoever is in charge of hiring at this hotel needs a medal!

The walk into the hiring is not the shortest but it's easy enough to find and locals will help you if you seem lost. But even if only for one night, this hotel is to be seen and to be experienced!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have travelled a LOT over the last 12 years, and stayed in many hotels of one type or another, from 5 Stars to B&Bs. Double Happiness is one of the best experiences we have ever had, anywhere. The staff are true hoteliers, passionate about providing excellent service and ensuring you feel welcomed and special. The building itself is of historic interest and decorated in a manner that makes you feel at once in a museum and on the other at an eccentric family member's home with a love of kitsch and trinkets. Pet birds and fish take it over the top. Spotless, comfortable, warm, and tranquil, located in central Beijing in a traditional hutong that itself is an amazing window to Chinese culture. If you are seeking a one-of-a-kind, thoroughly enjoyable experience, this is it.

Room Tip: When you book, let them know your needs: they are so helpful I am sure they will find you the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located down a small street in a hutong, this hotel provides excellent service and a genuine feel of being in China. If you are after a luxury experience then this probably isn't the place for you but if you like trying to imagine what it must actually be like to live in "old China" then this is a fantastic way to start your holiday.

We arrived at around 6:45 in the morning and fully expected that they wouldn't have a room available for us but we weren't expecting the staff to give us the run of their bar\restaurant area as a surrogate room and also to provide us with copious amounts of free tea until we felt alive enough to walk to the Jingshan Park, which overlooks the Forbidden City and is worth a visit in itself (about 25 minutes). When we got back our suitcases had already been moved to the room, which was incredibly quaint. It was only around 8 Celcius outside so we were very grateful that the heating worked - which certainly isn't always the case around this time of year. The only slight issue with the room was that the mattress was a bit too thin for us but using the spare duvet as extra padding meant that we slept well. The hotel was very quiet at night.

The buffet breakfast was copious and varied and probably the best of our stay. The only downside was that the breakfast room was a bit chilly in the morning.

The hutong that the hotel is situated on is perhaps not the most picturesque in Beijing and a bit dark after dark but you do get a real feeling of how people live in the area and there are many places to eat within a 5-10 minute walk. We never once felt unsafe (that applied to all the places we visited in China) although you do have to be careful of the electric mopeds coming up behind you. You can get to a Metro station in about 10 minutes and the system is excellent and extensive and easily the quickest way to get to most of the sights in Beijing. If you don't mind walking a bit, The Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square and some very nice parks are within walking distance.

Above all, I cannot praise the staff highly enough. They spoke English excellently, were always helpful and polite and even made the gesture of giving us a leaving gift of tea, which was very appreciated. If only we had received service this good in the 5 star hotels that we subsequently stayed at!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Rong, Cambodia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 3 nights recently, staff were very courteous and helpful. Food in the restaurant was not great, after one meal there we had the rest of our dinners at other restaurants. For the price, you can get a bland mid-range hotel for cheaper. But this place has a little more character, which is what we wanted. During busy periods you can't get a table in the breakfast room as it's quite small. Other than that, we were happy.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The building and furnishings are beautiful and very traditional. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You should stay here if you want to experience China! The hotel is not on a busy street, so it is quite. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I was in room 128, not one of the larger rooms, but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights while in Beijing. The hotel is a converted old building but has all the necessary conveniences including western style toilets. It is in the old part of Beijing in a quiet alley and fairly close to the subway stations. The breakfast is pretty good and includes Chinese and western food. The staff is very helpful and most speak very good English. They booked us a half day tour of the Great Wall which was very reasonably priced and just the right amount of time to see the wall and get back to the hotel to relax. Wifi is available in all the rooms and works pretty well. Keep in mind, because of some restrictions of certain websites in China, the connection might not go through or be really slow on those sites. Our room also had a computer with LAN. Overall , it was a really good stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#266 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.