We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent choice if you have to specifically be in North Beijing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Parkside Beijing

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Parkside Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.78 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Olympic Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Decent choice if you have to specifically be in North Beijing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The decision to stay at the Marco Polo Parkside probably has more to do with location than anything else. Even though it is in Chaoyang district, it is located well to the north of the city between the 4th and 5th ring roads and not close to the two central business areas that lie to the immediate west (XiDan/XiCheng) and east (Chaoyang) of the Forbidden City and where most of the tourist sites are located (the exception being the Great Wall which is to the North of Beijing). It offers better access to the high tech and university zones in the Haidian area to the North West of Beijing. I stayed there because it was conveniently 10 minutes from where we were having all day meetings before going to the airport which is also easily accessed by the 4th ring road.

Apart from the location, the hotel is functionally appointed, but far from great by Beijing standards. The gym is pretty basically equipped and though the hardware and fittings in the rooms are decent, there are notable glitches - specifically the free WiFi was painfully slow and the water pressure in the shower was miserable.

The highlight was the free executive floor breakfast which was as about good as they get with lots of hot food and well beyond the standard continental breakfast/cold cuts. Kudos!

A decent choice if you have to be in that specific part of Beijing, else there are other options to consider that have a more central location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    141
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
16
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had stayed here previously in 2010 and returned due to its convenience for my meetings. Rooms are very comfortable with contemporary decor. Free wireless with good connectivity and speed. Good selection of english tv channels. Excellent breakfast included in the room rate. Secured an excellent rate when booking 5 rooms. Beijing traffic is terrible so while I highly recommend this hotel if your meetings are in the area (near Olympic Park), you need to plan your location carefully or spend hours in traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This used to be my favorite hotel in Beijing. Not anymore. The rooms have completely gone to pot (stained carpet...scratched furniture....malfunctioning). Even the Concierge level is now a dump. The evening snacks are so shoddy they are barely edible. Management is completely unresponsive. Do yourself a favor. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear TexasCPA, we would like to thank you for your feedback.and we sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered during your stay.

We are extremely sorry that your stay with us this time has not lived up to your expectations. Please be assured that we valued each and every one of our guests' opinion, and again, we apologized if the management has gave you the impression that we are unresponsive.

We have sent you a personal message and we do hope that we will get the opportunity to communicate with you further regarding this matter.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a 30 minute taxi ride from the Airport at a cost of about 100 RMB. The hotel is a 4-5 Star international standard hotel with good sized room and room card security for operating the lifts. Check in was quick efficient and friendly. On entering the room I was surprised to find the wall between the bedroom and bathroom was a see through glass one but on examination there was a switch to lower a blind for privacy. The bathroom had a nice sized walk in shower and a very nice oval deep bath so I ended up enjoying a relaxing hot bath whilst watching TV through the glass wall. The room had the usual safety box, free coffee and tea making and good free LAN internet connection. The TV was big and had international news channels as well as hotel and tourist information. The heated indoor swimming pool on the 4th floor was good and free with paid for Spa facilities next to it. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of Chinese and Western food available. Having said that the Dim Sum was mainly a variety of buns and the head waiter and head waitress were perhaps a little too attentive following me around pointing out beans, bread, eggs, etc. etc. The hotel is located at the cross junction of 3 lane busy roads and the only fault I would say with it is that surprisingly the windows were not double glazed so there was a little bit of traffic noise in the room. Accross from the hotel was a McDonalds and several upmarket Chinese restaurants including a branch of the famoust Peking Duck restaurant. The area has many modern large business buildings typical of modern China. I did not see any supermarket or mini mart nearby. It is a 5 min taxi drive to the Beijing Olypic Stadium (The Birdsnest) which was why I choose this particular hotel.

