We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best duck ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)

Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)
1-2 Nanxincang Guoji Dasha, 22A Dongsishitiao, Dongcheng district, Beijing 100007, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-51690329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 9,467 Restaurants in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best duck ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I liked the duck and I liked the duck. The duck is very, very good. I recommend the duck most highly. Go to the Dadong Roast Duck restaurant in Beijing and eat the duck.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    333
    115
    41
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow, great food, service and environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel as the best in Beijing for duck and it lived up to the recommendation. The menu is extensive with a range of specialist Beijing dishes. The service was very good and the restaurant atmosphere was professional, with its white tablecloths and table side serving areas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"My best meal so far in China"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

That was my wife's comment, and I have to admit the Peking duck was pretty amazing. The menu had a bewildering array of options, although half of them seemed to be unavailable when we asked - but don't let this put you off, as there is still loads to choose from. Strongly recommend the duck speciality for first timers.
Good selection of international wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elegant and Desent Beijing Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The enviroment is elegant, service is good, the duck is the best in Beijing to me. All other food is beautiful as well. Highly recommended. Booking is a must.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place to go in Beijing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. I was taken by a Chinese friend of mine. Since I have been to Beijing three times, I feel like I have a good grasp as to the food offered and Dadong is the best!The thing that really makes Dadong stand out is the quality of the food and the modern feel and dining experience when there. The menu is one of the largest that I have seen and it offers a massive variety of traditional as well as interpretive food the represents the best Chinese cuisine. Definitely try a full variety of courses from soups, apps, mains and deserts. I highly recommend Dadong and I will be going back when I go back to Beijing one day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang) also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck (Nanxincang), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.