We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Court Hotel Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Regal Court Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Regal Court Hotel Beijing
No.23 West Dawang Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Royale) (Jinsong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,135 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Dalian, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Standard Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a very beautiful HJ property located in the hip area of Beijing. The front of the hotel is a photo op for sure. It is an older hotel, so the rooms a somewhat smaller that many of the other HJ hotels in China. Compared to the HJ Dalian Parkland hotel you would that that you are in a different world. This propertry is very dated, but you can easily see it once was a world class place to stay. The upside is that there are many good rests. in the area (I never ate in the hotel.) Perpare to walk a bit but it is worth it. Within a 15/20 min. walk there is an organic rest and lots of fun clothing stores. You are also 10 min from the American school in BJ.

Room Tip: Never get a room on the street side as it is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
3
6
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights. Although it is not the perfect location it is still good to have a good walk around and see local way of living and there are some reasonable restaurants accross the road and within walking distance. Taxi's are really cheap and as long as you get someone to write down in Chinese where you want to go it is easy to catch a cab out the front of the motel. The rooms were classed as 5 star. The motel had everything you would need including pool, gym and restaurant but I wouldnt class this as 5 star. More like 3 star. In its hey day it would have been 5 star but the rooms are now quite old but still reasonably clean. The bed was clean that was the main thing. The motel has numerous fountains but as our stay was in winter they were not working and I guess this was due to the fact they would most probably freeze as it is so cold. The motel has very few English speaking people but we found the lady in the business centre a very good communicator and very helpful. We got a good deal on Agoda for $63 per night for a duplex suite so we think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed there for transit one night. The site said it was close to Silk Market and town. It's NOT. Especially in winter it's much to cold to walk anywhere. The closest train station is at least 20 mins walk and the taxis do not frequent the hotel. The concierge wouldn't help us to find a taxi, luckily one of the ladies from the reception desk did come out and help us. The silk market is a good 15 min taxi ride away and public transport for a visitor from this area is hard.

The hotel is clean and nice enough but not as royal as it looks in the photos.

Overall it's a OK hotel but overpriced considering the location, the decor and the staff. No wifi internet was also a bit annoying.

I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I don't know if I am overly sensitive when it comes to smells, but the HJ is a typical example of Hotels where you find this feculent smell. Even in the rooms. AC i guess. The hotel is connected with a huge housing area, a little park in the middle and some shops inside. Arrinving you will see 8 golden horses in the middle of a pond with no water, greeting you. It has something of Gothham City. They tried to immitate western style, put golden ionic capitals on edgy columns and wipe a red chinese banners around. The picture behind the reception is a classical hunting scene from 19th centurey (3x4 meters). Allover atmosphere is dark and depressing. Western styled armchairs in the restaurant are greasy, staff looks at you with a forced smile.... OK, that's the impression i got.
BUT
All facilities are ok, internet works, breakfast is really good! Awesome chinese breaksfast variations and lots of fruits, soups, Dim Som, veggies, noodles, bacon, sausages, that is really good and helps you over 3 quarter of the day! Staff is kind and brings you an ironing board within minutes etc. It is definitely not the kind of Hotel you are angry to pay for. I would still prefer to go to another Hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was hugely disappointing to the point of being a disgrace. Although they present themselves as being an international standard and European style resort hotel, not one staff member had an adequate level of English for smooth communication.
The hotel had an impressive exterior which was destroyed by the phenomenally tacky statue gracing the front.
We stayed in what was a fully equipped apartment. Even the signs in the elevators boasted of the complete kitchens and service that was their standard. The door to the kitchen was locked and when we requested access we were told that because we were only staying 3 nights/4days we could not have access. The refrigerator was in the living room and there was no access to cooking facilities, dining equipment or washing machine as these were all in the kitchen. We paid for this apartment so that we could use these facilities. We asked to be relocated from the apartments to the hotel. We were told that this could not be done. No explanation just ‘no’.
Were my mother not so exhausted we would have left then and there.
The deposit was 3000RMB, again elong had assured me there was no room guarantee/deposit required.
The restaurant in the hotel was a joke. The egg chef (yes there was a specific person to cook eggs) did not know what poaching was, he could only fry or scramble eggs; the bacon was one shade off being black while the sausages were raw.
When we went to pay for the breakfast they had no change so a waiter went to get some. He came back 5RMB short. We had already tipped so we asked for the rest of our change. He returned with 4RMB. Although this is the equivalent of 20 Australian cents, by this stage we were not happy! We made him go and get the 1RMB as a matter of principle. We did not go back to the restaurant.
The one redeeming feature of this entire hotel was the hot pot restaurant tucked away in a corner of the ground level facade. Named 100 degrees C, the staff were brilliant, the food was excellent, the price was perfect – an excellent experience.
I would never return to this hotel. They refused point blank to give us what we had paid for; access to the kitchen and laundry facilities in the apartment. They are not of an international standard and have much work to do if they ever wish to get there.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I recently stayed at this place with my father. From the outside the hotel looks great it's old, it's big, it has a beatiful chariot on a fountain in front, but once you get inside it's a whole other story. The rooms really aren't bad, the fact that their refrigerators don't work and they don't have extra soap or toilet paper were mere inconveniences. Considering we paid $1000 a night, a hotel that steals (housekeeping took my key and kept it) your key card when you leave it in the key system to keep the air conditiong running while your eating breakfast is going beyond frugal, especially when they threatan to charge you $20 for the missing card. The main gripe I have about this hotel is it tries to act like its a 5 star hotel, but it comes nowhere close. It charges the rates of a 5 star, but half the staff has no clue what they are doing 90% of the time, a simple ordeal of trying to get ice can take a half hour. The store in the lobby is insulting to anyone who got ripped off staying at this place, they charged 30 yuan, about $4-5 for a bottle of water, when you walk into the store next to the hotel they charge 3 yaun for the same bottle. The hotel lied abuot the location claiming they were close to Tianamen square the hotel is about 20 km form the square. If you speak English for the love of god never go into the hotel restaurant, Dynasty.

  • Liked — It looked nice from the outside
  • Disliked — They stole my Key to save money on electricity
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaf67
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We spent 1 week during the Olympics at this hotel. The room had dirty carpet, and were very worn and old. The whole hotel is worn and old. The pool is a shared community swimming pool, not a hotel pool. The pool, while large, has lane markers for lap swimming. It was not good for our children who like to jump off the side, and play games in the hotel pools. Do NOT get your laundry done through the hotel. I was charged $80 for 5 shirts, 1 men's shirt and some smaller items. Of course we were overcharged for everything...I hope that was only because it was the Olympics. If you need to be the area, definately try the JW Marriott over the Royale Plaza The staff was friendly and tried hard. The facilites were in no way 5 star..more of 3 star.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Court Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Court Hotel Beijing

Address: No.23 West Dawang Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Royale)
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Jinsong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,135 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Regal Court Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Beijing
Beijing Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Court Hotel Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.