We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big expectation, big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Beijing to your Saves list
Regent Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big expectation, big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Unfortunately i must give a bad review for this hotel...
Everything was quite perfect, we even got the upgrade to the executive floor, until, we saw our room it had this old feeling, probably was a smoking room cause the furniture had cigarette burns and dust in the lamps. But the worst of the worst, was to find a used condom laying on the floor near the curtains of our room. OMG.

It's a shame cause this Hotel has a great potential, great locations, lovely staff specially on the Club Lounge they are so helpful and friendly that i almost feel bad to give a bad review.They have a pretty decent concierge, a very good breakfast.
The housekeeping is their biggest flaw, everything else is fantastic, but lack cleanness it's something a hotel simply can't afford.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apology for the incident you experienced, which greatly concerns us.

Measures have been taken to ensure such an incident will not be repeated.

We were pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed our Club Lounge services and found our staff to be helpful and friendly

We hope that despite this incident, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again if you return to Beijing.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    385
    61
    14
    7
See reviews for
126
292
73
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the end of our Viking Cruise tour for three nights plus an extra night booked by phone with the hotel. It is well situated for the shopping area and has places for coffee nearby. The room was comfortable with everything you would expect. The bed was the biggest I have ever seen in a room, enough space for four!! However only one seat which was clearly for business in front of a desk. Nice touch having a free bar in the room although you do pay for any replacements. The hotel also has a lovely pool area with jacuzzi and gyms. However this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel but the service in the bar and particularly in the buffet restaurant was well below what we expected.
Each morning at breakfast tables were not cleared, they ran out of basics like toast, glasses, juice and it was almost impossible to get tea/coffee. We did notice a number of the staff had trainee on their name badge so perhaps the lack of organisation is because of high turnover. There was a person welcoming people and taking room numbers at the entrance but then she would point in a vague direction and left you to work out where to sit, hardly 5 star service. This poor service carried over into the bar. On our second last night a number of tour guests met to have a final drink as most left the next day. The poor level of understanding of English by the waitress led to the wrong drinks initially being brought and then almost comically appearing with bottles of wine in her hand so we could point to what we wanted. The hotel tries to have added extras like a pianist playing at breakfast and in the evenings to make it seem 5 star but fails to deliver the basics. This is unfortunate because the food was actually pretty good and the hotel looks good but someone needs to get hold of the service. The hotel provided us with free wifi but this also was poor quality regularly hanging and saying the server had gone down. You should also be aware of Molly Malones bar across from the hotel. No wonder it was almost empty on the evening we went over for a drink when it charges nearly £7 for a pint of Guinness or glass of wine. It also bizarrely had live country and western music. Overall we enjoyed staying in the hotel but were glad that the tour took us out for most meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, and were impressed with our facilities.

We have taken note of your comments, especially regarding language and English communication. We continuously offer English classes to all of our front-line colleagues to improve their English skills, and regret that you had a less than perfect experience with one of our newly-arrived staff members.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing!

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our visit to the China Wall, very comfortable and cozy, we wish we had spent more time in the hotel, but with so much to see in Beijing we just could not enjoy more time in the hotel, maybe next time. This hotel is the ideal place to end the day after walking the Chinese Wall and doing a lot of sightseeing, have a great bath and dinner. Next time in Beijing we will definitively book this hotel. Also it is very close to Forbidden City and a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us, and for giving us a 5 star rating!

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the central location of our hotel.

We looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at the Regent Beijing

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is my second stay at the regent and it was just as good as the first.
First class amenities and the staff are great.
Location to the mall and subway is perfect for business and leisure.
The concierge was great arranging our day trip and informative on the area around the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I Have been 3 times in Regent Hotel and many times in other hotels in Beijing. Regent Hotel is very well situated close to Wangfuying the forbidden city and orher tourist atractions.
It has a very nice rooms, wide and warm decorated, and the club floors are fantastic. Absolutely reccomended

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us and for recommending us.

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our Regent Club Lounge facilities during your stay.

Thanks for your loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every year i stay in this hotel since 2008 even 1night stay.
Homy stay. Good quality of bed.
Really nice for stay.. not so hig bedroom but comfortable room. Friendly staff.. easy and fast checking in.
Always remember this Regent wangfujing street in the corner .
Recommended hotel in Beijing.. price really competitive.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty towards our hotel. We were delighted to know that we are your home away from home in Beijing and even more so that you once again enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon when you return to Beijing

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great hotel that is very accommodating for westerners. Food is super friendly for kids. Also the pool is awesome with a very warm hot tub. Great relief for kids post sight seeing. Lobby lounge is enjoyable for light appetizers and beverage.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us at the Regent Beijing and look forward to welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing


Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: 99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Family Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Business Hotel in Beijing
#235 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.