We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tier throughout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Wanda Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.93 Jianguo Road, Tower C Wanda Plaza, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Top tier throughout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent just one weekend night at this hotel, but its elegant charm and high quality service were immediately evident. The spacious room had numerous upscale amenities, and it was a pleasant surprise to note that the reasonable weekend rate included Internet and breakfast-- not at all typical of similar five-star hotels. We enjoyed the impressive range of breakfast choices. The hotel has a nice fitness area that we did not use (because were too tired from touring the city). The building is modern and we stopped to admire numerous features that make this hotel a great destination for the weary traveler. And of course, the service was excellent. We would love to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    348
    71
    22
    16
See reviews for
65
168
67
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Luis - Brazil
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Awesome! It is a really special hotel, from the decoration at the entrance to the small details of the bathroom. The shower is separated from bathtub. A TV Screen is provided by the bathtub. Comfy bed. Great views of Beijing. It is located in a nice part of town, despite being a little far from the main attractions. But taxis are plentiful and cheap, and there's also a metro station 05 minutes walk away. Staff is very well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Wanted a cup of black tea, the first night I stayed there. There was only green and jasmine tea in my room (all other hotels I stayed in, have black tea), so I called room service, and asked for 2 bags of black tea. They then brought be 2 bags of coffee, And I told them "No I want black tea". 30 minutes later they brought be green tea and Jasmine tea, and I told them "No I want black tea". 30 Minutes later they brought me a tray with cookies and , yes 2 bags of black tea, and the person wanted me to sign a 70 RMB room service bill, which I of cause refused, and took the 2 tea bags. I don't want to pay 70 RMB for 2 tea bags.
When checking out, there was added a lunch bill to my room of 1300 RMB, which I refused to pay.

Appearently someone found out my name and room number, and used that to pay his lunch. I guess it musy be some from the hotel staff!!!!!

My name was spelled completely wrong.

I will ask my company to delete this hotel from our hotel list, as this was a really bad experience, and nobody should ever try the same in such an expensive hotel.

Please stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The staff here are a bit up themselves. Some of them were great but others thought they were God’s gift. We had a few run-ins with some of them when they seem to have forgotten who was guest and who was servant – or should we say host. Some of the high-echelon service/hospo workers in China certainly seem to have taken a shine to looking down their noses at guests in much the same way as Western amateurs have suffered from doing over the years - when will they learn that the best service is always humble service? The rooms were very nicely appointed mind you.

Beijing itself is a nightmare to get around in - there's no proper city "centre". Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The room we stayed in was not as clean as I would have liked, there was something sticky on the floor in the bathroom the day we checked in and it was still there when we checked out a week later. The same with something splattered all over the loo roll holder. The walls in the bedroom too had stains on them and the room was dusty and the mirror in the bedroom was splattered. The bed was really comfortable, there was not a great deal of storage for a weeks clothes and the drawers were dusty. Although that all sounds negative the room was generally clean ie the bathroom and the surfaces but lacking from an attention to detail. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff lovely, helpful and very friendly. We had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed at the Sofitel Wanda 1st - 8th April on business with a bit of pleasure thrown in. The location is approx 5 miles East of Tiananmen square along one large, busy, 10 lane straight road. It is in what you might call the business district although there are designer shops and restaurants near by. You are 20 minutes walk from Beijing's busiest store-The Silk Market. This is a 7-story mega store / market brimming with hugely eager stall holders. Some hated it this place. I found it fantastic. FULL ON but fantastic. You can buy anything! Genuine, fake (mostly fake!) food, suits etc etc...The fake stuff ranges from OK to truly indistinguishable from the genuine article. You can even by fake I-pads for £50.00!! Don't e-mail me if you do and it doesn't work although the full demo demonstarted that it did everything an I-Pad did. Anyway...the hotel. LARGE, GRAND, great food, top quality rooms a match for anywhere in the World. Floor to ceiling windows, great air con, glass-walled bathrooms, faultless wi-fi, plasma in room and bathroom (hidden behind a mirror at the end of the bath) Any notion you had about China being 2nd / 3rd world should be banished. This is Hong Kong with better service. On the service...very eager, lots of staff, very polite....but a bit inefficient. BUT the sheer effort wins you over. The staff are frindly and keen to help. Reception was vast and airy and all restaurants served a wide-range of tasty food, traditional and international. I was won over by Beijing and this hotel. The city is collosal. So much so that it can be bewildering and you couldn't hire a car even if you wanted to. You wouldn't want to!! There are hotels nearer to the 'action' (what little there is to see. bars and restaurants are plentiful but not obvious) and the sights but on balance this is a great place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Address: No.93 Jianguo Road, Tower C Wanda Plaza, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#279 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Wanda Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.