We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jiangxi Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Hengyitiao, East Tiejiangying Bridge,Fengtai District, Beijing 100079, China (Fangzhuang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #648 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 164 Reviews
Melboune
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good except for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice large rooms and a good bathroom, with both a bath and a separate shower, and a reasonable range of amenities etc. Only catch is the location: it's beyond the 3rd Ring Road in a fairly nondescript area on the south side of the city. We were there as part of a package tour, so location wasn't a big issue, but it's an issue that independent travellers would probably want to consider. However, there is a metro station on line 5 (which gives access to the Wangfujing shopping area) within walking distance.
Other issues include the price of drinks in the bar (but what's new? Just remember to buy a beer at the convenience store around the corner at the same time that you're buying your water) and there was no clock in the room.
The breakfast was OK, although things got busy at times with the tour groups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    69
    72
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
47
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Beijing at the Jiangxi Grand Hotel. Our stay was wonderful and the hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. However, there was an extremely rude worker named Sammy who worked in the “consumer area”. I was in China for a total of three weeks and I found that Chinese people were generally extremely accommodating. However, I was taken aback when on our last night in Beijing she would not allow me to sit and access the free wifi offered in the lobby of the hotel. Sammy was rude and called our tour guide to explain to us that we needed to buy food when accessing wifi in the public lobby of the hotel. Meeting Sammy and experiencing her rudeness and unexplainable hostility will be my lasting memory of my stay in the Jiangxi Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Although I am always suspicious of establishments with the word "grand" in their name, this hotel would easily rate three stars in the UK classification system. My room on the 14th floor was a good size, clean and fresh, and with opening windows. The bathroom, with both bath and shower, was excellent and had the usual amenities. The bathrobe and tiwels were freshly laundered but some were ratherold and worn. An electric kettle was provided but no coffee - bring your own supplies! An ancient TV boasted tens of channels in Chinese, but also a few in English, including CNN. The kingsize bed was hard by Western standards, but the bedding was clean. Same day laundry service was efficient and easonably priced. There was a full Chinese and Western breakfast buffet including eggs cooked to order. Eating between 6 and 7 am avoided the overcrowded conditions later on. There are local shios, a supermarket, and at least one good Chinese restaurant (no English name) nearby. The hotel location near the third ring toad is not particularly convenient for tourism but fairly close to the metro. Overall I felt that the hotel provided comfort and safety without being luxurious. The evaxuaton instructions entitled "Security Scattering Sketch Map" lost a little in translation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, room was very nice, but the bed was hard asked for a extra quilt to soften the bed. Bathroom clean and spacious, as was the bedroom. Breakfast was western/chinese buffet style, very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights whilst on a Wendy Wu tour. This wasn't my most comfortable stay, as the beds were really firm.

The room/bathroom were spacious although the cleanliness of the room didn't meet my expectations. The bathroom was clean, it was the carpet in the bedroom area that needed a hoover especially underneath the beds. Although I was staying on a non smoking floor, the smell of smoke appears everywhere, which I found in each hotel I stayed.

Breakfast provided a good choice of Chinese cuisine with continental options. Again this hotel is in need of a little t.l.c as some walls were scuffed.

If I were to stay in Beijing again, I would stay in a different area, as the hotel was based in an area with not much going on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently returned from a trip to Beijing where we spent a week at the Jiangxi Grand Hotel. First of all, you have to remember that you are not in Canada so the standards are somewhat different than what we are used to. While the signs of the hotel clearly indicate 'no smoking', there were people smoking everywhere in the hotel and no one seemed to care. Our room was comprised of two twin beds, which was no problem except that everything you have read about the beds being hard is TRUE! If you would like to know what this is like, I suggest that you lie down on your hardwood floor for a nap and see how you do . . . .The pillows are all that saves you. We found out that the heat was turned off throughout Beijing on March 15, so the need to ask for an additional quilts was necessary as the rooms were extremely cold at night. While the rooms are great in size and have ample amenities for your use (housecoats, slippers, blow dryers, toothbrush/paste, etc), they do not match our standard of clean. You will want to wear your slippers while you are in the room as the dirty carpets will make you afraid to walk in your socks. The staff of the hotel were helpful during our stay, with the availability to exchange money at the front desk. There is also an ATM in the hallway to the right of the restaurant that we used without problems. Just let your bank know that you are going to China and intend to use your card before you leave Canada. The daily breakfast that we received had something for everyone to enjoy! They served both Chinese and western cuisine so you did not walk away hungry. I would not suggest walking around the streets outside the hotel late at night, but it is fine to do so during the day. You may want to buy some additional water at the store across as you cannot drink Beijing water - AT ALL! We took instant coffee from home as there is a kettle in the rooms with which you can boil water for coffee in your room. This worked out great for us. All in all, for the short amount of time that we spent at the hotel while doing our tour of Beijing, it did the trick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This was the first hotel we visited on a 21 day Wendy Wu tour. Our room (1912) was large and well enough equipped for our 4 night stay but a strong cigarette smoke smell and very hard beds were unpleasant. As with most of the hotels we visited on this trip breakfasts were very adequate with plenty of choice both European and local. This hotel, like many breakfast experiences was pretty chaotically organized and at busy times was congested. None of the hotels had sufficient toasters to meet demand and queues were the norm. Front desk staff were uncharming and lacked sufficient language skills for an international business hotel.

This hotel is situated to the South of the city and not well sited either for the airport or for the main tourist destinations of the Forbidden City and the Great Wall. Consequently coach transfers in the current hyper-congested traffic conditions were lengthy and tedious.

The immediate area of the hotel is colourful and scruffy but is interesting, typical and friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jiangxi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiangxi Grand Hotel

Address: No.8 Hengyitiao, East Tiejiangying Bridge,Fengtai District, Beijing 100079, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Fangzhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jiangxi Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing is a 5-star business hotel located along South 3rd Ring Street- East-Tiejiangying Bridge in Fengtai District, about 35 km from the Beijing Capital Airport. It has 322 elegantly appointed guestrooms with upscale amenities like air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and cable TV. Facilities include meeting rooms and three (3) distinct restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jiangxi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiangxi Grand Beijing
Jiangxi Grand Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiangxi Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.