We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reminder of Old Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A reminder of Old Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We chose this hotel as a relaxing treat at the end of a hectic couple of weeks in the region as we wanted to experience Hutong China before if disappears. We arrived in the morning after a 24 hour train journey to a warm welcome at reception and a good cup of coffee in the bar. The hotel's website has a map you can print out with instructions on how your taxi driver should find the hotel; although it's in a hutong there are parking spaces outside and you should be able to drive right up to the entrance.

We had booked a wedding suite for 5 nights but I think we were put in a Happy Family room which was more like an apartment and definitely didn't lack romance with its secluded location on an upstairs corner, private terrace and gorgeous four-poster bed in a luscious red bedroom. I defy you to find one review of this hotel which doesn't use the word "beautiful" on at least three occasions. It's difficult not to. Beauty is certainly a concept that is key to the ethos of this hotel. It's a surprisingly tranquil place too when you consider its location in the middle of a busy city centre neighbourhood but then that's how courtyard living was designed to be.

Good service seemed a central tenet and Americans will love the charm-school friendliness of the front desk staff who are still genuinely kind and very good at understanding people. The hotel offers a range of services and we were very grateful for reception to book train tickets for us. Staff are fluent English speakers who very knowledgeable about their city and will offer tips, advice and suggestions. The hotel is very family-friendly and parents with young children are welcomed. "The Global Times" is delivered to the mailbox outside each room every morning and all rooms have a computer with internet access. Chocolates were a nice touch but it was the small bags of detergent we were really thankful for.

Breakfast was a hot buffet of Chinese and western favourites with pastries, cakes and fresh fruit (one morning we noticed with delight a guest tucking into an entire half-watermelon and he finished every bit!) in a cosy bright room with colourful oilcloth tablecloths and Enya and her New Age cohort on the stereo. Coffee was good (soya milk available) and breakfast items were constantly replenished as they ran out. Other meals were available in the hotel but the alley it's on offers a great range of good value cafés, restaurants and snack stands. A 10-minute wander north through hutong Beijing brings you out onto Ghost Street with its seemingly endless eating options. If you need a specific item there's a 3-floor Wu Mart supermarket five minutes down the road by Dongsi metro station.

Room Tip: I'd be amazed there were a nicer room than #6 anywhere in the city, never mind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    279
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
244
403
167
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderful hotel in Beijing. I travel often to China on business, primarily to Shanghai, but this trip decided to take a side trip up to Beijing for a few days just to be a tourist. Found the Double Happiness right here on tripadvisor and knew right away it was our kind of place. It is located right smack in the middle of a Hutong, essentially an alley way in central Beijing. Dongsi si tiao to be exact. This is presumably the way that most of Beijing looked in the older days, but much of this living style has been lost to modernity and globalization. Anyway, the hotel was lovely, the room, while a bit small, was decorated in traditional Chinese style furniture, some of which were presumably antiques. The courtyards and hallways were charming and full of beautiful photos and artifacts of old China. Our room was one of the "honeymoon" suites and was quite nice. The bathroom was large and modern and we even had a small terrace outside our room! This was a real treat in China and we were lucky that the weather was as nice as it gets in Beijing in mid September. For the first couple of days the air was even clear. The staff could not have been nicer and were helpful when we needed them, but not in our face (as it sometimes goes in larger more "western" hotels). Granted, this hotel is not for everyone. I would equate it to an urban B&B or Inn here in the states. Breakfast was nice with a good spread of Western and Chinese food. Again, that may not be to everyone's liking, especially if you are looking for American bacon and eggs to start your day. But for us it was perfect. The breakfast room was small and was too crowded one morning, so we took our food back and ate in the lovely courtyard. Very romantic and peaceful. The location is pretty central and not far from the big tourist attractions. Highly recommended by this traveler. But be sure that this is the kind of experience you are looking for in China. If you want to feel like you are a part of life in the city and want to "feel" the life here, then you'll love it. If you want to remain aloof and more pampered, then look for the big chain hotels. For us, it was a wonderful experience and I would stay there again if I make it back to Beijing. A fantastic experience. This is for "travelers".

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suite. The rooms are a bit small given the history of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

There are many positive reviewes of this hotel and I'm writing only to confirm all the good things that have been written. We totally loved this hotell, for it's great location, beautiful interior, friendly and helpful staff... It added so much extra for our Beijing experience and I really hope I will have opportunity to stay there again!
If the people working in The Double Happiness are reading this, I wanted only to say thank you for doing a great job- we loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Located on a long, narrow, busy local street, with all the sights and smells of the real China. The hotel was once a private residence and it retains all the old style charm. The rooms are located around courtyards and our room had a red canopied bed. The staff was so friendly and so helpful. The front desk workers were full of helpful information and so easy to talk with. By the time we left, we felt it was like leaving friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Good points - small room but space used very well, free internet computer in room, shower separate but a bit dark, flat screen TV with quite a few English channels, reception staff spoke very good English. Loved the Chinese decor, very comfortable bed. Loved the courtyard where you could have a drink and not think you were in the middle of a city.
Bad points - some of breakfast dishes a bit cold, but good selection, service slow on evening meal. Asked for pizza last night before going to show, and informed the staff that we only had 35mins, could they get pizza in time, agreed but after 35 mins no sign of pizza so left for show. On return from hotel at 2130, pizza arrived cold and inedible but still expected to pay for it.!
Street outside bit smelly but felt very safe. Cars had a tight squeeze getting down alley.
Caught train from airport to metro station - 25 RMB pp but then had trouble getting taxi to hotel, difficult to find, taxi had to ring hotel for directions. Nearest metro station, 8-10 mins walk was Donsi Station. Excellent Peking duck restaurant about 20 mins walk called Da Dong, duck carved at table by chef and served by waiter.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good from speaking to other guests, full most of the time due to great comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel September 4-7. The room was beautiful with traditional Chinese furniture and modern conveniences of TV and a computer with wi-fi and a modern western bathroom. The rain shower was GREAT. The staff was excellent and spoke good English. The hotel was in a good area, close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden Palace.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have stayed here for one night in honeymoon room. The decoration is very old chinese style. And it's a good place for photo taking.
Location is fair, you can walk to mtr station in 15 mins, and it locates in residents place where lots of small restaurants can be found here.
Breakfast is included with basic western style food and also chinese one. People there are nice and service is good enough in Beijing.
Of course, you can't expect a very stable TV signal here, and also weak shower water is as expected too. But wifi is stable to be used.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#264 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.