We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark but cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing to your Saves list
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dark but cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here in July during a summer vacation visit to Beijing.

The hotel is very near the Forbidden city so it is VERY CROWDED in this part of town. Oversized busses, gaggleing tour groups and arguing families up to my armpits!

The hotel was an easy walk from Wangfujing subway station but Tiananmen East would have been just as close. The sign isn't obvious but I found it soon enough. A taxi would have know it was there I guess.

Checkin was the usual inefficient routine... got your passport... answer a question from someone else... answer the phone... talk to another person... pick up my passport... put it down... go back to the earlier customer waiting to check out... chaotic! For the price, I have to say I was a bit disappointed with my room... it was a 'basement' room, which meant windows up at the ceiling level, but I guess I should be grateful for even that. There is a restaurant but why eat there when there are plenty of better options nearby and their staff seemed more welcoming anyway.

Nothing really bad, but I guess I was just hoping for more. The room was clean enough... renovated in living memory. I guess the buildings themselves were relatively new for this ancient part of town. Bottled water was supplied as was tea and instant coffee sachets. Towels and bed lined a bit shabby and the room a bit damp in a hot an steamy Beijing Summer. Bed is the usual hard board type quite typical for China.

Overall, it was a room with a roof and four walls but little more. Perhaps the chain owners need to visit these properties more frequently.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 week (6 nights) in this hotel.

We did some research and opted this hotel mainly because of it's strategic location which is just in between Wangfujing street (for all the shopping, food, snacks) and Tian'anmen Square which has various museums and the forbidden city.

There are also 2 subway stations 1 in Wangfujing and Tian'anmen respectively + a bus stop in front of the hotel so it is quite convenient.

Rooms were clean and well air conditioned. The room space however was not that huge but good enough for us.

They have 2 type of rooms, normal and economical with the latter being located on the ground floor and has an obstructed window (only half) thus do always opt for the normal/deluxe room which is located on higher floors (the hotel has only 3 floors).

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the other reviews written here. Hotel is dated but staff is good and breakfast buffet better than most. You can't beat the location! Ask for a room on the third floor of building 1 and make sure the AC works if you are there in summer or early fall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank NSmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for the first four nights of our three week holiday. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is a standard days inn really. The rooms are very small and there is hardly any storage space but they were clean and well air conditioned. The location is superb. Five mins to Tienanmen square and the forbidden city. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast had a good range of western and Chinese options and was kept well stocked.
Overall nothing amazing but does exactly what it says on the tin. Would recommend as a mid range option and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great. It is close to the forbidden city and has good access to the subway to get around the city. The room is generally clean and it looks like the bedding is cleaned on a daily basis. Nevertheless this does not necessarily mean it was clean since one night there was a shoe print visible on one of the pillows.
When it comes to service, there is still a bit of room for improvement even for a budget hotel. For example on two occasions I went to see the reception since I was not able to access the internet, and all I was told was "go back to your room and try agin". After two nights I just let it be. Another example was at the end of my stay, when I mentioned that I would take the subway to the airport, the receptionist gave me a map and explained where the subway station was.. This might have been more convenient upon arrival. Overal it was a reasonable hotel for a budget price.

Where the hotel might fall a bit short, the tourist center in the Wanfujing street was very helpful explaining how to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-GENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This won't be the most luxurious hotel you stay in, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a deluxe room (e.g not in the basement) in the other block. We were given a different room which smelt of cigarets, but they were happy to give us another room. Te location is amazing, the closest hotel to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The metro is about 10-15 mins walk. We ate breakfast in the Orient Plaza shopping centre, which has a good food court.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankyadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel may not be the best, but for the price it is great. The location cannot be better, close to Forbidden city, subway and Wanfuging street. The breakfast was also the best we had in China. We got two twin beds which put together make a big bed enough for us and our toddler. Strangely, the reception did not know what a baby cot was, so we just slept with the baby. Their English it not that great. Also, cleaning could be improved.
Lots of illegal taxis in front of the hotel, just go around the corner and get one with meter. They allowed us to have a late checkout which was great. I will definitely recommend the hotel if you don’t want to spend big bucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#93 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#91 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#9 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing