We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a map or the phone number” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Beijing Central to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Have a map or the phone number”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Showed a printout of the hotel name and address to our taxi driver at Beijing airport but he didn't know where it was. After pointing out the phone number (unfortunately our booking ref started with the same number as Beijing numbers so he tried to call the wrong thing) he rang the hotel and got directions.
Reception staff spoke good English.
We arrived at 11.30 and check in wasn't til the afternoon so were hoping to just leave our luggage but after a half hour wait on the sofas in the nice air conditioned reception we were shown to our room.
Room and bathroom were great - bed very comfy - quiet and good curtains (room nice and dark).
Ate in the restaurant on our first night - good selection and tasty food.
We didn't have wifi in our room (wasn't expecting to) but could access it for free in reception.

Location was ok for us. 2 different subway stops within a couple of minutes walk. But not a lot else nearby. Walkable to Tianamen Square and forbidden city (about 30 mins) but that won't suit everyone (particularly in the humidity!)

When we checked out we were able to leave our bags.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write the review and also thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice.

It’s our pleasure to read that you appreciated the reception staff and enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always very meaningful for us to learn that you, as our guest, are satisfied with our rooms and our restaurant food as it is what we strive for everyday.

If you want go to the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City or any other farther place in the humidity the next time you visit Beijing, you can take the subway, three subways (Line1, Line2 and Line4) can reach our hotel around 5 minutes; and you can also call our concierge staff to call a taxi for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    334
    140
    52
    24
See reviews for
110
182
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is well appointed and the rooms are nice. I found the staff extremely helpful and dliligent. The concierge was excellent in assisting me with a trip to the Great Wall my last day in China. Also, the staff all spoke some English which was wonderful considering the experience we had in a couple of other hotels. We stayed on the executive floor which really was not as big a deal as it is in some other hotels. Unfortunately, the executive floor is mixed smoking/non-smoking which is not great for us non-smokers. The same is true of the executive lounge where you can eat breakfast. Breathing in someone's wafting smoke when you are trying to eat is not pleasant. Overall I would rate this hotel as nice with excellent service.

Room Tip: if you pick the executive floor, remember there is not a smoking/non-smoking division. You may just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments and it’s always our pleasure to learn that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are very grateful for your suggestion about the non-smoking issue in executive lounge, and now it is non smoking Lounge!

Refer to the non-smoking room, indeed we do have some floors are purely non smoking floors except 10th floor. You may let us know in advance that we may prearrange the room for you.
Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Bad:
1) Very old hotel with many problems encountered since day 1: door not lockable; forgot to make-up room; forgot to top up mineral water / amenities; sending the laundery to the wrong room; heating in the room is almost not working, no wifi in room even at executive floor!, internet speed is very slow (repeatedly log in required), etc
2) Food selection at at V9 at breakfast is pathetic: cold and embrassing to be associated with Accor Hotels / 'Grand' Mercure; Executive floor f&b selection is very limited too
3) Booked under Accor Website but not able to transfer prepaid credit to any hotel under Accor - worst then booking from 3rd Party websites

Good:
1) Location is not bad - walking distance to some tourist sites such as Xidan shopping street; short distant to Tianan Men and Palace Museum
2) Excellent service staff: such as their French Assistant Manager Mr Avi - he and his team manage to make the stay bearable; but more could be offered from the hotel to compensate the inconveniences

Conclusion:
1) Not worth staying - try other hotels at similar price range; taxi is quite cheap, so no point staying right in the city and suffer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate that you take the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.

Our hotel is in the central of Beijing, three subways (Line1, Line2 and Line4) can reach our hotel around 5 minutes.It is also very convenient to go to the shopping mall and the big supermarket. And we were very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff, Mr Avi.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

no issues here. you get bang for your buck! The facilities are very adequate for a Mercure class hotel. Staff are friendly and informative on tourism and restaurants etc etc. Rooms were large enough and bathrooms seemed OK, just slightly dated but adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Beijing and for taking the time to complete our Guest Comment .

We was very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beijing in the near future.

Yours sinserely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great hotel in Beijing with an excellent personnel. The executive floor is very comfortable ... Feels like to be at home. Nice and clean room. Good breakfast. The surrounding area is clean and with plenty of services. A place to stay in Beijing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s breakfast & room. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying.It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beijing.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#158 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Beijing Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.