We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the bustling city...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cote Cour Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 187 Reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in the bustling city...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel, a traditional hutong, was absolutely amazing! We were greeted by the staff as if we were long lost relatives (ones they were actually glad to see!) The courtyard was simply breathtaking, and then we ventured up to the rooftop - WOW! As you sit and take in the lush surroundings, you simply forget that you're in the middle of one of the most populated cities on the planet. Every convenience was at our disposal, from laptops and cellphones to detailed plans on getting to and from sight-seeing musts. My favorite extra has to be the sweet kitties who bade you "good morning" as you made your way to breakfast (which was scrumptious!) Among the many places to relax was a nook just at the top of the stairs, complete with comfy couches for enjoying the peacefulness of the place. It may be a bit pricey, but if you want to enjoy the charm of China in days past look no further than Cote Cour, Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    47
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
91
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere charming in heart of Beijing, look no further than the Cote Cour! This is one of best small hotels I have stayed in. The service is superb and personalized, whether it be help in getting English on the in house laptop or help opening a stubborn suitcase.

The hotel is superbly located in a traditional hutong area, yet only about 10 to 15 minutes walk from Wangfujing St. It is also very quiet, we couldn t hear any traffic noise at night (making for restful slumber). The rooms are a little small, but charmingly decorated in Chinese style. The beds are a little hard and some of the paint work could ve done with a little attention, but otherwise the décor was great, including a very cool ensuite. The rooms face a lovely courtyard, which is perfect for sometime relaxing. However there are plenty of areas to relax in; including two guest lounges and expansive rooftop terraces. There is also a lovely restaurant, that serves lovely dim sum and breakfast.

For the rest of my trip, we stayed in international hotels, but I suggest you try something different; you won t be disappointed. PS. I love the hotel s cats (I think they re the happiest cats in Beijing).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As the driver navigated the impossibly narrow alleyways on final approach to the Cote Cour my wife nervously asked me how many stars this hotel was. In spite of the reviews I had read saying not to worry, I was worried. When the car stopped, I saw the beautiful red front door framed by two large orange lanterns and felt better. When we stepped inside I felt like we had crossed into another reality. From there it only got better. Well maintained, tastefully decorated, warm and welcoming staff. We were in a deluxe room which was quite large. I checked out a standard room, furnished the same but a bit smaller. Bathroom fixtures all top notch and modern, bedroom furnishings all very tasteful. The breakfast was delicious, western style. They arranged a driver to take us to the Great Wall and Summer Palace as well as airport pickup and delivery. A short walk out of the hutong to walking streets. Quite a hike to Tiananmen Square / Forbidden City but do-able, I would take a taxi next time. If we return to see more of Beijing I would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was delighted with the hotel in pretty much every way. The staff could not do enough to help, and were always very friendly and helpful. The room was gorgeous and overlooked a lovely tranquil courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a peaceful drink. Food was great, atmosphere relaxed - exactly what I hoped for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend.
Very personal.
Staff are unique. As we say in my country, they literally 'own every bone in your body'.

Beautiful Hutong & beautiful people.

P.s. only one thing...the room was a little small. At least ours.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend, this hotel ticks all the right boxes. Easy access to many sights in Beijing yet still a quiet oasis to return to. Good room, excellent breakfast and wonderful front of house staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We wanted something not western. We can stay in a Hyatt anywhere in the world & it's always a Hyatt. The Hotel Cote Cour was so not a Hyatt & we loved it!! No elevators, no key cards, no buffet at breakfast. PERFECT!!! Located in a Hutong, this place just keeps giving! If you look on most planned itineraries of Beijing they include a Hutong tour. Stay here & you have your own tour every time you walk to the metro (less than a 10 minute walk, most of which is a fascinating look at day to day life).
Our room was incredible, the bed was very comfortable, the bath was opulent!
If this wasn't enough- having room service served in the gorgeous courtyard! The food was excellent, breakfast & dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Address: No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.