We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cote Cour Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 187 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This Hutong hotel constituted a very pleasant surprise during our stay in Beijing. It's well located in town and reasonably priced. But most commendable for the amazingly friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend the place highly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qi Y, Guest relations officer at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comments and for mentioning our staff members. We are trying our best to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and rewarding time at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing. We hope you will stay with us again when you visit Beijing next time

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    47
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
91
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

SHOCK, HORROR. Smiling, friendly hotel staff in China. No need to blink or rub your eyes because it's true. Such a change from the usual miserable front office staff in big hotels who deploy only functionality and have no charm, communication or welcoming skills. This hotel, tucked away in a tiny side street, goes against the usual Chinese grain. As a boutique hotel you would expect some quirkiness - and this place has loads. Breakfast is a little repetitive, so the challenge is to tell the chef directly what you want otherwise it will be yoghurt, fried eggs, bacon and some Chinese dumpling every day. Bedrooms are comfortable, but small - so no cat swinging permissible.
This hotel delivers a truly refreshing change to so many others in China because the staff make an effort and are not driven only by process, process, process.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qi Y, Guest relations officer at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very glad to know that you were satisfied with our front desk service. We feel sorry that you were a little disappointed about the limited variety in breakfast we provided and the size of our standard bedrooms. We have tried to make a diverse selection of food. Though there are still a lot of things that we need to improve.

It is a pity that we could not do too much about the small size of standard bedrooms. However, we would recommend you to try our deluxe rooms or suites if you would like to stay with us again in the future. The room size will be much bigger. Thank you again for your valuable opinions. We will continue our efforts to improve the quality of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had been staying on business in Beijing at a large international hotel which was wonderful but I could really have been anywhere in the world.
For the holiday part of my trip when my husband arrived, we moved to the Hotel Cote Cour which is in the hutongs (alleyways) of old Beijing. I am so pleased we made this move. It is down a very very narrow street but 2 minutes to walk either way to main road to get taxis or subway. The hotel has a rickshaw and will take you short distances for free. Do learn a few words and then it is lovely to walk and explore round the areas and at least be able to say hello to local people who are all friendly.
The hotel is built around a courtyard with trees in the middle and a water feature. We were there in January when it was very cold so no water in the feature (it would freeze) and the trees were beautifully lit with blue lights in the evening.
The room was huge ( standard double) with a very large bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower.
Breakfast is in a lovely room on the 2nd floor with good views. Very good breakfast cooked fresh with a mix of European and Chinese food.
This room is also a bar in the evenings and serves Chinese snacks. The hotel can also do a full meal if booked the day before - we did this one day and it was nice.
The hotel staff are very friendly with good English. They recommended a good local restaurant where we ate and rank for the equivalent of £5.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. There are resident cats if you happen to like cats - very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qi Y, Guest relations officer at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending time to share such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. Your comments could be a very useful guidance for our forthcoming guests. We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Wish we could have recommended more wonderful restaurants to you, which serve delicious Chinese food with competitive price. Thank you again for your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

At first it was a little bit hard to find this hotel, but we managed to get there without a hassle. I had a good feeling about this hotel and sure enough, I was not disappointed. If you want to be surrounded by the local culture, this area is definitely it. This hotel is so charming and have so many lovely traditional decor that just makes it stand out more than other hotels I've been. The staff are very friendly and attentive. My family and I loved the cats and the pug that greets us (sometimes) in the morning. The only thing I would suggest is to have more food menu at the restaurant upstairs. I would definitely like to stay here again if I ever got the chance to visit Beijing again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qi Y, Guest relations officer at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and for your recent stay. We are very delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed many aspects of our hotel and especially loved our feline staff. They have dutifully served this hotel for most of their life. They will still remember you when you stay here next time.

We also appreciate your suggestion about the food menu. We would definitely design a beautiful food menu with English translation for our guests. Look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Charming, quiet (in January) and a little cold at times but not surprising given the courtyard style and -10 degrees C at night. Plenty of hot water though which was good. The staff are extremely helpful, allowing me to check in at 6am without charge (check first) and helping me to the main road with my luggage to find a taxi for equally early departure two days later. As noted, a short walk to the Forbidden City and the main hutong area. Taxis can struggle to find the hutong and then the (unsigned) hotel... Be patient and insist that the driver (who may resist due to loss of face) calls the hotel to get more precise directions if the website map proves difficult to translate into "where do we go?" Room decor is a little dated now (in that it is well used; they could do with repainting). And the lighting is mood ie very dim making reading other than from a kindle difficult at night. Overall, recommended and I will be back when the weather is warmer to enjoy the courtyard and roof top terraces. Worth noting that nearby, on the same Hutong, is the newer and smaller Hulu Hotel which has equally charming staff and are happy for you to visit for an excellent flat white...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qi Y, Guest relations officer at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed the most part of our hotel.

Quite a few of our guests have kindly suggested us to improve the interior wall condition in the past. We will get the repainting done after Chinese New Year when our guest number is lower.

The room lighting was originally designed to be dim and cloudy, and many guests actually fancy it. However, I will discuss this with the hotel owner and see how best we can improve it. We understand that the shared reading area will be very cold in the winter. And we apologies for any inconveniences caused by the room lighting.

Thank you again for your stay and we really appreciate your valuable comments and suggestions. We look forward to welcome you once again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife, mother and i thoroughly enjoyed staying here. It's a lovely escape from the lights and bustle of Beijing. Staff, rooms and hutong location all very pleasant. Fairly close to two subway stations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Traveled with my husband and kids, who are teenagers/young adults. This is a lovely, quiet courtyard hotel in a hutong about 1.5 miles from the Forbidden City. It is literally midway down a bustling alleyway that looks to be leading nowhere, until you stumble upon the welcoming entryway and pull your bags in through a tiny doorway (smaller cars can actually drive to the doorway -- our van could not). The staff were unfailingly gracious, and extremely responsive to our requests. Dining is on the rooftop in a glassed-in area with an adjacent, lovely sitting area where you can read and have a drink. There is a very good coffee/cappucino machine, a western breakfast alternative, served at your table, with many options, including yogurt and granola, fruit, and toast, as well as a main plate that changed every day (steamed buns, eggs, chinese vegetable crepes, and dumplings). You do have to walk outside to get to the dining area.
We were there in December, a cold month, but the rooms had plenty of heat, as did the dining area. If you want a real "hutong" experience, clean and tastefully decorated, and leaving you with the feeling that you are visiting Beijing, this is definitely a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Address: No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.