We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing to your Saves list
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location & great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were a family of 6, including 2 elderly people, visiting Beijing early October.
We chose this hotel for our 5 nights stay because it was located so close to Forbidden City and Wangfujing and also because most of the reviews were very favourable.
We were not disappointed. Our deluxe rooms were on the 2nd floor and accessible by elevator or stairs. The rooms were clean, tidy and provided a few travellers needs (tea/coffee making, comb, toothbrush etc). The beds were firm but comfortable; good TV reception and more than one english channel; the AC and internet both worked well. The bathroom tiles could do with re-grouting, but otherwise it was clean and more than adequate. The water pressure for the shower was pretty good and we never ran out of hot water.
None of us heard any construction noises when we were staying at this hotel - in fact we all thought it was a very quiet place.
Most of the reception staff spoke english, and some spoke excellent english. Laura was particularly helpful - offering suggestions, phoning for taxis, writing place names and instructions in chinese characters. They even booked our train tickets to Tianjin port on the high speed train. The hotel charged a nominal booking fee (RMB20 per ticket) and the tickets were delivered about 4 hours later!
The breakfast was excellent when you consider that this was not a 4star hotel. There was a choice of asian food as well as cereals, fruit, cold meats and salads, bread/toast, bacon, eggs (any style), baked beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, breakfast sausages, and the list goes on!
It is a pleasant walk from the hotel to either Tianamen Square or Forbidden City and Wangfujing (pedestrian) shopping Street and a Quan Je Du restaurant (Peking Duck) are only minutes away. There is also the night market just 5 mins walk away where you can discover all manner of fresh and cooked foods - look out for the centipedes!
There is a small restaurant just opposite the hotel lobby and we had 2 evening meals here. The food was not expensive and tasted pretty good.
We were very happy with our stay at the Days Inn Forbidden City and would recommend it to anyone wanting an inexpensive hotel close to many of the main attractions in Beijing.

Room Tip: Book a "deluxe" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    319
    132
    27
    19
See reviews for
98
179
85
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location is good. Go to tian'anmen east subway station, take the northeast exit, and turn left on the second road you reach. Western-style food is available at oriental plaza mall 10minutes walk east from the hotel.

My room was spotless and bed was comfy. It was quite cold (like the rest of Beijing in November!). The staff could speak basic English only. Ordering food and arranging a tour was fine but anything more complicated would have been difficult.

It takes rather a long time to check out. This is common in china but especially here - they visit your room, check the mini bar and so on before you get your 500yuan deposit back. Make sure to leave extra time to catch your flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

For what I paid it was fine. I got upgraded to a suite because they were renovating...loudly...outside my room!!! Rooms were big, King sized bed big but very hard. Unexpectedly lovely bathroom with rain shower and bath. It was 1km walk to the entrance of the Forbidden City and TianAmMen sq. Also the subway about 800m.
The receptionists were mostly awful - rude and no english. Impossible to get a cab from here.....which was a real pain. Nothing really nearby apart from couple of grotty minimarts and a noodle bar. Didn't feel great as a solo female traveler, and wish I had spent a bit more money to stay somewhere else - novotel for instance.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love the location of this hotel. If you take a right you have a ten minute walk to Tietiananmen square, the Forbidden City, and Tietiananmen East Metro station. If you take a left you have a twenty minute walk to Donghuamen Night Market. Wangfujing street is the very next block.

The hotel itself is quite nice also, a little better than Days Inn by US standards. I had a basement room and it was a decent size, it was always very clean and it had a safe. The staff on all shifts spoke pretty good English and were always helpfull. They even booked my bullet train ticket to Shanghai. The wifi was a bit touch and go at first, but I eventully got it working fairly well in my room. There is an extensive construction project going on in the area of the hotel and construction is going on 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Inside my basement room noise was very minimal and I was never disturbed. There area a few rooms in the hotel I could see noise being a problem however.

All in all this is a great place to stay in Beijing, especially for someone who has never been to the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oahu
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012. Location was excellent for this hotel, as it's a 10-15 minute walk to the Forbidden city & Tiananmen square. Just remember that when you enter the forbidden city, you will enter close to the hotel, and exit out the other side, which took us an hour to walk back. It was cheap too. We'd printed directions and address in Chineese, but cab driver did have little hard time finding it, but he was able to call when we gave him the number, and no problems after that, so have that info on hand before you go.

Cab from the airport was aprox $120 Yuan (tolls and bad traffic), and about $100 Yuan back to airport (tolls and decent traffic). Just pay for the cab when you get in, because you're not going to save much with the subway, and they are nasty and crowded anyway.

Staff was friendly and helpful to us for anything we needed. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, so we went to the restaurant to eat. (Food was mediocre, but they brought us our key to the restaurant which was nice.

Room was clean and nice, we had plenty of anemities like a safe and kettle in the room. Bed was hard, but had heat and AC to use at our discretion, plus several english tv channels like CNN and HBO. Bathroom was nice, with some rough edges like chipped tile in shower and some rust, but nothing that grossed me out. Shower was roomy with a rain-head shower and handheld, plus unlimited hot water too.

We also used the concierge to book the great wall tour, which turned out good. We booked "Tour C" which included the Ming Tomb Sacred Way walk, and the Great Wall for 2 hours at Muytang (spelling?) location. ($350 Yuan p/p) I will say it was worth having a reputable english speaking guide and bus driver in Beijing, and I would recommend anyone book their tour through the hotel, because there are soooo many scammers in Beijing. Downside to the tour was the fact we stopped at the "Jade Museum" where they hawked crap at us for an hour, then we were escorted in to a cafeteria there for our included lunch, which was just lukewarm crappy 'chineese' food. The great wall was excellent, and I'm glad we chose to go to the less crowded (but further) location of Muytang (sp?). Just bear in mind, you will have to pay an extra $80 Yuan p/p for the ski-lift to the top as it's not included. Otherwise it's a 40 min each way hike up the mountain, which gives you no time at the wall. But the good thing is you can take the lift down, or choose to do a really cool and fun toboggon ride instead. We had a blast. Also, we were able to see several towers, and get to a part of the wall that is unfinished yet.
Downside to this tour is the "Jade Museum", and after the wall, they stop at a "Silk Museum" for another 90 minutes, then a 40 minute ride home back to the hotels because of traffic. So our tour went for over 12 hours.. yuck! Bring snacks for the day. Some just chose to hail a cab from the silk museum and skip it, we wish we had.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you have heavy luggage, try to get a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My father and I stayed at Days Inn, Forbidden City for 5 nights. The location is great, as you are a short walk (20 minutes) to Tian'amen Square, Forbidden City and the subway line (Tian'amen East Station). In the opposite direction, you can access the pedestian only shopping street, Wufujing Street, which was also interesting.
Breakfast was included in our hotel price, which was good, because finding breakfast type food outside of the hotel would be very challenging. There was a huge selection of both Chinese and Western type choices, including an omelette station, fresh fruit and toast.
The room was basic and the hotel does need a little refreshing, but overall, we have no complaints. The room was clean and very quiet, plus there is a free safe in your room, so we were very pleased overall.
The front staff speak limited English, but were as helpful as needed and was not a barrier at all. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Choose this hotel as it was in walking distance of The Forbidden city and Tiananmen Square, and also close to a subway station.
Booked a deluxe Double Room which was O.K. but not up to Western standards for a "Deluxe room". Be aware though that the cheaper budget rooms, are located in a basement, and may not contain a window. The buffet breakfast is well worth taking, with a choice of western and Chinese dishes.
All in all it's a clean budget hotel in an ideal location for a stay of 2/3 nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Budget Rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.