We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Parkside Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
You added Marco Polo Parkside Beijing to your Saves list
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.78 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Olympic Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 5,532 Hotels in Beijing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I stayed at The Marco Polo Parkside for 10 days in March, 2008. Contrary to other hotels in China, I found this hotel to be fully deserving of its 5 star rating.

Located just 10 minutes walk from the Bird's Nest stadium and Olympic Park, it's understated elegance and charm were a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of downtown Beijing. The standard room I stayed in was spacious, elegant, and completely quiet. BBC and CNN were available on the large flat screen TV in my room, along with free internet.

Each morning, a splendid Western breakfast buffet was available alongside a traditional Chinese breakfast.. All in all, an excellent hotel which I hope to be visiting in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank maupassant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
199 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

The hotel is near the Olympic Park which is a bit remote form the centre but accessible by taxi or subway (15 minutes on foot from the hotel). The hotel is also located in a busy area with an excellent roast duck restaurant and a big supermarket on the opposite side (could be noisy if the room is facing the road). The room is very spacious and the fitness faciliates are excellent. Two small bottles of mineral water is provided everday free of charge. The look through bathroom is very nice. The service is also very good and the catering is nice. It is definitely a good deal when staying at this hotel at a promotional rate. The only complaint is about the mattress which is really hard.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

I took my first trip to Beijing this past December; a friend recommnded this hotel to me. After the long (14 hour) flight, I really needed a good night's sleep.
Upon arriving at the Marco Polo, I was pleasantly surprised: it looked like it did on the web - the pictures were spot-on. The staff were very friendly (although most spoke very limited English), and the room was clean and warm. Everything worked just fine, and bottles of water were provided daily.
The only cons were that the bedsheets were pretty rough (I actually scratched up my elbows while turning over in my sleep), and the shower door wouldn't fasten properly, resulting in the bathroom floor getting soaked.
Otherwise, everything was great, and I'd be more than willing to stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, great location
  • Disliked — The shower door
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank my_screen_name_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

I stayed at the Marco Polo Parkside while I was in Beijing. The hotel is conveniently located to the technology zone. I was easily able to take a quick 20 minute taxi ride each morning to the office.

Finding a taxi might seem difficult at this hotel but it really is not if you just ask the doorman to call one for you. They have radios to call while you wait in the comfort of the hotel lobby.

The hotel is fairly new and well kept. However, I experienced the same shower problem mentioned by another reviewer. Water does leak out of the shower stall and when I reported the problem to the front desk they offered to move me. I soon learned to not point the water where the glass corners meet as that seemed to be where the water leaked.

I called housekeeping for extra towels and for laundry service. They did not seem to have anyone answering the phones who could speak English so that was somewhat of a challenge.

The Chinese restaurant also did not have anyone who spoke English on my visit. This resulted in an extra dish being delivered to my table because of a language mix-up. It did not matter since the food was delicious and I enjoyed what I had been served.

My room included a daily breakfast buffet which had a nice variety of food. They can cook eggs to order but you might have to track someone down to do it as the cook does not usually offer to do so unless you ask.

On 2-3 mornings, it was very difficult to find a clean table. I think they might have had staffing issues as this was not the case on the other 5 days that I was this hotel.

The Beijing Olympic village is a 2-3 block walk from this hotel which will be nice during the summer games.

Overall, my stay at this hotel was very nice and I would consider staying there again.

Stayed February 2008
2 Thank PlanoGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

I just stayed there for 3 nights. The reason I chose this hotel is just because it's a new hotel opened for just 3 months time. However, it's quite disappointed that the room is not so new as expected. Can you imagine that water will slip out from shower room for a new 4 star hotel? The staff are absolutely cool and not helpful. They will never greet any guest. The location of this hotel is just fine. It's about 30 minutes taxi ride from the city centre, but the problem is most taxi driver still don't know its location. Another bad experience I had is the housekeeping staff left my room door unlocked after the room cleaning. I will not recommend this hotel unless you've got a very good rate and don't mind encounter any bad experience. I'll rate this hotel below 4 star standard.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
2 Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Olympic Village
Ramada Parkside Beijing
Ramada Parkside Beijing
#430 of 5,532 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
#219 of 5,532 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Parkside Beijing

Address: No.78 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Olympic Village
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#110 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#242 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Parkside Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Olympic-Asian Games District, Marco Polo Parkside Beijing is 1.5 Kilometre away from the China National Convention Center and Beijing International Convention Center. It is also within stone's throw away from the famed 2008 Olympic venues - Bird's Nest, Water Cube, Olympic Forest Park, and the newly opened Olympic Park Observation Tower. Choose from a series of elegantly appointed rooms and suites to experience Marco Polo Hotel's signature brand of comfort and attentive service. Each room comes with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, bath tub with separate shower, iPhone/iPod Dock, and mini bar. Marco Polo Parkside Beijing offers a diverse range of eateries for your culinary enjoyment. Cafe Marco serves an all-day sumptuous East meets West buffet while the Lobby Lounge provides a cozy setting for afternoon teas and signature cocktails. For a taste of traditional imperial Chinese cuisine, Beijing Palace is the place to go to. Matsuko is widely known for its contemporary Japanese cuisine. Gear up for the day ahead or re-invigorate yourself after a long day by taking advantage of our superbly equipped fitness centre or take a dip into our indoor heated swimming pool with sky windows, followed by a series of calming whirlpool bath, saunas and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Marco Polo Parkside Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing