We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, okay location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Beijing Central to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, okay location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to ensure we could see all the sights in Beijing and the surrounding area. Once we got the hang of the train system the Xidan stop nearby made things very easy. Some taxis had no idea where it was despite the name and address being given. Service was great but the lack of complementary breakfast was a bit frustrating and is something I have learnt to expect from Accor hospitality. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    334
    140
    51
    24
See reviews for
110
181
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poprad, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in november 2011 during my business trip and then again in January 2012 during my vacation, because I was satisfied with its locality, services, room. Hotel is realy easy accessible from airport - via Airport express and subway, so You dont need to take taxi and after 40 minutes You can reach Your hotel. Hotel is in a good location, forbidden city and Tien an men square is event with walking distance. All the others sightseeings are accessible by subway. Hotel has wi-fi, but only at the reception and lobby area, not in the room, but You can have high speed internet for extra charge. Hotel has its own fittness, swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi - surprisingly almost no people using it, so we had really enough space for swimming. Staff was helpful, even their english was realy only basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over New Years 2011/2012. The room was spacious and clean. It had two single beds, a complete bathroom (not an Asian shower, but a real tub and shower), in room safe, television with an HBO movie channel, robes and slippers etc. The hotel has a bar area with free wifi, a nice gym, hot tub, swimming pool (bring a bathing cap) and saunas in respective locker rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My largest complaint is that the hotel restaurants and room service menu are practically extortion. If you can avoid eating at the hotel, do it.

The hotel is right at Xidan subway station. This station takes you to Tienanmen, Wangfujing, the China World Center and the Silk Market. The subways are extremely easy to take.

My complaints about the hotel:

The food prices-sometimes after a day of sightseeing, you just want to eat in your room and watch a movie...but don't. The food isn't spectacular either.

The hallways were not vacuumed enough. While heading down to the spa area in robes and slippers, my slippers contracted plenty of black hairs on them (I'm blonde so they weren't mine.)

Wifi or internet connection in the rooms is expensive if you're wanting it.

Aside from that, we had no trouble with the front desk staff. We were able to check in and out in a matter of minutes. The concierge had maps available and would write directions for us in Chinese. We also booked tickets to an acrobat show through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

At the time I stayed in this hotel it was still called Grand Mercure Xidan and they were busy refurbishing the hotel. It did need it: the rooms were a bit run down, but still comfortable and quite large. Our view was not to write home about, but we were here to tour Beijing. Check in was fast and friendly. Even though we were very early, they quickly took care for two rooms, which was comfortable. Breakfast was what you would expect from a large chain-hotel: good to reasonable quality, a lot of choice, clean. No complaints there. We also ate at there chinese restaurant 'Chinese Kitchen'. The service was excellent, food was good, but (slightly) overpriced. In a vast city like Beijing, subway-stations are never really close. But this hotel had the added bonus that there were actually two subway stations relatively close by. Because there were different subway lines, it made traveling by subway a lot more comfortable. In that respect was the location perfect.

The negatives? One very definite one was the travel agency on the ground floor. I would recommend not doing business there. We wanted to boor an excursion to thge Great Wall, the Ming graves and the spiritway. This was all very difficult and we had to pay for every detail. The spiritway was supposedly out of the way, so that would cost a lot more (it was, by the way, on road back from the Ming graves to Beijing!) In the end we turned to the friendly concierge of the hotel, who put a lot of effort into getting us a car, and that was cheaper and hasslefree.

Another warning considers paying your bill. We booked the hotel through the internet, so we wanted to settle our bill by credit card. The Accor Group requires that the hotel ASK if you want to pay in the local currency (RMB) or in your own currency (in my case the Euro). They did NOT ask and I ended up paying in Euro, but against a VERY disadvantageous rate. The hotel thus cost me a lot more than when I would have paid in RMB. After complaining when I got back home, the hotel set it right immediately, so the service is perfect, but I recommend you check that you pay your bill in RMB!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I booked the hotel because first of all of the A-Club offer, then its location and lastly because it is an A-Club hotel I thought the service would be OK.

My flight was delayed for 5 hours and I arrived at the hotel at 7:30 am, tired and cold, but that did not seems to affect the checking in person's willingness to be friendly or helpful, despite me being a silver tier member. It took at least 30 minutes for him to check me in with an attitute of "you woke me up, so I will do everything slowly".

The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the towels and sheets were not of the white colour that one expects.

Despite the "DO NOT DISTURB" light being lit, room service knocked on the door to ask if we have laundry at about 8:30 in the morning. The quality of the cleaning also leaves a great deal to be desired. The dust bin was not emptied, and I am sure the floor was not hoovered either.

The door man had zero interest to obtain a taxi for you, but came alived when there are luggage in sight and we almost had to fight him to say no thank you for taking them from the lobby to the waiting car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

first of all, this hotel location is wonderful.
At the airport, if you take the airport shuttle bus( to Xidan), the final stop of the bus is Xidan. On the opposite site , you can see the hotel. And subway station also very close.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here on the Beijing leg of our visit to China. Hotel was bright and modern with good facilities. Our room was spacious and comforatable and well situted. Restaurants and bar were pleasant and had a relaxed ambience - it certainly seemed aimed at European visitors judging from the clientele we noticed. Buffet breakfast was varied and catered to all tastes. The hotel's location was excellent. There was good access to public transport and we were pleasantly surpised to find it was s hort walk to Tianemen Square so we were more inclined to venture out . We also enjoyed the opportunity to use the pool and other leisure facilities to unwind after numerous sightseeing opportunities. We'd be verry happy to go back when we next visit Beijing

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We could not thank you enough for your very positive comments which encourage us to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are looking forward to welcoming back to stay at Grand Mercure Beijing Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#166 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Beijing Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.