We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Basic hotel with essential necessities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing to your Saves list
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 600 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Basic hotel with essential necessities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 week (6 nights) in this hotel.

We did some research and opted this hotel mainly because of it's strategic location which is just in between Wangfujing street (for all the shopping, food, snacks) and Tian'anmen Square which has various museums and the forbidden city.

There are also 2 subway stations 1 in Wangfujing and Tian'anmen respectively + a bus stop in front of the hotel so it is quite convenient.

Rooms were clean and well air conditioned. The room space however was not that huge but good enough for us.

They have 2 type of rooms, normal and economical with the latter being located on the ground floor and has an obstructed window (only half) thus do always opt for the normal/deluxe room which is located on higher floors (the hotel has only 3 floors).

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    322
    136
    28
    21
See reviews for
100
183
85
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the other reviews written here. Hotel is dated but staff is good and breakfast buffet better than most. You can't beat the location! Ask for a room on the third floor of building 1 and make sure the AC works if you are there in summer or early fall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for the first four nights of our three week holiday. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is a standard days inn really. The rooms are very small and there is hardly any storage space but they were clean and well air conditioned. The location is superb. Five mins to Tienanmen square and the forbidden city. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast had a good range of western and Chinese options and was kept well stocked.
Overall nothing amazing but does exactly what it says on the tin. Would recommend as a mid range option and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great. It is close to the forbidden city and has good access to the subway to get around the city. The room is generally clean and it looks like the bedding is cleaned on a daily basis. Nevertheless this does not necessarily mean it was clean since one night there was a shoe print visible on one of the pillows.
When it comes to service, there is still a bit of room for improvement even for a budget hotel. For example on two occasions I went to see the reception since I was not able to access the internet, and all I was told was "go back to your room and try agin". After two nights I just let it be. Another example was at the end of my stay, when I mentioned that I would take the subway to the airport, the receptionist gave me a map and explained where the subway station was.. This might have been more convenient upon arrival. Overal it was a reasonable hotel for a budget price.

Where the hotel might fall a bit short, the tourist center in the Wanfujing street was very helpful explaining how to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This won't be the most luxurious hotel you stay in, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a deluxe room (e.g not in the basement) in the other block. We were given a different room which smelt of cigarets, but they were happy to give us another room. Te location is amazing, the closest hotel to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The metro is about 10-15 mins walk. We ate breakfast in the Orient Plaza shopping centre, which has a good food court.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel may not be the best, but for the price it is great. The location cannot be better, close to Forbidden city, subway and Wanfuging street. The breakfast was also the best we had in China. We got two twin beds which put together make a big bed enough for us and our toddler. Strangely, the reception did not know what a baby cot was, so we just slept with the baby. Their English it not that great. Also, cleaning could be improved.
Lots of illegal taxis in front of the hotel, just go around the corner and get one with meter. They allowed us to have a late checkout which was great. I will definitely recommend the hotel if you don’t want to spend big bucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very convenient location. Near to subway. Walkable distance to forbidden city. Very cooperative staff. They allowed us for earlier Checkin at 9am without extra charge. We booked Great Wall tour from private guid Lu Lu who met us at forbidden city. The tour was cheap but comprehensive. Just u need to spend extra time with window shopping and get good deal in return.
Experienced silk shop, foot massage , pearl shop .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.