We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #81 of 5,311 hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and had a great experience! Very nice clean hotel with great staff! Their English was well spoken and they were very helpful. They helped us book tickets to see a kungfu show and even arranged free transportation. The rooms have everything you need and you receive a free bottle of water every morning. Breakfast satisfied all taste buds from traditional Chinese to American options. The location is great too, right near the subway which is very easy to navigate. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Beijing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    89
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
62
111
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We (family of 5) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reception staff spoke moderate English (certainly enough to help us with any queries). We'd booked a trip to the Great Wall as part of our tour, and when the driver called to arrange a collection time, they asked him to delay by 15 minutes so that we would have time for breakfast before we left.
The rooms were clean and the toilets/showers of a good standard. Breakfast, whilst modest, was ample and made a good start to the day.
The hotel (down a side road) is ideally situated for the Tiananmen/Forbidden City (20 min walk) and close to the metro (5 min walk).
I would certainly stay there again.
The only negative is that laundry was rather expensive. I don't know whether this is the hotel's mark-up or whether this service is just expensive in Beijing. We actually found our clothes hanging out to dry in a local side street (about 1 minute walk). Maybe worth taking the clothes direct to the "laundrette" yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for a week in late July for a reasonable sum. Looking back on my experience of China I would definitely say the hotel was great value for money. The location was at first a little off putting at first being far down an alley way but hutongs as we later discovered are very common in China and this one was very safe and added to the authenticity of the place. Plus we ended up quite enjoying watching the locals play street games every night walking back.

When we stepped inside The Sihe Courtyard hotel we felt like we'd entered a heightened traditional China, the courtyard itself is beautifully decorated and ornate. Our Empress Suite (which i'd really reccomend) was gorgeous with a beautiful woodern four poster bed drapped with silk. The bathroom had all the modern facilities exactly where you'd want them!

Bar the incredible novelty of staying in such a beautiful hotel what really stood out for us were the lovely ladies at the front desk in particular Mary. They all spoke very good English- a massive plus after being lost in translation in my following hotel! They were extremely helpful- one night we asked for directions to an international cinema and they were very resourceful also offering to drive us there as it was nearby for free. In fact you can take advantage of a free car for a 1/2 mile radius (I believe).

The location was also very good, only 10mins walk to the city centre and lots of little boutique shops surrounding. Restaurants nearby were also very good!

My only negitative is that we would have liked longer hours for breakfast but then we're talking 10am which is pretty common anyway and maybe we were just lazy.

I would most definitely reccomend this hotel for couples as it is very romantic but also for first time travellers or solo travellers just because of the extent of help you will get.

Room Tip: Go for the empress suite and above as there are nice trimmings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel was spotless. The staff was very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was tasty. The hotel and neighborhood were safe, even late at night. Free ride from the airport was great and available ride back to the hotel from within the 2nd ring useful. Seven minute walk to the subway. Air conditioning was cool (and critically needed during the summer). Recommended for all, especially families and those looking to stay off the beaten path.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was really impressed by both the service and the beautiful siheyuan. It is very hard to find hotels with decent customer service in China, which made the service we encountered here all the more pleasant. I've stayed in many hotels in Beijing that cost the same and had much poorer service.The girls manning the front desk were extremely helpful with directions, and were all very well-mannered. The hotel also provides a free taxi service. They have two cars and drivers that can drop you where you like in Beijing city. Although we did not have the time, they also have free bike rentals, which are great for exploring more of the hutongs.
The room we stayed in was very traditional Chinese, and very beautiful. We were on the second floor, which made carrying luggage up a pain. They helped us with that, however, and it it was worth it, since we had our own balcony.
The location is also quite good. A subway stop is around 10 minutes from the hotel by foot, and clothing and food stores are easily accessible. Finding the hotel was a bit difficult since it was buried in one of Beijing's many hutongs, but for us that meant a more authentic feel and direct access to the hutongs, one of old Beijing's treasures. The hutongs are very narrow, but if you insist, the taxi drivers will be able to let you off at the hotel's doorstep.

Room Tip: if you don't mind dragging luggage up a narrow staircase, choose one on the second floor. beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengbu, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beijing sihe courtyard hotel is an authentic Hutong courtyard with outstanding staff and perfect service. It is my second time to this hotel and this time i bring my daughter with me. We get a delux room, the bathroom is morden and convient while the room decrotion is very tradtional chinese. The staff are polite and helpful, and their own driver can send you to nearby places like wangfujin street and the tiananmen square for free. We enjoy staying there and would highly recommed to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I did not particularly care for Beijing but the Sihe Courtyard Hotel made all the difference between an ok stay and a fascinating one. Located down a funky hutong (alley) the hotel was an ironic breath of fresh air in. Beautiful interiors and wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#39 Family Hotel in Beijing
#230 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.