We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do believe the hype !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
Xi'an
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do believe the hype !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was an amazing little hotel in a peaceful yet convenient location in Beijing. The rooms are beautiful, furnished in a traditional Chinese style. The bathrooms are fantastic with lovely complimentary toiletries. However the best features of the hotel are the English-speaking helpful staff and the outdoor courtyard.

The hotel is situated down a hunting, but is only 5 minutes walk from dongsi metro station. It is also possible to walk to the forbidden city and ti'anmen square, or if not quick to get there via the metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    276
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
242
394
165
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is as it's described online but when you get there you realise it's so much more. The service is the first thing to reassure you that you've chosen the right place. Jaclyn, Vivian and Sabrina really helped make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. They helped us find our way round the city - quickly helping us get our heads round the subway system (which saved us plenty in taxis that we then decided not to take!) - and made great suggestions for local meals around the hutong.

Living in the hutong also meant we got glimpses into Beijingers' everyday lives - there's no need to take a hutong tour while you're there, you're in and out of one every day. The location was great for the subway and we felt really safe walking around the area the whole time we were there (two women travelling without any guides etc).

The hotel itself had a load of things that made it stand out - in the rooms - amazingly comfy beds, beautifully clean cotton sheets to sleep on, a great turn down service, endless hot water. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of variety to choose from - lots of chinese and european food and plenty of fresh fruit. The courtyards in the hotel were just such an added bonus. In the hot weather it's great to get back to the hotel after a busy day and just sit in the courtyard to chill out.

A great place to stay if you want to see the people of the city, getting on with their lives around you, somewhere with proper hospitality, a great standard of accommodation and friendly and helpful service. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my 6th trip to Beijing, but the first time that I was able really to enjoy the life of the city. My previous hotels had been luxurious but dull. The hutong is mainly a poor part of the city and in itself an interesting area for tourists. This hotel had once been the home of a very important and wealthy official. The current owner has spent a great deal of money bringing it up to modern standards of comfort, while retaining the feel of a Chinese home. Originally it had a very large courtyard; at some time a building has been erected in the centre, dividing the courtyard into two, hence (I think) the Double Happiness. It is full of fascinating artefacts and furniture. In one courtyard there are stone carvings dating back to the 18th century. The location is very lively. When you step out at night the street is buzzing with cafes and small shops open till late. It is very safe, situated between two police stations. My room was small, but charming, with everything that one needed. The staff were superb, with everyone from housekeeping upwards being friendly and attentive. Jaclyn on reception was especially efficient and helpful. They greeted me warmly when I arrived and were like old friends when I left. There are two courtyards, a verandah and a bar to relax in. A lot of my friends, who are all Chinese lawyers living in Beijing, visited me and were extremely impressed with the hotel.The buffet breakfast was plentiful and good. There are two caged birds just outside the breakfast room who spoke much better Chinese than I did. The hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am currently sitting at the hotel bar. Listening to harp played and got invited to a tea ceremony.

My room is like something out of this world. 100% clean and beautiful.

This is a hotel but feels more like staying with a Chinese family living in the old style of Hutong.

The staff here are like old friends and the courtyard is to die for.

I feel like I found an oasis in Beijing.

...oh and I also feel as if I hardly need to go sightseeing, I've got it all here.

I highly recommend this Beijing haven.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Beijing and wasn't sure what I was in for. The hotel was my first pleasant surprise. Everything was as shown and as described on the net. The room which opened onto the lovely courtyard was spacious, clean and decorated nicely in chinese style. The staff could not have been more helpful, advising on sightseeing, restaurants and the metro. All done with a smile and a sense of humour. I can recommend and will definitely stay here when next in Beijing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Read all many of the reviews before staying here for 3 days in May, instead of the Ritz Carlton. The residents of the hutongs of Beijing live their lives and businesses in the little lanes, and it is quite an experience. The hotel is great as everyone says, PLUS, they gave a VERY favorable exchange rate for the American dollar. Jaclyn and Alan, you're the Bomb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyckoff,nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you would like to have an authentic Chinese experience, which you never forget, this is the hotel for you. Located off an alley in a Hutong, you will have the full experience of sights, noises and smells. A small oasis, with quiet rooms and courtyards for lounging. The front desk is exceptionally friendly and will help with transportation, tours and restaurant suggestions. Lots of friendly interactions with the staff. Music at night in the bar, where you can eat or drink. Wonderful breakfast spread of chinese and western food. My wife and I stayed four nights in May, and would certainly return. Some suggestions, go for honeymoon suite 2nd floor. Taxis may not want to drop you off at the hotel, but at the street entrance. Also if you are coming from airport the hotel can make arrangements for taxi pickup.

Room Tip: 2nd Honeymoon Suite, the rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#285 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.