We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of nostalgia in perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qianmen Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Qianmen Hostel to your Saves list
Qianmen Hostel
No.33 Meishijie, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China (Chongwenmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 672 Beijing B&B and Inns
yangshuo, guangxi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Piece of nostalgia in perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The end of February we stayed for several nights in this hostel, perfectly located just south of Tiananmensquare, closeby to some unrenovated beautiful hutongs.
The staff and owners were excellent and very helpfull and their child was adorable.
We hope they can manage to renovate the old courtyard-houses. They are beautiful.
Good breakfast as well!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard-room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
26
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

-located near many hot tourist spot, this hostel offer few types of rooms, include dorms and single rooms and double with or without bathroom attach, start from 60RMB per pax (for dorm four in 1)

-walking distance to Tiananmen, National Museum, Forbidden city, Jingshan Park, and walking street DA-SHA LAR, it had excellent location, with QIANMEN subway station and also local bus stop infront of it.

-counter staffs are helpful.

-free wifi

-the only things is drinking hot water supply (really important in winter) maybe can be improved--they put in themor, and the water finish very fast, than you must wait second day morning seven something to refill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Comfy and everything you need is there. Nice hot showers! Some of the staff are extremely helpful. Location is good. It seemed slightly lacking in atmosphere when I was there, but I wasn't there for very long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in one of the dorm rooms during a short weekend visit to Beijing.

The hostel is greatly located for sights in the centre - especially Tienanmen Square and onto Forbidden Palace.

The metro station is less than 10 minutes walk away, giving you connection to the rest of the city. There are quite a few snack places/shops along the street and [for those who want it] McDonalds is just across the road.

The rooms are organised around a courtyard, which is very nice and has a lot of character, but it means a long track down the stairs and around to get to the showers/toilets.

There was wifi in the reception area [and some PCs], but none in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent 4 nights here during the middle of Oct 2012. First night was in a private room with no bathroom (i.e. had to use shared bathroom), other nights was in a private room with dedicated bathroom.

Hostel rooms are basic, but completely liveable, especially the one with a private bathroom. Having to go outside through a courtyard to get to the toilet/ bathroom on a cold autumn's morning/night is probably a tiny step too far when the room itself is already pretty basic. But the private bathroom ones were not only much more convenient, but the room was much better, with solid walls (as opposed to the wooden ones).

The location of the hostel is good in terms of it being near a very central underground station, and its also an easy walk to Tienamen square and also to the Temple Of Heaven. Crucially it is also not far from the fantastic Li Qun duck restaurant. The immediate area is a little shabby but also, it has remnants of an old hutong so has a good level of charm too. Didn't ever feel unsafe or threatened in any way.

The best part of the hostel is the staff. Extremely helpful in terms of trying to make sure you're comfortable at the hostel, and invaluable for local advice on how to get to places. On the morning we left (at 5am) for the airport, whilst in the taxi that had been pre-arranged by the hostel, the member of staff called up the taxi driver to ask to speak to me - he wanted to double double check which terminal I was flying from so as to make sure the taxi driver took me to the right place! This kind of attention to detail, and concern even after I had left the hostel, typified the level of helpfulness that I experienced here.

All in all I would recommend to friends, but so long as you are happy that this is a basic hostel in a historic building and area, and hence, you need to be willing to put up with a little bit of shabbyness, but nothing too bad.

Room Tip: Go for the private room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location of this hostel is quite convenient, nearly at the center of Beijing and a short walk from a metro (subway) station. Many of the top sights are within walking distance. My friend and I stayed in one of the private rooms without an ensuite bath, so we shared the common bath facilities. The room was dingy, and the bed was very uncomfortable. The box spring did not have much padding, so the metal wires poked me in the ribs. The entire hostel was a bit grungy and rundown. Paint is peeling and the rooms and common areas could be cleaner. The staff were not unpleasant but also not especially friendly or welcoming. I didn't see much interaction among guests. For that matter, I didn't see many guests. It could be that our early hours were different from those of most guests. But I missed that interaction, which is one of the attractions of a hostel. While the room was not great, the price was very affordable, cheaper than other hutong hostels. So if budget is your top priority, this might be the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location close to Tiananmen Square and the metro and surrounded by interesting hutong. Very helpful staff with varying levels of English - they helped us with booking flight tickets and provided advice on places to see and eat. They have a nice courtyard to sit and get talking to other travellers. They have 3 PC's with free internet. The Wi-Fi works ok at the bar and reception but was non existent in our room. The double room was very average but if you are used to hostels then it will suit you fine. The bathroom as others have said had a glass panel which was only partly frosted so you need to be comfortable with whoever you are sharing with. The bathroom was quite grimey looking but towels were provided. Overall I would recommend as the staff were good, the place had a nice atmosphere and the communal area was nice to meet other travelers, and its in a great location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qianmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qianmen Hostel

Address: No.33 Meishijie, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Qianmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qianmen Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qianmen Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.