We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Beijing Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Staff very good and friendly. Hotel very nice and clean. Location is excellent within walking distance of two metro stations that is two stops to tianamme square and all major sites. Room was awesome we were given an upgrade when we got there (a bath and a desk slightly bigger room). There is a shopping mall about 5 mins walk which has branded shops and a food court near the metro station ro the North. Other than that there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel as it is surrounded by corporate banks, we ate out elsewhere. Also as it is the commercial side there are a lot of business people staying at the hotel. The food and drink in the hotel is very good but overpriced if you compare to eating out generally in beijing. The gym and pool were ok but nothing special, running machines were a bit tired and old and the sauna was not working when I went down. But am not going to complain we had a great stay and was by far the best hotel we stayed in in China.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Pleasure is ours for definite to have you stay with us in Beijing. At the same time, we are very happy to learn that you had enjoyed the tour across China greatest cities. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our team. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Refer to the sauna condition, it is fixed already and really appreciate your understanding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us for your future stay.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    309
    128
    46
    23
See reviews for
100
161
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed 3 days here Sept.13.
Clean large bedroom.2 double beds.
Breakfast buffet both western & eastern.
Bar....don't miss happy hour.
Central location.
Evening meal ok. A la carte.Didn't try buffet but looked plenty and good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guestc,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Beijing Central during your recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel room and Food & Beverage offerings, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel with your next visit to Beijing.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Generally like Accor group, but felt this hotel was somewhat below par compared to the many others I have stayed at. Service was ok and what was notable is that on the executive floor, one lady was superb and the rest of at best. Had internet problems, changed rooms 2 x and they sent the bell boy to try fix my internet problem (only found out later) - at least they were honest. Rooms are nice, location us superb, hotel has potential, but i felt that it was expensive for what you get and may use other accor facilities in Beijing in the future

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm greeting from Grand Mercure Beijing Central, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Comment survey following your recent visit with us.

We were delighted to learn that our club floor service impressed you much, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. The internet issue you figured out has been brought attention to hotel management, as for info, we are planning to upgrade our internet set up and install high speed wifi covered all hotel area, which is surely a great value-added to every customer then.

Thank you again for your sharing experience and look forward to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is located near the Xidan subway station (5 minutes walk). It is possible to take a bus from the airport to the city (Xidan) and then walk to the hotel. Close to shopping areas. The hotel has good location!
The hotel has rooms with good areas. The minibar in the room was not working or had drinks ... Good breakfast!
The tourist spots in Beijing are far ... the best is to use metro and taxis (outside rush hour)!
The hotel sells trips to the Great Wall of four hours, charging an extra hour if you spend the 4 hours! The ride is very good but it takes at least 5 hours! You can not fulfill 4 hours ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Rui S,

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel location, in the city central, and breakfast , which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, therefore your comments is very important to us. Thank you to bring out the minibar issue, which is notified to our executive housekeeper immediately, who will better arrange the fulfill and updating even at the time of inventory, to provide a good experience to our guest in room.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and look forward to your next visit to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Disappointing hotel. Poor finishes, poor service. Not to the usual Mercure standards. Only saving grace, perhaps, the large size of the room. However I would not reccomend it nor think of going back to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ratio R,

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Appreciate to share your experience with us and please accept our sincere apologies if there’s any dissatisfaction caused. And your comments have been notified to our Operation director immediately and he will double review our P&P and SOP with all dept. heads and taking proper measures. We are conducting Grand Mercure welcome ambassador team assisting with reception and service. At Grand Mercure, we are striving to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in Beijing
#114 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#228 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Beijing Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.