We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #74 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good place to visit. People are nice and friendly ,the food is good too. Nice place to visit. The software is useful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    101
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
71
126
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Like other reviewers, I fall into the love it category - but maybe that is because I did my research and knew what hutongs are like.

For those who complain about the narrow, not-so-clean streets- that is exactly what an authentic hutong is and why we booked a hotel there! We've stayed in plenty of corporate and high end hotels, and one hutong hotel in a "touristed" hutong, but my children (ages 12 & 9) and I all agreed that this was the best experience - a nice inn in a neighborhood - which is what we wanted and expected. It was safe, quiet, clean and welcoming.

We did stay in the nicest room (the VIP suite) and the tvs, wifi, air-conditioning,bathroom - all worked great. The canopy bed and day bed were enough for my two girls and me without adding an additional bed. The breakfast is simple and sufficient - selection of noodles, pancakes or french toast, boiled eggs or eggs done to order, sausages, yogurts, toasts, congee, coffee, tea & milk. It is not extravagant like the big hotel buffets, but was nice, fresh and good.

The staff were terrific! We had a good airport pick-up experience, help in finding the nearest supermarket, ATM, restaurants, etc. And for a very reasonable fee, we arranged for their driver to take us to our next hotel in Beijing - so we had no need to hunt for a taxi. And the fee was reasonable - slightly more than the taxi rate (which I knew from prior experience) which was fair for the convenience. All the staff we interacted with, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, were always kind and helpful, but not intrusive.

The location is terrific - it is VERY close to two different subway lines (yes, you need to walk out of the neighborhood to a main street where the station is located). The Beijing subway system is easy to figure out (even for folks like us who aren't used to subway systems), cheap, clean, and goes everywhere. If you like walking, it is within walking distance of Wangfujang street.

We liked the small courtyards - and the quiet that the location provided. If you've traveled in China at all, you will appreciate having a quiet, green outside location to relax. We could hear birdsong in the trees and no traffic noise - what a nice contrast to our other stays in Beijing!

We stayed 5 weeks in China on this trip, and this was one of favorite hotels on the trip - for both my children and me.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, splurge on the suites. The VIP suite was HUGE, wonderfully furnished, cool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Martens-Latem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Authentic Hutong experience in Being. Good and convenient location (you can walk to highlights like The Forbidden City). Staff is very friendly, really helpful and their English is quite good, nice breakfast, clean showers with good water pressure. This hotel shouldn't be compared to western standards but I truly believe that it can deliver an authentic stay in a Chinese neighbourhood. Please consider that some Hutongs are being destroyed in Being and that the future of these areas is uncertain.

I once again would like to emphasize the great help we got from the staff at Beijing Sihe Courtyard in finding our way around Being. They were also very child-friendly - contrary to popular belief that travel with kids is difficult and that Hutongs are only for adventurous backpackers we stayed at the hotel with our 10y old and she loved the hotel.

If you are looking for food you can walk one block (Lixhi Hutong) and experience all kinds of chinese culinary experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A really nice place located very convenient. We had one of the bigger rooms available and it was super. The staff was friendly and helpful and could manage with English.
We booked the hotel car for a day tour which was very convenient and great value.
The only misfortune was that we missed the free airport pickup

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Unlike many other reviewers, I found this hotel to be very disappointing. In fact, I have difficulties to understand why this hotel has received so many positive ratings and reviews.

The positive aspects can be summarized as being the free pick-up from the airport (which is a necessity for otherwise it will be rather difficult to find this hotel as a first time visitor) and we hired a car + driver from the hotel for a day tour to the Great Wall which was rather smooth (even though the driver did not speak a word of English). That’s where the positive stops.

The Location: It is in a Hutong where you need to watch your steps to avoid the dog poop and other filth. Taxis are generally reluctant to drive into the Hutong; hence one needs to walk from the main street, which is a good 5 minute walk. Normally, no big deal; but for the foregoing reason not a real pleasure either. While the first walk through was certainly an interesting experience; it quickly loses its appeal if one has to do it every day of one’s stay in Beijing.

The Room: Our room was okay; but not good value. We were dissatisfied with the standard of cleaning; especially in the bathroom. The Wifi-signal in the room was rather weak. TV is available but only but 1 Chinese channels. We had a room facing the bigger ‘courtyard’ which is shown on most photos. The photos are misleading; the yard is much (!) smaller than it appears from the photos and it is not particularly well maintained.

The Breakfast: Not enjoyable at all. The breakfast room is very small and not inviting; try rather to sit outside. The food and beverage selection is limited (white toast bread, 2 sorts of jam, butter, eggs, some cereals, some fruits (mostly water melon)) and very basic.

The Service: The staff were never exactly unfriendly, but equally at no point was there a genuine gesture of friendliness towards us.

In summary, I share the opinion of other / earlier reviewers who rated this hotel as “poor” and I recommend that you also read their reviews before deciding on this hotel purely based on the more recent reviews

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I can only review on the room and experience I had. Our room was small,dimly lit,Aircon struggled to work,only one tv channel that wasn't Chinese it was news and repeated continuously .On arrival we asked could we change or upgrade to a better room only to be shown a smaller one, I guess there must be better rooms available.Our room was two star and worth less than $50 a night,the staff were nice and friendly, breakfast was good,the airport shuttle seamless,the hotel wasn't far from the metro (most places are not) ,some local resturants nearby are good. The walk to the main shopping area is around 1.2 Kim extra each way this adds up in the heat. I have stayed in better locations in better hotels in Beijing previously for the same money as the Sihe Courtyard. The Hutong experience was good but we were bored in our average room.

Room Tip: Pay for the best you can afford,but be aware some rooms are not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

After staying at Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel for a week, I am glad that I had made the right choice to choose this hotel.We used the free airport pickup but waited for an hour due to traffic jam. The hotel is located in a narrow lane, will be difficult to find if you go on your own. However, when you get to know the place, the hotel is just about 300m to the main street. It is within walking distance to the subway and Wangfujing street. Around the hotel, there is a nice Sichun restaurant. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are quite small with not much space to put our luggage. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. I would recommend to those who want an authentic feel of Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#175 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.