We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plenty to choose from. The small bar was cosy and again very friendly staff. Our room was large and very comfortable,spotless ,fresh towels each day and sheets. Great advice for visiting sites and would highly recommend the hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    296
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
264
447
178
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff was amazing. There's always someone (or many) people available to help you with whatever you want or need. We chose the wedding suite so we can have a good amount of space. The room was decorated in a very Chinese style. The hotel is located down a narrow street, but even at night, we felt safe. There's a police office on the same alley. The closest subway (Dongsi) was about a 12-15 minute walk from the hotel. Be aware, in Beijing, if it looks close together on the map, chances are, it's still far away. If you're limited on time, take the metro or taxis. Taxis are the same price for the first 3 km and really cheap. We missed out on a lot of stuff because we tried to walk it (being New Yorkers) and taking a lot longer than expected. The breakfast was a mix of Asian and western food. It wasn't huge, but certainly a lot of options.
Also they were clean rooms and a renovated bathroom. The heat isn't strong but keeps room warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just like to confirm all the positive remarks from previous reviewers, absolutley authentic experience, amazing staff. Wonderful rooms, minibar extremely cheap, couldn't get over how low the bill was when leaving. They organise all your tour needs etc... breakfast was fantastic, we found the hotel easily using public transport from airport, get the airport express to dongzhimen, chnage to line 2 one stop to yonghegong lama temple - then change to line 5 for 3 stps to donsi, take north exit out of metro station, turn right at the road and walk for 1 - 3 mins take donsi sitiao alley and walk down 3 - 4 mins and hotel is on left just past the police station.
I would only recommend the metro if you don't have too much baggage as the can get pretty full.
Hotel is walking distance to Wangfujing shopping street and outdoor food market, emperor's palace and more. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Set in the alleyways of Beijing (where you see daily life of Beijing unfold on the street) about 8min walk from the metro is this really friendly courtyard hotel. I stayed 2 nights and wished it were more.

Set in the courtyard with winding outside corridors and stairs, my room (got a free upgrade from single to double) looked really elegant. Outside and in the courtyard it is snowing but the room is warm in all sense of the word. Traditional tea service, stone bathroom, comfy bed and oriental images all around. 2 free bottles of water per days also a nice touch.

Bar is cosy and breakfast sufficient (including dumplings). Staff are really friendly and helpful (they even took me out to a bar after their shift).

If I were coming back to Beijing, without hesitation I would book here rather than a giant, chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

A traditional courtyard house, freshly renovated, clean and tasteful. In other countries we would say a Hotel de Charme. Very centrally located, subway 10 min walking. A wonderful Chinese ladies team at the reception and administering, with useful touristic services. English speaking, extremeley motivated and interested, and competent. We felt absolutely welcome, not so easy in Beijing. Gorgeous chinese breakfast included with sufficient complements for the European taste. Affordable for "normal" people, makes you share traditional Chinese life from a position of comfort. It's nice and safe to explore the surrounding Hutong. Rooms very nice with lacquered furniture and your personal tea set. They offer some tea to take away and remember (and certainly come back). Several roof and courtyard terraces, nice to relax and spend some time in a nice setting. We liked the evening bar, cosy with Chinese music. Prefer the rooms on the upper floor.
Have your taxi ordered at the reception, distances are great, and picking a taxi in the street was not easy for us who don' speak Chinese. Thanx albeit late for your wonderful hospitality.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very well located in the city overall. Very friendly staff. American/continental breakfast. Small but very equipped rooms. Place has its own cozy, social bar. Dinner food was clean and good. Only negative was - the hotel is in an alley and its almost a mile walk from main road. Also note, Its not a Hyatt or a high end hotel. No fittness center or pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I arrived after midnight and in less than 10 seconds the staff welcomed me at the door. They arranged a trip for the Great Wall and I received the breakfast with me. I will definitely miss their staff. A PC is in the room if you don.t have one with you

Room Tip: Tip? Just make the reservation and they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#259 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.