We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it, what an experience!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it, what an experience!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews, the room was amazing, it was traditional wedding suite (a free upgrade from double room), the room was clean, large, cool (great aircon) big shower with good quality toiletries provided. The staff was friendly, hotel was in a great location, in a traditional hutong. dont be deceived or concerned when your taxi pulls down an alley that appears dodgy at best, the location is fantastic and very safe!!close to subway, free bike hire, free breakfast, restaurant and bar. The negatives (I use that term loosely as there wasn't really anything negative about our experiance). Food served I the restaurant was average, the bar was really nice but underused and often empty, and cab drivers seem to have difficulty finding the location. All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel, a cultural experiance not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    272
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
240
384
165
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rooms: Large, with a good aircon, and a great bathroom. The bed was good and soft.
Breakfast: Good, with many choices and good service.
Service: Outstanding. Staff is VERY helpful and english is fantastic.

Location is quite good for tourists - metro nearby, and walking distance to many sights. We went on their Mutinaya Great Wall trip and it was great, and good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great charming hotel!!! The real feeling of being in China.
Outstanding service, whole staff always trying to please you.
It is not a five star hotel you are used to in it's structure , but rooms are very comfortable and like i said before it is a six star service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a great time at Double Happiness. It's a very quaint hotel in a traditional Hu Tong, so you get an authentic Beijing experience which you would miss out on by staying in the larger hotels.

The level of detail and decoration in the hotel is amazing - even in the common areas and reception. We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites which was very intricately decorated with traditional Chinese furniture, a four poster bed (although smaller than usual was still more than big enough), a modern bathroom and even a private courtyard balcony.

The reception staff were very knowledgable and spoke great English, giving us some good restaurant recommendations and arranging our transport for the following day. You really do feel as though they are looking out for you. The breakfast was of a good standard with a European and Chinese option. There is also a bar which stays open pretty late and a restaurant which we didn't try. I would also recommend trying some of the street bars in the Hu Tong in the evening.

The hotel is a 40 minute walk from the Forbidden City. We did find a taxi driver who didn't know how to get to the hotel, but this situation was reseolved once we took the business card from the hotel out with us which had directions in Chinese.

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staying at this hotel was an amazing experience that really added to the quality of my short 3 day stay in Beijing.
This hotel is basically a traditional courtyard with traditionally designed rooms in the middle of a hutong, a not so hidden gem. My room was small and it was just fine for a solo traveller; it was super clean, with wifi, a computer, AC, and a nice bathroom. The staff were lovely and very helpful.
If you want to get around, you can take one of the bikes they have for a small deposit which you get back.
Last thing to add, the included breakfast buffet was just amazing. You actually get to try some local food here and they were oh so delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

For an authentic chinese experience stay here! Our family room was huge, complete with 2 TV's and a computer! Hot shower with everything you need and very comfortable beds. The hotel room decoration was fantastic. As the hotel is located away from the main roads you could not hear traffic noise. The Courtyard is a great place to relax and the bar is well catered for the kids with X-Box games and great local beer (not for the kids!). The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to really help you. I was so impressed and if I'm in Beijing again I will return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If everytime you travel you always stay in the local Hyatt or Marriott because you always know exactly what you are going get, then by all means, continue on. If on the other hand, you really like new experiences, getting to know the local neighborhoods away from the the everyday tourist traps and you want to experience the Real Beijing, then this is the place for you. Cab fare from the airport should be less than 160 rmb. When the cab pulls down the alley to the hotel, yes I said "alley", you will be 2nd guessing your decision. That will stop the minute you walk in and meet the staff. This building was once the residence of a Chinese scholar. It has beautiful small courtyards scattered through out. A small restaurant provides a nice breakfast every morning. Walking through the neighborhood rewards you with sights and smells of a working class Beijing neighborhood. We walked to the Palace Museum from here. Took and hour but not an awful walk. This is now my only hotel choice in Beijing. Try this once, you'll be back. You will have far more interesting stories to tell than those travelors at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 158 which had the canopy bed and opened up onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#297 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.