We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in a movie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5,441 Hotels in Beijing
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Like in a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (couple) stayed at the Double Happiness for three nights in January 2013, at the end of a Transsiberian trip. Basically, the hotel has everything in ambience and comfort you can wish for:
- it's in a Hutong, an old quarter with traditional architecture. Lovely.
- While the rooms are very big, the hotel itself is kind of rambling: two small pretty courtyards, stairs here and there, you walk around many corners, and our room had a beautiful little terrace - too bad it was Winter...
- Chinese interior, but important: not that it feels artificially packed with cheap stuf, but natural
- Many nice little details that make you feel good - nice wooden key chains, some acheological artefacts in the yards, a funny, very special fish in an aquarium in the bar, old style telephone in the room (1920s), etc.
- The staff is great, super helpful and nice.
- Beijing's important sites (Tienanmen et al.), subway, all styles of food from traditional cheaper restaurants to expensive, all in walking distance
- great breakfast

No need to mention that it was spotless, etc. blabla...
We stayed in another Beijing hotel (Fairmont) for the last two nights. I will just remember the Double Happines, though. In fact, it was not only my favourite hotel of the Transsiberian trip, it's among my favourites worldwide.

Only negative points, which don't influence my rating: in the bar I felt mostly unattended, and just like all along our trip, it was a smoker's bar.

Room Tip: Our room was a wedding suite or so, which was marginally more expensive than the next category It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    284
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
250
420
170
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early January 2013, after we had just completed the Transiberian railway trip from Moscow. As soon as we arrived, the hotel was welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful, and tried very hard to meet our every request.

The room itself (my partner had booked the wedding suite) was beautiful, with beautiful, traditional touches at every turn. Water and fruit and different types of Chinese tea were provided. Cleaning was efficient and prompt, the turn-down service unintrusive, the internet access flawless. Breakfast was delightful, a good mix of local and more westernised food.

The staff helped us to book trips to Mutianyu Great Wall and (with my unwarranted initial reluctance!) a Kung Fu show which turned out to be entertaining. We found both to be excellent value. The location was convenient and in a trendy part of town. We certainly enjoyed this location a lot more than the location of the Fairmont, where we also stayed while in Beijing.

A great hotel - we certainly hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, you feel you are staying in china and not just a cookie cutter hotel. The staff speaks English and really wants to assist you to have a great trip. They set up the tours and will answer question you have about the city.

Also, the breakfast is great, it is complementary with the room and it is a buffet. They have everything you can think of it is Wester as well as all of the Chinese items.

The only thing bad on the whole trip was going in December, the weather was below zero the whole time and you had to bundle up.

