We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Save Saved
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying for 2 nights on a business trip, I was expecting the comfort and functionality and I have not been disappointed. Connection was good, bed comfortable, bathroom large enough.
Views are rather poor, at least at 8th floor, but hey ! This is Beijing !
The lobby is very bright and grande. I reminded me a bit of Shangrila Bangkok.
Breakfast can be busy at time and it takes a while to find your favourite but good experience.
Service would certainly benefit of a smile.
Would certainly return.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    352
    54
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
259
67
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For our first visit to Beijing, this was a good start. The hotel was good, beds were amazingly comfortable. The room was a good size and the staff were helpful. Communication was hard with some who didn't speak English but we got by. Location was good, only a few minutes from public transport, short walk to the Street Food section- that was fun! Just 2 small things, when we opened our curtains they had not cleaned the windows, they had finger prints all over them. They were not cleaned our whole stay. The other was the price for breakfast buffet, wow over $40 per person. If it was great I wouldn't say anything but for what was on offer compared to other hotels, not great

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in other regent hotel with good impression - however this one is extremely disappointed and I won't consider it next time when I am in Beijing. Front desk people is not professional and attitude is extremely poor. Although they upgraded me to higher grade room but I don't really feel respect from them. I won't consider that hotel again as I can have better choice with same price range.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were sorry to hear that our Front Office team did not meet your expectations

We have taken note of your comments and we are sure that you will experience a much warmer welcome on your next stay with us.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is fantastic. It's right next to a subway station, close to a lot of the key attractions and a short walk to the main shopping street. The rooms are very nice but the first room I was given was fairly noisy due to street traffic. The second room was on a high floor overlooking a 'hutong'. Although advertised as a room with a 'view', the view was not remarkable although I was happy the room was so quiet. Food was decent. The staff could be improved though. I explained at check-in that I had booked a premium room but the counter staff assigned me a basic room anyway. This was eventually sorted out. The therapist at the spa was coughing throughout the massage so it wasn't exactly a relaxing experience. The room price was very reasonable for the location and standard. Wifi connectivity was slow. Overall a mixed experience.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms facing the street are noisy. Avoid if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Regent during a three day trip to Beijing as a break from an Asia cruise. All I can say is Wow. We loved everything about this hotel: wonderful view, great amenities and one of the best hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. There is nothing that we could fault with the Regent and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent value five star hotel at the heart of Beijing. It isn't as international as some of the others, full of Chinese, aircrew and a smattering of foreign visitors, but all the more interesting for it. The location is great just a kilometre from the Forbidden City and near the main shopping drag.
Rooms are large, well equipped, plenty of storage, big bathrooms with walk in shower, good desk and working area.
Service is friendly and attentive
On site restaurants breakfast is quite oriental, if you are not adventurous there is a Starbucks just around the corner or a good little cafe in the hotel lobby
Great value for a capital city hotel

Room Tip: Exec rooms well equipped for business travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here three nights, loved it. Great happy hour in bar, breakfast buffet lovely. Walking distance to pedestrian mall, shopping close. Rooms were spacious, nice garden area. Downtown, close to Forbidden City. Friendly staff. Beds excellent. World class accommodations.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Business Hotel in Beijing
#278 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.