We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel was a beautiful courtyard building with gorgeous decor and immense character; traditional Chinese furniture in the room as well as common areas; beautiful bathroom with many amenities provided; nice bar with traditional music in the evenings.

There was free WIFI plus a desktop computer and monitor provided in room.

Friendly and attentive staff who spoke excellent English.

The best of all, a wonderful, bountiful breakfast buffet with a multitude of options to suit all tastes - multicultural offerings including Chinese, European, and North American favourites - like travelling around the world for breakfast - high quality croissants plus cheese and cold meats, Chinese buns and pastries and soups, bacon and eggs; fruits, it was all there plus more.

The only disadvantage was because of the hutong location, it was hard getting taxi's to take us to the hotel using the map and instructions the hotel had provided. We would have been quite willing to be dropped off at the main street and walk down the lane to the hotel, but we didn't know how to tell the drivers that in Chinese. We ended up figuring out the subway system which was easy, cheap and close by, and using hired private cars for longer trips (like the Great Wall).

Highly recommend this place if you want something with traditional character and high quality. It was a little expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
^_^ Comparing with the standard chain hotels, our breakfast area is small. But the limited room size cannot stop us to try our best to provide the traditional tasty foods as many as we can. We really thanks for your long comments and will continue to improve our service. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    261
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
224
353
155
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife, her sister and I spent a great week at the Double-Happiness. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and clean, the breakfast was pretty good and the location is great if you want to move around Beijing (fairly close to the Dongsi station of the subway). But what makes this place extraordinary is its staff... Really nice and always ready to help with anything you could need.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
^_^ We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and thanks for your kindly comments and recommendation. We still have many place to make improvement and hope to have another chance to serve you in the future. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is truly one of a kind. A hutong courtyard in classic Chinese style. The authenticity and attention to detail is amazing; from the hundreds of years old furniture to the rooms to the satin bed covers hand embroidered by the staff to fit the theme. It's a sight to see in its own right.

I can't say enough kind words about the staff. They're helpful, service minded and devoted to giving you the best service possible, and always with a smile. They know a lot about the city and its history and can answer most questions directly (and in good English), and if not they will find you an answer rapidly. I had a drink in the bar one night and got a very interesting lesson in Feng shui and Chinese architecture from Jen (one of the staffers).

The hotel is near the center of Beijing, located in a genuine hutong just 10 min walk from Dong si metro station (inside the ring line).

If I ever find myself in Beijing again Double happiness will be the obvious choice!

Room Tip: We had the luxury room, but I'm told by fellow travelers that all rooms are very good. They all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our first trip to China and Beijing was our first city. We stayed here based on the excellent reviews and were not disappointed. I loved that we received a welcome letter shortly after booking.

The staff spoke pretty good English and was very helpful (e.g., we were interested in seeing a professional basketball game and they looked that up for us and helpfully informed us that it was an "away" game that night).

It is a relatively short walk away from the Forbidden City and all of the other tourist attractions nearby. There is also a subway station about a block (a long city block) away.

The staff always made us feel very welcome. They even gave us (and everyone else, I'm sure) very sweet parting gifts.

We went during the offseason and I think they upgraded our room for free.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who was visiting Beijing, especially a westerner for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at dbl happiness courtyard hotel after readin rave reviews on tripadvisor and was i glad! Very cute interior with true chinese styles in every corner. The room was kept in prestine condition n the modern in room facilities was v good. Service staffs are always friendly and eager to help. The bfast selections was little but substantial.their freshly brewed coffee at additional 10yuan was v good.

Location is in a quaint hutong street which was exactly what i was looking for. Alot of authentic local eateries line the street. Def recommended to everyone coming to beijing to experience this hotel. Its vogue chinoisery chic.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
^_^ We are glad to have the guests of your kind who can understand the real meaning of historical and cultural life in Beijing. We really appreciate your kindly review and wish you a happy time everyday. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights in this hotel and the experience was great. The hotel is hidden down a tiny hotung and from the outside you will be surprised with what you find inside. The rooms were small compared to western hotels but have tons more character and I had the best 2 nights sleep of my entire trip at this hotel.

The staff is incredibly helpful and easily worked around some very last minute changes to my schedule that had me arriving and leaving earlier than planned with a smile. The breakfast buffet was great and I cant say enough about the whole staff and there attentiveness and kindness during my stay.

If you want the best experience in Beijing you should stay here during your trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
^_^ To provide our guests with every-minute help is our daily work, thanks for your comments. Best wishes. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#312 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.