We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If a place to sleep is what you are looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing to your Saves list
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If a place to sleep is what you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great. It is close to the forbidden city and has good access to the subway to get around the city. The room is generally clean and it looks like the bedding is cleaned on a daily basis. Nevertheless this does not necessarily mean it was clean since one night there was a shoe print visible on one of the pillows.
When it comes to service, there is still a bit of room for improvement even for a budget hotel. For example on two occasions I went to see the reception since I was not able to access the internet, and all I was told was "go back to your room and try agin". After two nights I just let it be. Another example was at the end of my stay, when I mentioned that I would take the subway to the airport, the receptionist gave me a map and explained where the subway station was.. This might have been more convenient upon arrival. Overal it was a reasonable hotel for a budget price.

Where the hotel might fall a bit short, the tourist center in the Wanfujing street was very helpful explaining how to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    342
    146
    29
    22
See reviews for
107
194
89
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This won't be the most luxurious hotel you stay in, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a deluxe room (e.g not in the basement) in the other block. We were given a different room which smelt of cigarets, but they were happy to give us another room. Te location is amazing, the closest hotel to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The metro is about 10-15 mins walk. We ate breakfast in the Orient Plaza shopping centre, which has a good food court.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel may not be the best, but for the price it is great. The location cannot be better, close to Forbidden city, subway and Wanfuging street. The breakfast was also the best we had in China. We got two twin beds which put together make a big bed enough for us and our toddler. Strangely, the reception did not know what a baby cot was, so we just slept with the baby. Their English it not that great. Also, cleaning could be improved.
Lots of illegal taxis in front of the hotel, just go around the corner and get one with meter. They allowed us to have a late checkout which was great. I will definitely recommend the hotel if you don’t want to spend big bucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very convenient location. Near to subway. Walkable distance to forbidden city. Very cooperative staff. They allowed us for earlier Checkin at 9am without extra charge. We booked Great Wall tour from private guid Lu Lu who met us at forbidden city. The tour was cheap but comprehensive. Just u need to spend extra time with window shopping and get good deal in return.
Experienced silk shop, foot massage , pearl shop .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location was great ( thumbs up), but the mattress was terrible it springs was poke my back. (only my room , 4 rooms booked )
Security was good as the entrance door of the building where we stayed have a key card access rather then open to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After 2 distressing days in Beijing, (accomodation that is) we were finally refered to this hotel. What a pleasant surprise. Its central, staff is english speaking, very pleasant and were extremely helpful. It may not be the best hotel but its clean, international standards, rooms are comfortable nd everything works. Overall a very pleasant stay. Food was not to our tastes, so opted for places that are internationally known.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room if available. Although, they alk very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The convenience has been detailed in other reviews - the nearness to both Wangfujing and the Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square is hard to beat. But I really want to highlight the excellent service too. I arrived at the hotel about 930am and was duly checked in in about five-ten min when many other hotels at this price level would probably have only given me a room after 2pm. Rooms were really well appointed too considering the price. Check out was also as efficient and polite too. Hair dryer, three electricity recharge points right at the desk (no fumbling around the walls and unplugging other appliances), strong free wifi in the rooms, two doors to the bathroom are all perks. An additional tip - a great place for health massages (the proper kind of course) just a few minutes left at 60 Nanheyan St called Yiruntang (www.yiruntang.com). Open from 10am to 1.30am and great for soothing those post-Great Wall hikes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#182 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#99 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Chongwenmen
Pentahotel Beijing
Pentahotel Beijing
#88 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#144 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.