The only good thing with the weather was nobody was at the wall

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent lovely 4 days in this hotel, very charming and well placed. But specially i'd like the careness of people of reception and overall the preciuos information: touristical and practical (logistic, time, tips) . Not only an hotel , but a hub to visit beijing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel was a great experience per se! It felt like I was at home while my stay at this lovely hotel, located in the depth of Dongsi Hutong Number 4, a five-minutes' walk from Dongsi Metro Station and the Wu-Mart. The hotel's design is very traditional, the corridors and rooms are well decorated - it is a beautiful hotel! And if we put aside the hotel's appearance, then there's the staff - also wonderful. I travelled to Beijing alone and felt very welcomed. They smile alot, don't forget to say "Good morning" in the morning and "Hello", ask how are you doing and are always willing to offer help if you need it. Even the roomcleaners who pass by you don't forget to say "Ni hao" (hello in Chinese) and smile. I travelled during winter and the room was heated. The hotel provides two bottles of mineral water every day, free-of-charge, and leaves a small snack on your pillow, so when you get back from a long day, you can enjoy a nice snack. The tours that are provided at the reception are all reasonably priced (you can find tours to The Great Wall or book a night show, such as acrobatics). If you choose to eat breakfast at the hotel, you will enjoy a large variety of food compared to other places in China. Moreover, most of the restuarants in Beijing do not open before around 10 a.m. so if you get hungry early in the morning, you should consider eating at the hotel. There are Chinese dishes such as dumplings, rice with eggs and Chinese soup, there are some fruit, like watermelons, apples and pineapples, some vegetables such as cauliflower, cherry tamatoes and salads, and if you like there are also many kinds of pastries and cookies. For people who like the simple food, bread and cornflakes are also provided. You can choose to eat with chopsticks or a fork and knife.
If I will visit Beijing again I will without a doubt choose to stay at Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel again, because my one-week stay this winter was full of double happiness! Thanks to all of the staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I must admit that after reading all the good reviews, my expectations were high! And I was not disappointed, on the contrary it was even better! The rooms, the cleaning, the breakfast, the nice bar with a lovely lady bartender and the location - all perfect! In addition to that the hotel had the most service minded staff at the reception. In additon to their professional skills, we truly enjoyed the small chats we had with Dee-Dee, Jaclyn. Nicole and Alan - all of them so nice and effecient. I can really recommend this hotel and when I go back to Beijing, I will definately stay at the Doulbe Happiness Courtyard hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We could not be more pleased with our hotel selection in Beijing than with the Double Happiness. It was our first trip here and we wanted to feel that we were ensconced in the true spirit of the Chinese people, culture, and place and this hotel delivered while still providing the creature comforts to which a middle-aged couple from cushy Northern California is accustomed. The location is close to Beijing's ultramodern downtown, Western luxury hotel brands, and modern frufru luxury stores, if you so desire, yet it is housed in a 3-centuries old courtyard nestled within a very safe and traditional hutong that felt 100 miles away from all of that manufactured unreality. We were delighted!

Our 'honeymoon suite' was a beautiful, spotless, and charming space with more amenities and modern comforts than I expected. (Though don't expect to find much to choose from on TV or Internet - not the fault of the hotel but censorship rules, I expect.) Our bed was comfortable. Our bathroom was updated with modern appointments and an impressive assortment of free amenities. Hair dryer. Slippers. Bathrobes. Shampoo. Conditioner. Lotion. Bodywash. It's all there. The hotel also provided a lovely fresh fruit bowl and a tea/coffee service so we were never without comforts in our room.

The hard-working staff spoke English well enough for us all to communicate effectively and were truly dedicated to creating a comfortable, safe, friendly, and inviting experience for all guests. They'll readily help you with restaurant reservations and touring ideas, hailing taxis, and whatever else comes up. From wonderful, attentive Jimmy in the breakfast room to the always smiling young bellman who insisted on taking us in a bicycle rickshaw to a restaurant reservation on a sub-zero night, we were consistently charmed.

The impressive free breakfast buffet was chock full of choices from Western to traditional Asian fare that would suit any diet. We were never disappointed or hungry. Our only disappointment was the dinner menu offered in the Happy Bar which we tried on 3 different occasions and finally gave up. The drinks, however, were great and we sampled the Singapore Sling several times to ensure quality. You'll also find that the Happy Bar has occasional free entertainments that make for a relaxing evening post-touring, including a tea ceremony and a performer on the chinese harp.

P.S. We used a private tour guide in Beijing and, as we neither speak nor read Chinese, it was probably our best investment for the week next to this hotel. Her services were less than $75 a day and she quickly became a friend who escorted us everywhere we wanted to go and made all arrangements. With her we made use of dirt cheap public transportation while enabling efficiency to and fro in busy Beijing. She also arranged private drivers to distant sites like the Great Wall that were affordable and safe. And she kept us out of tourist traps. Hooray! While she wasn't part of our official hotel package, she (or another effective private guide) will keep you off of crowded tour buses and enable a deep and rich cultural experience. If you need a guide, we highly recommend Susan Liu. Contact her at susanliuyun@hotmail.com or see her website is http://susanliuyun.shutterfly.com

Room Tip: We loved our romantic honeymoon suite on the second floor which was a bit larger than the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#269 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.