We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luxury hotel in Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Wanda Beijing to your Saves list
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.93 Jianguo Road, Tower C Wanda Plaza, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 5,417 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good luxury hotel in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel twice while on business in Beijing.

The quality of the decoration, the size of the rooms and the relatively reasonable room rate (compared to other big city luxury hotels in Asia) are very positive aspects. There is a good choice of quality restaurants in the hotel. I tried the room service menu on one occassion, it was a bit on the pricey side for China but the quality of what I had was good.

The king size bed in my room was very comfortable and the pillow menu that the hotel offers is a pleasant surprise and nice touch. They have all kind of pillows on offer if you do not like the very soft type that the rooms are equiped with. I choose a special type that is partially made of green tea leaves, there are lot's more to choose from on the menu and I'll give another type a shot next time I stay at the hotel.

Tiananmen square and the Forbidden City are a short taxi ride away (depending on traffic) and there is quality shopping in the area. Given this, I believe the hotel is a well located in regards to sightseeing and shopping also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sito_Journey,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
Glad to see you enjoyed our facilities and had a good time in Beijing.
I will share your recognition with all our staff which will surely serve as an encouragement.
Looking forward to your next stay and have a nice week ahead!
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    363
    77
    24
    18
See reviews for
71
178
71
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If to use a five star hotel standard to rate this hotel, Sofitel is again a disappointment.

- inefficient front desk staff: we arrived in groups however only two front desk staff handling the whole group (around 8 guests waiting) they did not acknowledge you. weren't us transparent?

- reluctant concierge: wanted to book a taxi from outside of Sofitel to the airport. Concierge immediately say no. But I know there is an Apple App in Beijing to book taxi. I need to ask for a several times before they can use iPad to book for me.

- breakfast choice: very limited. Thet even use concentrete juice!

- mosquitoes in room: you know what O meant. How can you sleep at night with mosquito siren all night.

Overall, this hotel is quite aged. There are many empty boxes in your room without putting things inside. If you want to look for a particular thing it will take you sometime to look at each box.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear True_Hotelier,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
I apologize that we brought you such an unhappy experience. Please rest assured that I have already shared your feedback with related department heads for their improvement and follow up.
Hope you could give us another chance to serve you better in the future.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice hotel decoration, and excellent breakfast. Rooms are lovely, but the toiletry has been downgraded. Hard to get taxi from the hotel, and could not see the Door staff managed well. Did not get friendly departure, and felt the staff did not care.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better rooms. Defintely non-smoking rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Amy R,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor.
Sorry that we gave you the impression of lacking care. Actually our goal is to serve our guests from the heart and make our guests feel like home.
Besides I am glad to see you like our decoration, rooms and breakfast. Please rest assured that I have already shared all your feedback with related department heads for their follow up and improvement.
Thank you for your kind notice.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skåne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A luxury hotel with a cozy atmosphere. Staff that really seamed to care, and you felt that many of the local junior managers really where up and coming hotel folks with high ambitions. They have a great guy at the airport with a good sense of humour!
Some local staff lacked in english, but then this is China...
Classic hotel design that makes you forget that you are in what is essentially yet another grey Beijing building. But once inside you could be in any of the classic hotels in the world. Not over-done, but classic warm luxury. I wonder why not more hotels chose this way - so called design hotels feel out dated in a few years, and need to be redecorated at high costs.
Good breakfast buffet, but missed out on some essentials like müssli... ?? Also coffee needs a boost...
French restaurant is worth its own review! Astonishing meal! A must try!

Room Tip: Executive floor rooms are great value! Super service by staff in executive lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Z-brox,
Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor.
Glad to see that you like our decoration and design. We would like to provide our guests with a feel of luxury and a sense of French Elegance. With the warm lightings and color, we hope our guests can still feel like home after a long day trip.
Hope we can have you stay with us again in the future.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a well located hotel close to the subway and shops. Staff are friendly and well trained. Excellent concierge service. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of dishes. The rooms are spacious and neat. Bathroom is modern with thick, luxurious towels

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Diasepam,
Glad to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
I will share your recognition with all our Sofitel Ambassadors which I am sure will serve as a great encouragement for them.
Looking forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Selected this hotel because of the rating on this site.... was there w/ my colleague for business trip last week for few days, and the hotel was not as expected. It's kinda over-rated. The location is not bad, yet the room itself is quite out-dated. Strongly believe it was once a 5-star-hotel, but not anymore. There were stains on the towels.... the carpet was not particular clean.... bed was okie, but the pillows were too soft. Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear mfu0403,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the facilities issue, please rest assured that I have already shared your feedback with related department heads for their follow up and improvement.
Hope you could give us another change to serve you better in the future.
Best regards and have a nice week ahead!
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Address: No.93 Jianguo Road, Tower C Wanda Plaza, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#39 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#43 Family Hotel in Beijing
#327 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Wanda Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.