We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some of the best Peking duck anywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)

Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)
1-2 Nanxincang Guoji Dasha, 22A Dongsishitiao, Dongcheng district, Beijing 100007, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-51690329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 9,455 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“some of the best Peking duck anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very crowded, very busy restaurant that serves some of the best Peking duck anywhere. Tip: don't gorge on the stuff they bring before the duck because you won't have room! All the food is good, though, so you should sample many items from the extensive menu.

You must make a reservation in advance, or you will have to wait a while as the lines form early. If you have a group, try reserving a room - they have several private rooms available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    328
    115
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice atmosphere. All the dishes we ordered were magnificent. Service was prompt and efficient. Extensive wine list at reasonable cost for China.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, just overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was the duck good? YES was the overall food good? yea. Presentation? yea. They even made a pretty good mojito for being in Beijing. My main fault of this restaurant was its lack of attention to detail. Ive dined across all levels of food joints from michellin stars to street food. And if im paying for a high end meal I expect an experience. The staff hardly came, I got my dessert in between my appetizer and my entree, and the tea I ordered was forgotten. I did appreciate the waitress showing me various ways to eat the duck with the sides, that was fun. Even though the food itself was good, I cant give this restaurant 4 stars based on the level its competing in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service and Quality of the Food is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the best food experience I ever had in a restaurant. Service is excellent and the quality of food is there. Try to order other food other than roast duck and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get your Duck on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We did not have a reservation, and had to wait a while to get a table. That was really the only negative experience with this one.

We were a group of four with one vegetarian. The three meat eaters split a duck and the amount of food was pretty much perfect. The staff accommodated the request for help finding plates for the vegetarian (although I think she'd have to write her own review for her thoughts).

After the server showed us the proper way to eat Beijing Duck we were off to the races and just devoured that thing! It was tasty and although it seemed expensive for China, one day back in Canada really made me appreciate the price. It is expensive for China, but I recommend splurging on this one. it was our second time having Beijing Duck, and this was by far the better experience.

The rest of the food was also very good, as were the cocktails!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang) also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.