We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction ti China for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great introduction ti China for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a long flight and a late arrival into Beijing airport it was both a relief and a pleasure to be met by Mr Ho from the Inn of Double Happiness. This hutong hotel was fantastic. We stayed there 6 nights and it served as a good base to do everything we wanted to do in Beijing. The hotel was just a 5 minute walk to one of the best subway train systems I have ever been on (2 yuan to go anywhere). The staff at the hotel behind the front desk, the kitchen staff, bar staff and cleaners were pleasant, helpful and happy. The breakfasts were delightful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the beds were welcoming after long days. The courtyards were a calming place to sit and have a G&T after a long day of sightseeing. The cafes and shops in the area were plentiful and having access to bicycles made things easier still. We could not have chosen a better place especially for our two children (13yo and 9yo). Thankyou once again to all the staff who made everything seem easy. A special thanks also to Jimmy and Alan (Michael Jackson). We will not hesitate in telling others of your fantastic hotel. From Chris, Lyn, Tom and Lucy

Room Tip: If our rooms are any indication I'm sure all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    291
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
257
437
177
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was exactly the kind of place we wanted to stay in Beijing: helpful staff, great atmosphere (reminded us of "Raise the Red Lanterns"), crimson red curtains, alcoved beds, courtyards, hutongs, clean and comfortable. You name it. We began calling it "the best hotel created by man," which may be an exxageration, but not much. Thank you Double Happiness!

Room Tip: the double rooms were a bit small. the suites were roomier with great atmosphere.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent five nights here and it was a real delight - a welcome haven from the bustle of Beijing. The hutong is a bewitching place to stay, and this hotel is a jewel in the middle. all the staff we encountered were very helpful, helping us to plan a trip to the wall, get to the airport and book restaurants. We had a wedding suite. As other reviewers have said, the extra space was welcome. Breakfast was magnificent and, later in the day, so was the bar! We were truly doubly happy and hope to return one day. The quest at this hotel (and there always seems to be a quest for travelers in china), is to see if you can find the tortoise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What an experience! This hotel is decorated with traditional furnishings of a courtyard house or hotel. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite complete with four poster bed which was beautiful. The staff spoke very good English and were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast ( included in tariff) in the small dining room where they had a nice selection of Chinese and western foods. The hotel is in the middle of a hutong area which is very interesting to explore on foot. The hotel is difficult to find as there are a number of small streets with the same name (Dongsi) we walked around the area trying to find it for ages before a local helped us (even he told us the wrong street first time but came back to find us). The best way to find it is to have the address written in Chinese get close to the area and ring the hotel to get directions if you are in a taxi or ask locals if on foot.
Wonderful place to stay and highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If it's all about the "experience" this is the right place! Yes, at first glance the hutong looks kind of "iffy." However, it was one of the best parts of our trip. The hotel places you in the midst of life being lived - nothing plastic or pretend. So, about the hotel: we truly enjoyed talking with the staff (answering & asking questions) and appreciated their excellent and enthusiastic service. Our room's Chinese furnishings were colorful, charming and comfortable. Good to have a computer in our room & free access to internet. It was very clean, very quiet, and quite homey - so nice to step out of our room and into the courtyard with birds chirping and roses in bloom. Good food in the bar and good breakfasts to get you going in the morning. Lots of conversation among guests - Aussies prevail, we were the lone Americans for the week we were there. Enjoyed the international clientele. Taste restaurant is right up the alley and at the end more modern shops including post office, pharmacies, WuMart, and a great place to pick up tea. THANKS staff for doing such a great job in your great-fun hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a magical little hotel for the entire family. By way of background, we shy away from big Western hotel chains in foreign cities (if you want that, the St. Regis is lovely!) and try to find smaller places with character and charm. The Double Happiness exudes character and charm. With all the huste and chaos of big city Beijing life, this little oasis in a hutong gives you a real flavor of the disappearing traditional hutong life in Beijing. If you want white-gloved doormen, 24 hr room service that includes hamburgers and pizzas, this is not the place for you. If you want an incredibly helpful staff that treats you like family; if you want to walk out into a charming little alley in the morning and see peddlers seeling eggs to the locals, families talking in the street while doing their laundry, kids playing, etc.; if you want a bed and breakfast room feel, this is your place. Just a short walk down the alley, you are in the hear tof bustling Beijing and very close to all the major sites. We couldn't recommend more highly if you want something different than a Beijing hotel that would be indistinguishable from a big hotel in NYC or London.

Room Tip: The family suite is very cool and with two extra beds can comfortably fit a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived late after our flight, and the staff were very welcoming. We travelled with 2 children (10 &5) and had a family room, with 2 queen size beds. The beds were beautiful, but very hard, as expected. The lack of sleep from the hard beds was made up for in spades by the excellent lounge bar with the upstairs games room (the kids had great fun playing on the x-box). Meals took a long time, but were good. Unfortunately there was a screw in one of them, but it wasn't eaten, the staff were very apologetic and didn't charge us.

Our room was directly above the reception area, and they had just re-concreted the courtyard so couldn't use it the first day. But that didn't matter, we had a beautiful afternoon sitting out there which was our only down time the whole month we were traveling, and was very much appreciated.

Despite the minor hiccups, we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others, and we'll be back here again in a few years when we return to Beijing. Thank you to the lovely staff, particularly the porter who took our luggage in the rickshaw, with our son perched on the handlebars! What a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#259 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.