We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China (Tian'anmen/Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Moore, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in the center of town, near the main mall and subway station. The area around the hotel was very well lit up with light. The check in process was easy and the staff spoke great English. They had maps in English that had Chinese as well, to help with asking questions. The beds were rock hard and small. The pillows were flat and towels were little. The room worked because it was a place to sleep while touring all day. The breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    305
    123
    21
    16
See reviews for
87
162
80
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago, and the location is fantastic.

Taxi drivers will find it difficult to find the hotel itself, best to have it in chinese and english and some reference points.

In the side streets on the way to forbidden city, there were some street stalls which were clean, and the dumplings that we tried were delicious... Im pretty careful with street food, but these were tasty and clean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here in July during a summer vacation visit to Beijing.

The hotel is very near the Forbidden city so it is VERY CROWDED in this part of town. Oversized busses, gaggleing tour groups and arguing families up to my armpits!

The hotel was an easy walk from Wangfujing subway station but Tiananmen East would have been just as close. The sign isn't obvious but I found it soon enough. A taxi would have know it was there I guess.

Checkin was the usual inefficient routine... got your passport... answer a question from someone else... answer the phone... talk to another person... pick up my passport... put it down... go back to the earlier customer waiting to check out... chaotic! For the price, I have to say I was a bit disappointed with my room... it was a 'basement' room, which meant windows up at the ceiling level, but I guess I should be grateful for even that. There is a restaurant but why eat there when there are plenty of better options nearby and their staff seemed more welcoming anyway.

Nothing really bad, but I guess I was just hoping for more. The room was clean enough... renovated in living memory. I guess the buildings themselves were relatively new for this ancient part of town. Bottled water was supplied as was tea and instant coffee sachets. Towels and bed lined a bit shabby and the room a bit damp in a hot an steamy Beijing Summer. Bed is the usual hard board type quite typical for China.

Overall, it was a room with a roof and four walls but little more. Perhaps the chain owners need to visit these properties more frequently.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 week (6 nights) in this hotel.

We did some research and opted this hotel mainly because of it's strategic location which is just in between Wangfujing street (for all the shopping, food, snacks) and Tian'anmen Square which has various museums and the forbidden city.

There are also 2 subway stations 1 in Wangfujing and Tian'anmen respectively + a bus stop in front of the hotel so it is quite convenient.

Rooms were clean and well air conditioned. The room space however was not that huge but good enough for us.

They have 2 type of rooms, normal and economical with the latter being located on the ground floor and has an obstructed window (only half) thus do always opt for the normal/deluxe room which is located on higher floors (the hotel has only 3 floors).

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the other reviews written here. Hotel is dated but staff is good and breakfast buffet better than most. You can't beat the location! Ask for a room on the third floor of building 1 and make sure the AC works if you are there in summer or early fall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for the first four nights of our three week holiday. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is a standard days inn really. The rooms are very small and there is hardly any storage space but they were clean and well air conditioned. The location is superb. Five mins to Tienanmen square and the forbidden city. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast had a good range of western and Chinese options and was kept well stocked.
Overall nothing amazing but does exactly what it says on the tin. Would recommend as a mid range option and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great. It is close to the forbidden city and has good access to the subway to get around the city. The room is generally clean and it looks like the bedding is cleaned on a daily basis. Nevertheless this does not necessarily mean it was clean since one night there was a shoe print visible on one of the pillows.
When it comes to service, there is still a bit of room for improvement even for a budget hotel. For example on two occasions I went to see the reception since I was not able to access the internet, and all I was told was "go back to your room and try agin". After two nights I just let it be. Another example was at the end of my stay, when I mentioned that I would take the subway to the airport, the receptionist gave me a map and explained where the subway station was.. This might have been more convenient upon arrival. Overal it was a reasonable hotel for a budget price.

Where the hotel might fall a bit short, the tourist center in the Wanfujing street was very helpful explaining how to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel
Days Inn Forbidden City
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn
Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen/Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.