We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cote Cour Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is my second time to visit in Beijing. I lived in a modern hotel in my first visit in Beijing so I looked for a traditional hotel at this summer time.
After I arrived at cote cour hotel, I was impressed by the great traditional architecture and design which is inherited from the Chinese ancestry.
The hotel is near to the city centre. I thought it would be noisy, however, the environment in the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The interior design of the room I lived is classic and I love it so much. It is also clean and tidy. The hotel restaurant is also great. All the Chinese food provided by the restaurant is very delicious.
The great building and the helpful staffs with traditional clothing made me felt that I was back to the “modern Qing dynasty”. To conclude, staying in this hotel gave me a great experience for visiting in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    47
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
91
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE, OZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I really wanted to stay somewhere authentic to get a feel for the real Beijing on our trip in July. On paper the Hotel Cote Cour looked like just the place. Upon arrival down the tiny Hutong lane, I wasn't so sure.....then we arrived at the glorious double red doors. Inside the former 200 year old school is an Oasis. We were pleasantly upgraded to accommodate us (family of 3x) and we soaked in the architecture, art and amenities of this hotel. The staff helped us in many ways, even to the extent of giving us a mobile phone, programmed with their phone number, so we could call them if we needed some help (so amazingly brilliant touch of service - invaluable in the city of Beijing). If you are looking for something unique, authentic and special....this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was the best place ever . It has so much character, the wonderful red door you step through then to a peaceful courtyard, softly lit and onto our room in beautiful decor. We felt so at home and so nice not to be in a sterile hotel.It was the personal touches that made our stay so enjoyable, staff that were friendly and so happy to help. The chef cooked a scrumptious breakfast, different every morning.Walking along the Hutong to Cote Cour made us feel like we were in China. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was a very different and lovely experience. You can stay at a large lobbied, shiny floored usual run-of-the mill five star hotel anywhere; but this was a traditional Chinese experience, with culture and convinince tied together. The lasting memory was a very friendly staff, and a cosy homely atmosphere. If I'm ever in beijing, I'm going back to this place. And I really suggest that you do too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Each time we walked through the red front door was like entering our own little private oasis. Better yet, the small and personal layout of the hotel, combined with the friendliness of the staff, made it feel like we were staying with family.

The traditional yet contemporary Chinese design of the hotel is breathtaking, so much so that I photographed each aspect of our room in the hopes of recreating it at home one day. The staff are extremely helpful, providing directions, restaurant recommendations and arranging easy transfers to and from the airport. The delicious cooked breakfast in the beautifully decorated lounge is a great way to start each day, and the central location of the hotel makes it an easy 20 minute walk to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. If arriving by plane, I recommend using the hotel's transfer service as many taxis won't enter the hutong.

Everything about our stay was wonderful and it made for a perfect beginning to our first trip to China. We will definitely be staying at Cote Cour on our next trip back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Big Hotels are the same the world over.
Cote Cour has the benifit of great service and comfort but in the midst of centuries of culture.
Love my Hutong (Alley).

The staff were fantastic, couldn't help enough.
The rooms very comfortable, thanks for internet access too.
Chef was very accommodating.

All around, the life is how the locals live - what a learning experience.
The food in the area is not your tourest dumbed down, but real good.
I wish I could click my fingers and be back every dinner time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous boutique hotel. Very much enjoyed the contemporary Chinese design. The staff were incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions. Breakfast was very good.

Notes:
- It is difficult to get in and out of the hutong where the hotel is located. That said, it was a great location in the heart of the city (close to 2 metro stops, 3min walk to main road).
- There was renovation work at the time of my stay. Banging started quite early on the Saturday morning (about 8am), which was quite annoying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Address: No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.