We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful respite from busy Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cote Cour Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 5,416 Hotels in Beijing
Prefer not to say.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite from busy Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel (two periods over two weeks) on the basis of (most of) the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. Well I have to agree with those previously, this is a great little hotel and a perfect place to escape from the madness that is holiday period in Beijing. The staff were all very welcoming and attentive, the breakfasts were exceptional...and worth staying just for them. The rooms were quiet and private even though each of them actually opens directly onto a spacious and peaceful central open courtyard where guests can relax, chat and have a cup of tea (or something stronger) after a good day walking and travelling round the City. Congratulations to the staff (and the owner) on getting the formula absolutely correct. Thanks and we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same although I did hear that some of them might have a bath in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    46
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
90
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel in September 2013. The hotel is located in a quiet "Hutong" and well placed for visiting. The rooms are comfortable, decorated in a traditional style. Breakfast was great always served with a smile by friendly staff. The style of the hotel plunges you into a nostalgic Chinese ambiance done with charm and good taste. After a tiring day visiting you will find a relaxing place to chill out and a good nights sleep will be assured as the beds are very comfortable........a great address in Beijing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an oasis of calm in the bustling city of Beijing. Hidden down a traditional hutong, you are able to experience daily life in a way no large chain hotel could offer. The staff are fabulous without exception. They could not be more welcoming and friendly and will help with every request. A varied and filling breakfast was individually cooked for us each morning by the chef and the receptionists arranged for a driver to take us to the Great Wall and Summer Palace. We would definitely stay here again and woukd highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to get the most from your Beijing experience. It is within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and the main shopping area. Other places such as The Temple of Heaven and Silk Market are a short and inexpensive taxi ride away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great rooms...slick decor, great shower, a bit of peeling paint but not really noticeable. Good breakfast and helpful service. Courtyard experience with style. We stayed in 2 courtyard hotels in Beijing and this one was more slick than the other but more expensive and whilst the location was good for sightseeing there were not a lot of restaurants close to the hotel so Courtyard 7 probably overall in a better location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love this little gem of a hotel in the heart of the Hutongs. We wanted our son and his girlfriend, visiting from the UK, to stay in a hotel that had real old China charm and it was delightful. The best part was the service, so personal and friendly. They really care about their guests. The food was good too. It's a lovely little oasis in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one week while visiting Beijing and surroundings and we had a very good experience. We were looking for something different from the big chains of international hotels, but that could still offer us a similar level of comfort, this is exactly what we found at Cote Cour. Walking down the alley of an old hutong you will open the red door of Cote Cour and find yourself in a charming boutique hotel. We loved the design of the courtyard, rooms and terrace/restaurant. Every detail is tasteful and thought of. The Staff was incredibly friendly and helped us to organize the visit of Beijing. We never had any issues with taxis and transportation by using the cards provided to us by the hotel and we were able to always travel on our own. The heating in the room was working extremely well (and I am someone who always feels cold), however being in a courtyard you need to walk outside to reach the restaurant and the temperature there was too low for me (cold and humid). I used to have breakfast and dinner with my winter jacket on. Either than that, everything else was perfect. Breakfast was very good and changed every day. The location of the hotel is perfect and walking distance from the center and many touristic attractions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We moved to this hotel from a big chain hotel and it has been a wonderful experience. It's quiet, the courtyard is very peaceful, the breakfast is great, and the service the best we've seen for quiet a while. A little hard to find in a taxi but definitely worth the effort if you want a change from the big hotels. We stayed in a small room but it was big enough, with a nice clean and modern bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Address: No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 5,416 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.