We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #74 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Home sweet home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed as a couple at this hotel for 3 nights. it was an excellent decision to do so , with english speaking staff, decent breakfast, close proximity to the metro and good local shops. The tourist attractions were also nearby. The hotel had arranged to drop us to those places and pick us back for free which was such a kind gesture. The taxi arranged was also very good .
The hotel is set in a traditional style , also being located in traditional alley which was very beautiful and very safe at night. There are good food joints(Chinese variant , 1 pizza place) towards the next block of the hotel.
we would definitely recommend this hotel for giving us a homely welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good, ones with the canopy bed are better and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    101
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
71
126
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We traveled to Beijing this lunar new year holiday and stayed at the Beijing SiHe Courtyard Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and gave us a free upgrade to a nice and large room when it became available. Most of them speaks good English too.

It's a wonderful experience to stay in a 四合院 and experience first hand the architectural beauty and lifestyle of the wealthy in old Beijing. The room is elegantly furnished with classic chinese furniture.

The hotel is also close to a MRT station whereby you can be connected easily to all the major places of interest easily.

Breakfast is also nice with plenty of traditional Chinese cuisine like 饺子.

Excellent stay and wonderful experience of a lifetime

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I'd been eyeing this place for awhile now and after reading all the great reviews, I decided to go for it. I gotta say, everything they'd said about the Sihe Courtyard Hotel was right on the button and some!

My flight was indefinitely delayed because of a mechanical problem and I'd managed to mail them barely an hour before our arranged airport pickup service – which is incidentally free between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.! Within minutes – at 5 a.m. Beijing time – I'd received a warm reply, reassuring me they had already been monitoring my flight and was aware of the delay! Full marks for initiative!

My deluxe room was cozy, comfortable and stayed true to it's "14th century-touch" claim! In fact, all modernities were cleverly hidden away – fridge, safe, ... – to retain its ancient China charm. Also what was amazing was, the dead silence making for the perfect sleep! (not a sound from passing vehicles, people talking, etc! still can't figure out how that works!) Oh and wifi is also yes, complimentary!

The complimentary breakfast was simple, yet complete. There's also an a la carte menu, should you feel like something other than toast, pastries, cereal or local delights.

Location-wise, the back lanes of the hutong may seem a little daunting initially. but you're barely a kilometre away from the main roads on either side. Tiny hole-in-the-wall restaurants line the street. Food is delicious! Pretty much an adventure! And once you find your bearings, you can even hoof it to the Forbidden City and Wangfujing, the shopping strip. Just a brisk 20-min walk away! But if you're not up for the trek, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle to Wangfujing, Tiannemen Square and Forbidden City! And they're also happy to pick you up when you're done! Take note: some cabs are never keen to cruise down the narrow hutongs. If you're lucky, they'll offer to drop you at the corner of Dencao Hutong's street and the main road. But it's only a 5 minute walk away.

Thanks to the staff and the service, this is certainly one of my most memorable holiday stays! I will def consider staying here again when I return next!

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe even if you're traveling alone – bit more space is better. All rooms come wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our visit to the Sihi hotel was memorable. The staff were friendly and most helpful, providing us with short distance transport in a modern car with an excellent, careful driver. They gave us information on subway routes, location of sights etc. and helped us order books at the foreign languages bookstore by writing the names of the publications both in Chinese and English. The room we had was a traditional room, beautifully kept with a canopy bed, so it was a surprise to open the door &find a modern bathroom . The breakfast provided both Chinese and western selections. We strongly recommend this hotel and will not hesitate to stay there again ourselves!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Friendly staff. Efficient. Speaks good english.
Free taxi from the airport after 08.00
Excellent taxi drivers attached to the hotel if you want to drive out e.g. to see the Great Wall.
Rooms spotlessly clean. Hairdryer and toiletries supplied in bathroom. Good sized rooms.
Comfortable beds.
Amazing breakfast. Sets you up for the day.
Hotel is located right in the heart of the hutongs and in a very safe area.
Easy access to main tourist sites in Beijing.
Very friendly staff who will do all they can to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in a standard room. The bed was so comfortable. The room was cozy with lots of great decorations and details. While the room had a traditional feel, the bathroom was nice and modern with Western style toilet, nice sink, and modern shower. The room had limited storage but the bed is raised so suitcases can be stored underneath.

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We arrived at late morning and the room wasn't ready yet, so they stored our bags for us and gave us maps, instructions, and advice for finding some local attractions. Their front staff was always very polite and helpful. They arranged a car to come pick us up for our return to the airport. Also, Linda was incredibly helpful with making an international collect call when I had an emergency to deal with.

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. It was colder, so we didn't hang out in the courtyard area at all, but it looked very nice. The red lanterns in the hallways were very pretty and gave a great ambiance at nice.

The Hutong where the hotel is located is a short 10 minute walk to the Dongsi metro stop on the "5" line. It's also easy walking (10-20 min) to tons of locations and restaurants. We were able to walk to Wanfujing street easily. The Hutong is about 20 minutes from "Ghost Street" as well. The Hutong itself is very charming and safe. The people were very friendly and there were a few corner stores to pick up water and other items. The Hutong is narrow so sometimes you have to watch out for bikes, mopeds, or even cars.

We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic Beijing experience. It's a great location and close via walking or metro to just about all the Beijing attractions. A taxi from the airport was about 88 RMB and the driver didn't have too much trouble finding it. We provided him the address and a map to help out. I definitely recommend keeping that info handy for taxi drivers. Worse comes to worst, you can always get dropped at the nearest metro and walk the rest of the way.

Room Tip: The Standard room was a good value at $90/night. The next time we stay, we might check out the Execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room and it was nice and warm with a modern bathroom and traditional furnishings. We stayed an extra night and had to move to a standard room without seeing it as the hotel was full. This standard room was not worth the price and not nice at all- I think the negative review below must have had this room as I recognised the rotting door. For information this is room 807- do not take that one.
The breakfast was ok.
Although there is a TV there is nothing much in English to watch and it's placed behind the seating so you can't actually watch it really.

The girls on reception were great and spoke good English. This is an absolute must in China. The taxi drivers do not speak English, nor can they read maps, and the translation into western alphabet is not written like it sounds, so you need to get the girls on reception to write down all the places that you want to go in Chinese characters.
Make sure you have the address written in Chinese when you arrive so that you can show the taxi driver, or even better make sure you have the number of the hotel, ring them and get them to explain to the taxi driver. This is very useful when you first arrive with luggage, as all taxi drivers refused to drive into the narrow hutong. This meant that there was an approximately 5 minute walk to the hotel. We did not find it threatening to walk through the hutong at night to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room. Make sure you don't take 807.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#175 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.