We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good, worth visiting more than once” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drum and Gong (Luogu) fusion restaurant

Drum and Gong (Luogu) fusion restaurant
Nan luogu xiang, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)
010-84024729
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 8,771 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Houhai
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great good, worth visiting more than once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here a few times, inside and on the balcony (really nice if the weather is fine). The food is great and there is plenty of choice, the sweet and sour fish and lemon chicken were superb. The serves are generous, not all food turns up at the same time so it is best to share the dishes. The local beer is quite tasty. Highly recomend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
507 helpful votes 507 helpful votes
“Wow what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Whole family enjoyed their meals from an extensive menu with English descriptions.
Food was very tasty, well presented and generous serves. Plenty of options for the daring and those who are not. Reasonable prices all with friendly service.
Recommend. Enjoy.
Happy travels

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good selection and very good taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I was here with my girlfriend for a short dinner. We had some problems to decide what to eat, because they have a huge variety of nice food. Everything we ordered was very tasty. For my next visit to Beijing I will definitely visit there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just had lunch at this place which is located on one of the more interesting and restaurant-lined hutongs in Beijing. Wow. Fabulous food. I ate light and had a shredded vegetable dish (can't remember what it was) that had been marinated in a wonderful tasting sauce. Superb! Also had a bowl of spicy soup filled with black, lacy mushrooms, some small crunchy nut-like things, eggs in the broth, and more that I didn't recognize. Again, it was fabulous. And huge - easily enough for 2-3 people. It soup cost the equivalent of $3. The vegetable dish cost less. If I were staying longer in Beijing, I'd return time and again to sample more of their dishes. Oh, also had a very nice pot of jasmine tea for about one and a half dollars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice little spot in Hutongs. Local cuisine and well priced. If the weather is nice, try to sit on the rooftop patio.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drum and Gong (Luogu) fusion restaurant also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Drum and Gong (Luogu) fusion restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drum and Gong (Luogu) fusion restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.