We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in a charming hutong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cote Cour Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in a charming hutong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this boutique hotel for 6 nights in September 2011. I absolutely loved the location of this hotel, in a Hutong. Its a much better and unique experience compared to staying at a Hilton or Hyatt.
The decor of this hotel is amazing, loved the way the rooms and the ensuites have been done. The breakfast/lounge area is so charming, so well designed and done up. The girls are so helpful, the staff always have a smile on their face.
At the end of a busy and hectic day sightseeing, it was a relief and a pleasure coming back to the quite of the Hutong and sitting in the courtyard of this hotel and sipping a tea.
For those of you, who do not like walking the Hutong to the main streets, the hotel provides a free tricycle service to the main streets on either side of the Hutong.
Coudnt find a fault with this place, the definite highlight was the interior design and decor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    39
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
77
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Though this was my fifth trip to China, it was my first visit to Beijing. I had read for years about the Hutongs and their importance to the city and had been somewhat alarmed as Beijing prepared for the Olympics to read about the destruction of so many of them. Therefore, I was determined to stay in a Courtyard Hotel.

I chose Cote Cour on the basis of their website. It is tucked away down a very active Hutong, a Chinese narrow alleyway. When you enter the Red doors of the hotel, you are immediately transported to another time and place. All inside the courtyard is peaceful and serene: the lotus-koi pool, the plantings with several fruit trees and a roof garden. Though you are only a few blocks away from the posh hotel district, you are in another world. We loved our walks through the Hutong, seeing clearly how the denizens lived and saying our "Ni Haos" to the Beijingers as we walked through--we were a mother and daughter and we felt totally safe at all hours of the day or night. In fact, we thought the natives kind of looked out for us.

The rooms are charming and have all the amenities--bathroom supplies, safes, irons and boards, TV and air conditioning, wireless internet access, a computer that can be used by the guests in the lounge and even room service for most of the day. The breakfasts were well-prepared and varied, with a mixture of Western and Chinese dishes.

The staff was delightful and extremely empathetic and helpful. Their English was good and after five days, we felt they were our friends. As a former hotel concierge, I have traveled extensively all over the world, and staying at Cote Cour was one of my all time favorite experiences for location, service, and the unique blend of local color and comfort.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Cote Cour in February during Chinese New Year for 3 nights as we wanted to visit the Forbidden Palace and the Great Wall of China. Hotel Cote Cour is a hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle of the big city that Beijing is and it provides a rare hutong experience as there are very few hutongs left after the Beijing Olympics. The hotel has very spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with a courtyard in the middle. The staff is very friendly and they prepared delicious breakfast for us each morning and organized our trip to Mutanyu Great Wall and the Ming Dynasty Tombs. They also recommended some very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If I am in Beijing again, I would definitely stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Very spacious and neat rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We really liked this property which is done in a traditional style in a converted courtyard down an old style Beijing alleyway (huton). The rooms and bathrooms are very generously sized and I really enjoyed the original floor tiles and old world feel but with modern comforts. Staff are lovely and the lack of English on their side and Mandarin on mine on occasion was fine. The only caution I would give is that the entrance to this hotel is down a long grubby alleyway which you need to walk through to get in or out. It felt completely safe but was smelly and there was a definite sense of poverty. It seemed like a more authentic experience of Beijing and so it was another plus for me, but those who want a more sanitised experience should consider a big brand hotel which are located on a main road. The roof terrace is enormous and makes for a pleasant sundowner location looking out over the surrounds, lending a small sense of the riads of Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This small hotel is located in a winding hutong not far from Beijing's main shopping street. We stayed in a delux room and appreciated the extra space. The hutong is perfectly safe (we walked its length many times at night) but is not a tourist spot. There is a good local restaurant very close. The hotel was exceptionally clean and very comfortable, and the WiFi worked perfectly (there's also a computer guests can use if they didn't bring their own).. The free breakfast was more than we could eat and delicious. Be sure to tell the chef if you have special dietary restrictions; substitutes will be made. The rooftop "garden" is a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing, and drinks will be delivered as will snacks. The staff was very friendly and made arrangements for us to go to the Great Wall with a driver. We also opted to have a driver pick us up at the airport, and were glad we did. If you want to avoid bland high rise modern hotels and escape to charming small hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This was our first trip to Beijing and we're very excited to stay at this hotel. We were already expecting that it is going to be a long walk to the main road so the location didn't really bothered us that much.

Let's start with the hotel itself. The place is a very beautifully restored old house with modern amenities which include wifi access inside your room and all throughout the hotel. The hotel staff were all very accommodating and gave us tips on where to go as well as asking us if we need anything. We loved the garden setting in the middle of the hotel wherein you can just sit, read a book and relax. The rooms were cleaned everyday and spacious enough to fit in 2 medium sized luggage, beds are very comfortable as well. The room also comes with a taxi card where you can show the taxi driver places of interest in chinese. Breakfast needs a little improvement but enough to fill the tummy.

The bad side - the location is a little bit inconvenient but as i said we were prepared for the long walk, what we were not prepared for was the fact that taxi drivers are not willing to drive you back to the hotel even if you have the hotel's card because the street itself is very narrow. A piece of advice if you wish to stay here - ask the hotel concierge to write in the card an instruction to taxi drivers to drop you off the corner of the main road so that the taxi drivers will be willing to take you back to the hotel.

Overall, Beijing is a very beautiful city but a little bit inconvenient in general. But if you are prepared for those long walks then you'll probably enjoy this city more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

This was our first visit to Beijing. This hotel is hidden in de hutong of Beijing. It's a beautiful oasis of rest after the busy touristic sites of Beijing. Dinner and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Address: No.70 Yanyue Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.