We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The double happiness was in a great location near the subway, 10 minute walk. The hotel staff were so nice arranging pick up from airport and transport to airport when we left. The breakfast had a wide variety. The staff were wonderful with our children, playing with them and giving them sweets.Every staff member was helpfull and all spoke english very well. The staff organised our train tickets to Xian before we arrived and we also went on a tour to the great wall with the tour group the hotel arranged for us,which was very good.The heating in the rooms kept you very warm and it was very homely. There is a big shopping centre next to the subway and Mc donalds where you can purchase items needed. I would definetly recommend staying here, we stayed for 11 nights in total. We also left two bags with them when we went to Xian and they had no problems with looking after them for us. The staff are all so caring and i wish them the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    279
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
246
403
167
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel lived up to all of the reviews as an excellent place to stay. We arrived at Dongsi subway station and took exit B to Dongsi Street then along to the 4th alley, Sitiao, and down the alley to No 37. It only took 5 minutes from the subway, and although the alley is typical of the Beijing - grey, bicycles everywhere, small food stalls and grey buildings, we easily fond No 37 with its large red entry signs. At night the alley can look a bit intimidating although we had no issues but it is also comforting to know that 100m up the lane is a local police station. Reception and baggage handlers all spoke english and were an absolute pleasure to talk with and were always very helpful. The hospitality was great, breakfast outstanding and the rooms warm, well appointed with traditional furniture and modern bathroom, shower and heating. Staff were helpful with directions and restaurant recommendation which all worked well. There are a range of tours that can be booked at reception - we did the Great Wall trip.

Room Tip: Family suite in the courtyard corner, lower ground was very good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really liked the experience of staying here. Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel has a nice location, comfortable rooms and excellent services, but what shines most about this charming place is the staff: one of the friendliest I've ever seen.
Happy ending guaranteed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in December, 2 rooms, 2 Adults and Kids 18 and 16. The staff at the counter were incredibly friendly and attentive with excellent English, which is very rare in the North of China. The location is very convenient to the Metro - the ONLY way to get about in Beijiing. The rooms were amazing, filled with antiques. We had a four poster bed ! After 2 nights my wife and I were upgraded to a wedding suite. The breakfast is amazing but on a couple of occasions we needed to wait for a table. There is a restaurant on the same side about halfway down the access lane with red canopies on the windows, definitely worth a visit for dinner as well. Wi-fi should be a priority for them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

From even before our trip, the service at this hotel was excellent. Very responsive, friendly and helpful. The room was just what we were looking for - charming, a feeling of authenticity, clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room for our family of four. The bathroom was a bit small but had everything we needed. Though this was our first stop of our two weeks in China, even by the end, we considered the breakfast to be the best of our trip. The only downside to this hotel is its location in the middle of an alley - since we were there in November, it was a bit cold (and rainy at times), and it was pretty far to walk to get a taxi or to the subway. However, the up side of the location was seeing the "old way of life" in the Hutong - an increasingly unusual experience in a city that is losing Hutongs every year. The Hutongs that you can "tour" are not authentic anymore, so I especially appreciated being able to see a genuine up close, with the hotel's neighbors going about their daily life.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago on a bitingly cold December. It started off getting lost when our taxi driver just could not find the area coming from the airport on a late night. So make sure you have the chinese translation of the addy to for the taxi driver. Anyways, the front does not have the grand entrance that most big hotels do. Neither does the reception area. You might worry there for a while if you made the right choice of choosing this hotel. But boy, glad we did! A change from all those big ones. The receptionists were so helpful and accommodating, spoke english well. The rooms were homey in their traditional chinese garb with a combination of modern facilities. Only thing was, during our stay we moved 2x but we did not mind packing up and moving as were eager to see what were in the other rooms. It was just a few blocks from the train. The breakfast buffet was great.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would not mind coming back.
nb: the choices wont let me go down as far as dec '11.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Luxury Wedding Suite and it was wonderful and spacious. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this place.
The only issue was that the rooms are not insulated well for noises, and unfortunately we got a very noisy guest next to our room one night and I was not able to sleep well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#264 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.