Room Tip: I had a front room that has a littel traffic noise so perhaps ask for a room without traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very nice hotel near the Olympic stadium. The rooms are clean and the sleeping is comfortable. They serve a pretty good breakfast but for dinner try the Peking Duck restaurant across the street. I shared a whole duck with a colleague and it was absolutely delicious and the price is right too. The service was very good but I gad a problem exchanging US dollars to Chinese currency, all my bills were rejected at the front desk, all my bills came from Bank of America.
The view from the room was very nice especially at sunset. If you are a photographer, get your camera ready

Room Tip: Chose a high floor if you can, the view is really good at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A nice hotel with about 25 mins walk to the Bird Nest & Watercube. Opposite the hotel there is a famous Peking duck shop. Worth trying. The room size is good for 2 person, however I find the mattress a bit hard. The bathroom door can be improve. Sometimes when it was not closed properly, it will be auto-open by itself. View was good from my room. Breakfast was superb as compare to another hotel I've stayed during the same trip. Wifi was not available for rooms below 10th floor. Probably rooms at level 10 & above are more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Thatsme5211, thank you for staying with us recently and for the valuable feedback regarding your experience here. It is always rewarding when someone like you takes the time to recognize our efforts.

The restaurant you mentioned is called 'Quan Ju De', and it is one of the oldest restaurant chain in Beijing, famous for traditional Peking Duck. The hotel is located in between food streets, hence restaurants are abundant if you would like to try out various Chinese cuisines.

We have conveyed the door problem to the relevant departments and they will look into it promptly. We will also pass on your thoughts regarding the breakfast to our Executive Chef, and we're sure he will be delighted to hear this.

Wi-Fi is available at Deluxe floors and above, the rates for Deluxe rooms are slightly higher than our Superior rooms but you can still enjoy complimentary WiFi services in all common areas of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your positive thoughts and hope to see you again the next time you drop by Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was booked by my employer and had been recommended as a convenient and high-quality hotel.

My reservation was found quickly and efficiently, even though my wife and I arrived at about 2AM. The front desk personnel were friendly and polite, but their English skills were somewhat limited.

The hotel is quite elegant and very reasonably priced. The room was spacious, clean and well-maintained. I must point out that the bathroom (which was very well appointed) had a picture window to the bed area! A shade could be drawn for privacy, but this was a new experience for me.

Breakfast was included with my room and it was a very pleasant surprise to see the amazing buffet selection. Almost every possible breakfast food was being served. The food and service were excellent and the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. A minor downside was that the quality of the coffee was highly variable - sometimes really good and fresh-brewed, but other times it was obviously an instant coffee (but still not too bad).

The biggest disappointment was when we approached the Tour Desk to see about some sight-seeing, but were welcomed with "NO ENGLISH!" by the girl at the desk. It is such a shame that a really high-end hotel would not be able to staff this essential part of service with someone who would at least be helpful enough to find someone to communicate with us in our language.

I mentioned this problem to the front desk and was told that the Tour Desk is not actually a part of the hotel, but was an independent operation.

The concierge desk was a little better with language, but still needed to call someone over from the front desk to answer questions.

All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel, but bring some sort of Chinese translation device with you!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the VERY BUSY street in front of the hotel (Anli Lu). There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear billvfitz, thank you very much for taking your time to post such a detailed and glowing review of our hotel!

We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you are willing to recommend our hotel to others.

The picture windows in our rooms are actually one of the highlights, it does come with a shade if you would like more privacy and the control button is located in the bathroom.

We are also glad that you liked our breakfast, as for the coffee, we insist that only fresh brewed coffee can be served to our guests, we will definitely look into this issue and rectify it.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the language barrier, all our staffs are currently undergoing rigorous English training and we are certain that very soon, English will not be a problem to any of our front line associates.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Parkside Beijing

Address: No.78 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#120 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#352 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Parkside Beijing 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Yayuncun commercial area of Beijing, the Marco Polo Parkside, Beijing is only a kilometre away from the Beijing International Conference Centre, the Olympic Park and the ‘Bird’s nest’ stadium – host to 2008 Olympic Games, Marco Polo Parkside, Beijing is in the nerve-centre of the city. Choose from a wide variety of rooms comprising the Superior Rooms, Deluxe twin Bedrooms, Continental Club Rooms and the Junior Suite to experience the famed Marco Polo brand of comfort, elegance and legendary service. Every room comes with free broadband access. Share a delightful evening or have a power lunch at one of the five dining outlets consisting of the international Café Marco, Beijing Palace Chinese Restaurant, Matsuko Japanese Restaurant, Café 5 and Lobby Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Parkside Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.